Search the news archive:
Ford Tour de Georgia 2006-Winner's Jerseys
By Cathy Mehl
Date: 4/12/2006
Ford Tour de Georgia 2006-Winner's Jerseys
2006 Ford Tour de Georgia Award 2006 Ford Tour de Georgia Award Jerseys

Professional cyclists and their teams compete for more than just prize money in the 2006 Ford Tour de Georgia. Specially-themed jerseys are awarded daily to commemorate significant achievements for each stage and overall performance. Riders who are awarded these jerseys proudly wear them during the next day's stage. The competition for these jerseys is fierce, and here is what they are after...

Ford Overall Leader Jersey
The tradition of using the color yellow to signify the race leader is over 100 years old in professional cycling and it is the color of the Ford Overall Leader jersey. This jersey is awarded to the cyclist with the least amount of overall accumulated time, also known as the leader of the general classification, or G.C. Past winners who took home the yellow jersey for the event include Chris Horner (USA) in 2003, Lance Armstrong (USA) in 2004 and Tom Danielson (USA) in 2005.

United Community Bank King of the Mountain (KOM) Leader Jersey
Traditionally a polka dot jersey (representing mountain tops), this goes to the strongest climber of the peloton each day. Using some creative license, the Ford Tour de Georgia has replaced the polka dots with a Georgia-inspired theme of peaches. Cyclists compete to earn the UCB KOM jersey by collecting points at designated KOM locations along the course, like the world famous Brasstown Bald Mountain summit. Only the top three cyclists who cross the KOM climbs receive points, and the rider with the most accumulated points is awarded this jersey. The best climbers to have worn the KOM jersey include: Chris Horner (USA) 2003, Jason McCartney (USA) in 2004, and Josť Luis Rubiera (ESP) in 2005.

MAXXIS Tires Sprint Leader Jersey
The gray and aqua-blue Sprint Leader jersey design takes its inspiration from the fast-moving, rock-strewn whitewater rapids of Georgia's Appalachian Mountains. Like the UCB KOM Jersey, the MAXXIS Sprinter Leader jersey is awarded to the rider that accumulates the most bonus points during the week. These points are amassed at designated Sprint Lines along the route and by finishing in the top 15 places at the finish line of each stage. Like the quick currents of Georgia whitewater, strong and fast cyclists specializing in bursts of speed will have the best chance of being awarded the jersey. Past winners include Fred Rodriguez (USA) in 2003, Gord Fraser (CAN) in 2004, and Greg Henderson (NZL) in 2005.

GE Best Young Rider Leader Jersey
Each day eligible riders who are under 23 years of age compete for this special jersey, which recognizes the future stars of cycling. The GE Best Young Rider jersey's Georgia oaks-themed design takes these strong and "relatively green" young men as its inspiration. The green jersey recipient is determined daily by his overall placement at the finish line after each stage, with the least amount of overall accumulated time. Past winners have included Dalton, Georgia native Saul Raisin (USA) in 2003, Kevin Bouchard-Hall (USA) in 2004, and Trent Lowe (AUS) in 2005.

Aaron's Corporate Furnishings Most Aggressive Rider Jersey
Georgia's farmers have long regarded the southern vine kudzu as tough and aggressive. With this kind of reputation, it's only natural to pay homage to the rider who exhibits these same characteristics. The Aaron's Most Aggressive Rider jersey is awarded daily to the rider, who is judged by a panel of media and race entourage officials, to have demonstrated the most aggressive attacks, breakaways or strategies. Upon the finish of each stage, the rider with the most votes from this elite panel wears the blue and green jersey. Andrea Tafi (ITA) won this inaugural jersey award in 2005.

For other articles on the 2006 Ford Tour de Georgia: Team Rosters and Profiles

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |