Search the news archive:
2006 Liège-Bastogne-Liège Team Announcements
By Staff
Date: 4/22/2006
2006 Liège-Bastogne-Liège Team Announcements

Team Rosters and announcements: T-Mobile Confident, Lampre/Fondital Cunego and Ballan, Quick Step/Innergetic, CSC Triple Threat, Saunier Duval


T-Mobile Liège-Bastogne-Liège
T-Mobile Team confident ahead of final Ardennes classic

The Spring Classics season enters its last lap with Sunday's Liège-Bastogne-Liège, the oldest of cycling’s five “monuments”.
After convincing performances at the Amstel Gold Race and La Flèche Wallone, the TMobile Team is now among the favourites for the third and final instalment of the Ardennes Classics series.
The Bonn-based outfit won the team classification at the other two hilly classics and have moved up to second spot in the ProTour ranking. "With our strong squad, the odds are good for Liège,” said Patrik Sinkewitz, who finished in fifth in the Netherlands and Belgium, repectively.

Patrik Sinkewitz leads the team challenge
For Sunday’s looping 262-km north-south out and back trip through the steep pine-wooded valleys and high, exposed plateaux of the Ardennes, ‘Sinki’ will be accompanied once again by Matthias Kessler, Kim Kirchen, Thomas Ziegler and the two veterans Eddy Mazzoleni and Steffen Wesemann, who was a strong runner-up at the Amstel Gold Race.
Reigning ITT World Champion Mick Rogers and climbing specialist Bernhard Kohl round out the eight-man magenta roster.

Valerio Piva: „We have plenty of options“
Sporting director Valerio Piva will manage team affairs at the 'The Old Lady', as the race is dubbed. "Of the five biggest cycling monuments, Liege is certainly the toughest“, says Piva, who believes the race has come at the right time for his team, who are “in good shape“ after their recent strong showings. "Patrik, Steffen, Matze or Eddy Mazzoleni, too – the riders have proved that the form is just fine and we have the right option for every situation”.

Though the magenta pros are approaching the final Ardennes classic with confidence, they are also showing the hilliest of cycling’s great one-day races the respect it deserves. "This is going to be the toughest race in the series,“ confirms Patrik Sinkewitz. "The climbs are longer, albeit not that steep. Plus, there’s no time for rest,“ stresses the 25-year old, whose recent results have seen him move up to 10th place in the ProTour rankings.

 KOHL Bernhard AUT

The final 150 kilometres from Bastogne back to Liege’s hill-top suburb of Ans will be particularly wearying for the riders from 25 teams. The constantly undulating terrain turns the race into a battle of attrition and as the race intensity mounts up and the riders hardly have time to stretch their aching backs.


According with the sport directors, team manager Giuseppe Saronni, Lampre-Fondital's roster for Liegi-Bastogne-Liegi.
In Belgium there will be Alessandro Ballan, in searching of points for Pro Tour ranking, and also Damiano Cunego, who will return at Liegi after the positive experience of the last year.
With them there will be Salvatore Commesso, Ruggero Marzoli, Giuliano Figueras, Evgueni Petrov, Gorazd Stangelj and Tadej Valjavec. Fabrizio Bontempi will be the sport director.

Alessandro Ballan
Damiano Cunego
Salvatore Commesso
Ruggero Marzoli
Giuliano Figueras
Evgueni Petrov
Gorazd Stangelj
Tadej Valjavec
D.S. Fabrizio Bontempi

Composizione della squadra
Dopo aver consultato i direttori tecnici, il team manager Giuseppe Saronni ha reso nota la composizione della squadra della Lampre-Fondital che prenderà parte alla Liegi-Bastogne-Liegi.
In Belgio correrà Alessandro Ballan, per tentare di conquistare punti per la classifica Pro Tour, e correrà anche Damiano Cunego, che così ritornerà sulle strade della Liegi dopo la buona esperienza dell'anno passato.
Al loro fianco ci saranno Salvatore Commesso, Ruggero Marzoli, Giuliano Figueras, Evgueni Petrov, Gorazd Stangelj e Tadej Valjavec. Il direttore sportivo sarà Fabrizio Bontempi.

Team CSC Readies for Classics Finale
On Sunday the Spring Classics are drawing to and end, but they are finished off with a great finale. The legendary Liège-Bastogne-Liège offers steep climbs, ferocious attacks and a finish reserved for only the very best.

Following Team CSC's big spring classics campaign with two monumental victories, team owner Bjarne Riis has big ambitions for this race, which Jens Voigt came close to winning last year.

Bjarne Riis,
”After our recent results, it's only natural for us to be considered among the favorites, and we're ready to prove ourselves worthy of this honor. But we must not forget that Liège-Bastogne-Liège is one of the toughest races in the world and it's a very strong peloton this year. I would single out three CSC riders as potential winners,” says Bjarne Riis; Karsten Kroon and Fränk Schleck plus Ivan Basso as a possible outsider.

”Of course a lot depends on how the race unfolds, but I expect Ivan to be up front in the finish and then anything's possible. We have previously won in Liège, and there's no doubt we have very specific strategy for this race,” Riis adds, without revealing too much.

”We have a strong team and of course we have to take advantage of the fact that we have several riders, who are capable of being up front during the decisive part of the race. And then we'll just have to see how far that takes us. I believe we're in for a great Liège-Bastogne-Liège”.

Quick Step Roster Change
Kevin De Weert Out due to injury.

Kevin De Weert won't take part to Liege-Bastogne-Liege next Sunday. "After the injury to my left shoulder - explains De Weert – I’ve tried to quickly recover to be ready for the Vuelta al Pais Vasco. Nevertheless to the Fleche Wallone I understood that I’m not at 100% yet. From here the decision to currently leave the place to a companion more in condition than me."
The young Swiss rider Hubert Schwab will reach the team in Lanaken this evening.

Saunier Duval/Prodir
The Saunier Duval/Prodir team for Liège-Bastogne-Liège will be made up of Gilberto Simoni, José Ángel Gómez Marchante, Koldo Gil, José Alberto Benítez, Arkaitz Durán, Rubén Lobato, David de la Fuente and Juan José Cobo. The sports director will be Joxean "Matxin" Fernández.

Koldo Gil photo c. Bart Hazen

As for the Tour de Romandie, the riders will be José Ángel Gómez Marchante, Koldo Gil, Rubens Bertogliati, Oliver Zaugg, Guido Trentin, Nicolas Fritsch, David de la Fuente and José Alberto Benítez, all of them led by Sports Director Pietro Algeri

Related Articles
Quick Step Tests the Arenberg Cobbles
70th Fleche Wallone 2006
70th Fleche Wallone Photo Gallery

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |