Search the news archive:
92nd Liège-Bastogne-Liège Preview Part 2
By Staff
Date: 4/22/2006
92nd Liège-Bastogne-Liège Preview Part 2

92nd Liège-Bastogne-Liège Preview Part 2
The contenders Photos from today as the teams prepare by Bart Hazen.

As the teams wake up to prepare for their final stage in the 5th Tour de Georgia; Riders in Belgium will be well on their way to finishing the six and half hour sufferfest at in Ans at the Belgian Ardennes Classics. Which can also boast to hosting the departure of the Gir d'Italia in May.

Danilo DiLuca "the Killer" photo Bart Hazen

Last years winner, Alexandre Vinokourov makes the race his first goal of the year as he prepares for an assault on the Tour de France. Vino added Le Doyenne to his credits last year, his second classics victory after winning the Amstel Gold race in 2003.
Confident and fit the man from Kazakhstan will meet his rivals of July on the roads from Liege to Ans. Pretenders or contenders in July they are a group that include 3 previous winners Paolo Bettini who has won twice, Davide Rebellin, and of course Vino.

Ivan Basso and Frank Schleck part of Bjarne Riis's CSC powerhouse team
Photo c. Bart Hazen

A star studded list of contenders will test the 262 kms including CSC's Ivan Basso winner in March of the Criterium International, But Basso is not the only arrow in Bjarne Riis's quiver to select.
A list of contenders could be drawn from the CSC roster Frank Schleck, Karsten Kroon and not to forget Jens Voight who fought for line honors with Vino last year. Jens attacked with 50 kms to go and only Vinokourov had the strength to follow; with Voight second at the finish.

A look at last years top 20 might be give one an inkling of who the "usual suspects" will be as the race approaches the finish. Boogerd the perennial podium presence finished third, nipping Bettini.

Cadel Evans was 5th, David Etxebarria, Martin Perdiguero, Mirko Celestino, Damiano Cunego, and Angel Vicioso were all within seconds of victory on the 262 km race.

This year Danilo Di Luca is coming late and fresher to the classics and the former ProTour winner can't be left out of any discussion of possible winners.

Results 2005
1 Vinokourov Alexandre  Kaz Tmo 6h29'09"
2 Voigt Jens  Ger Csc m.t.
3 Boogerd Michael  Ned Rab 00'14"
4 Bettini Paolo  Ita Qst 00'24"

Cadel Evans photo c. Bart Hazen

5 Evans Cadel  Aus Dvl m.t.
6 Etxebarria David  Esp Lsw 00'27"
7 Martin Perdiguero M. Angel  Esp Pho 00'28"
8 Celestino Mirko  Ita Dom m.t.

Damiano Cunego photo c. Bart Hazen

9 Cunego Damiano  Ita Lam m.t.
10 Vicioso Angel  Esp Lsw m.t.
11 Rebellin Davide  Ita Gst m.t.
12 Kessler Matthias  Ger Tmo 00'31"
13 Jaksche Jörg  Ger Lsw 00'54"
14 Brochard Laurent  Fra Btl 00'59"
15 Wegmann Fabian  Ger Gst 01'02"
16 Brandt Christophe  Bel Dvl 01'04"
17 Sorensen Nicki  Den Csc 01'10"
18 Basso Ivan  Ita Csc m.t.
19 Kirchen Kim  Lux Fas 01'18"
20 Pereiro Sio Oscar  Esp Pho 01'33"

In a star studded cast of characters there are others who have weighed in well this year that deserve mention as cameo roles on the podium or to steal the top step: Alejandro Valverde, Iban Mayo, Contador, Weseman, Sinkewitz, Carlos Sastre, Jaksche, The Dekkers, Thomas and Eric, Alesandro Ballan, Perdiguero, Chavanel, Sammy Sanchez, Gibo Simoni, Azevedo, Mancebo, Paolini, Kirchen, Gusev, Ivanov and three time world champion Oscar Freire.

Chris Horner photo c. Bart Hazen
Add in a first ride in the classic for Chris Horner of Davitamon/Lotto team, a guy who likes the distance and favors a parcours of this type.

Its like one of those old Hollywood all star extravaganzas!

Franco Pelizotti Liquigas photo c. Bart Hazen

Daily Peloton Archives
2006 Start List and Photos
Alexander Vinokourov's Press Conference
2006 Liège-Bastogne-Liège Team Announcements
92nd Liège-Bastogne-Liège Preview Part 2
2005 91rst Liège-Bastogne-Liège Live Report
91st Liège-Bastogne-Liège Preview
90th Liège-Bastogne-Liège Live Coverage
2004 Liege-Bastogne-Liege: The Contenders
2004 Liege-Bastogne-Liege: Preview
2003 Who will win La Doyenne?
2003 U23 Liège-Bastogne-Liège (1.7.1) Results
2002 LIEGE - The main contenders
2002 Mapei's Masterpiece Paolo Bettini wins 2nd LBL (Live)
Liege - Rebellin Interview 2002
History: Liege-Bastogne-Liege Approaches...
How the Cup was Won: Parts One and Two
Who are the Best 20 Classics Riders in History
Who are the Best 20 Classics Riders in History? Part Two

The Key Riders of the 25 teams per Le Tour website:
Gerolsteiner : Rebellin (Ita), Totschnig (AUT), M.Zberg (SUI)
T-Mobile Team : Rogers (AUS), Sinkewitz (ALL)

Chocolade Jacques Topsport : Renders (BEL)
Davitamon/Lotto : Evans (AUS), Horner (USA), Van Summeren (BEL)
Quick Step/Innergetic : Bettini (ITA), Vasseur (FRA)
Landbouwkrediet/Colnago : Cummings (GBR) : Vandenbroucke (BEL)

Team CSC : Basso (ITA),  Sastre (ESP), Jens Voigt (ALL)

Lampre – Fondital : Commesso (ITA), Petrov (RUS)
Team Milram : Den Bakker (HOL), Grivko (UKR), Iglinskiy (KAZ)
Liquigas : Di Luca (ITA)

Euskaltel/Euskadi : Mayo, S.Sanchez (ESP)
Caisse d’Epargne/Illes Balears : Garcia Acosta, Valverde (ESP)
Liberty Seguros/Würth Team : Vinokourov,
Kashechkin (KAZ), Contador, D. Extebarria (ESP)
Saunier Duval/Prodir : Simoni (ITA)

United States
Discovery Channel Team : Azevedo (POR), Devolder (BEL), Noval Gonzalez (ESP), Gusev

AG2R Prevoyance : Mancebo (ESP), Moreau (FRA)
Agritubel : Mercado (ESP), Salmon (FRA)
Bouygues Telecom : Fedrigo, Rous (FRA)
Credit Agricole : Caucchioli (ITA)
Cofidis Le crédit par téléphone : Sylvain Chavanel (FRA), Marichal (BEL)
Française des Jeux : Gilbert (BEL), Lövqvist (SUE), Casar (FRA)

Great Britain
Barloworld : Astarloa (ESP)

Rabobank : Boogerd, E. Dekker, T. Dekker, Posthuma
(HOL), Menchov (RUS), Freire (ESP)

Phonak Hearing Systems : Martin Perdiguero (ESP),
Merckx (BEL), Moerenhout (HOL)

Related Articles
Paris Roubaix 1996
Alexander Vinokourov's Press Conference
92nd Liège-Bastogne-Liège Preview

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |