Search the news archive:
Route Adélie de Vitré
By Andy McGrath
Date: 4/1/2006
Route Adélie de Vitré

Samuel Dumoulin (Ag2r Prévoyance) has won the Route Adélie de Vitré, the fourth round of the season-long Coupe de France, attacking his six breakaway companions late on for his tenth professional victory. In a breakaway which included several other speedy finishers, including former winner Anthony Geslin (Bouygues Telecom), Aitor Galdos (Panaria-Navigare) and Lilian Jegou (Francaise des Jeux) as well as Criterium International time-trial winner Alberto Martinez (Agritubel), the Ag2r man cleverly left his rivals in his wake with an unexpected coup de grace to take victory ahead of Galdos and Geslin, confirming his status as one of the most skilled French riders in the peloton.

Following a thirty five minute disruption to the start from protesters against the CPE, the controversial new employment law introduced for young French people, the event got underway. The early breakaway effort came from five men: GP Cholet winner Chris Sutton (Cofidis), Brian Vandborg (Team CSC), American youngster Taylor Tolleson (TIAA-CREF), Sebastien Duret (Bretagne-Jean Floc’h) and Hans Dekkers (Agritubel). Though their advantage almost reached five minutes, sustained work from the Italian squads as well as Francaise des Jeux and Credit Agricole meant that they were reprised by the sixty kilometre to go mark.

However, Duret and Vandborg resisted the pack’s reprisal, and were joined by Camille Bouquet (, Niels Brouzes (Auber 93), David Le Lay (Bretagne-Jean Floc’h), Aitor Galdos (Panaria-Navigare) and Alberto Martinez Trinidad (Agritubel) in another audacious attempt: the latter three would go on to make the final selection of seven.
With thirty kilometres to go, team leaders Dumoulin, Geslin and Jegou roared out of the peloton, joined by Laurens Ten Dam (, and bridged the gap, joining up with the trio in the previous break strong enough to follow. The mix of strong riders coupled with the fact that seven teams all had one rider up front meant that it was effectively game over for those behind. Dumoulin, a good sprinter himself, then bided his time before delivering the late attack and soloing to his first victory of 2006.
Mirko Allegrini of Panaria-Navigare won the bunch dash for eighth fifty-six seconds in arrears, just failing to catch Ten Dam, who had been dropped from the winning escape.

A cool-looking Samuel Dumoulin - Courtesy of Capture the Peloton

Well-known for being one of the smallest riders in the peloton at just 1m 59cm, Samuel Dumoulin’s height has certainly not held him back: this is his tenth victory, after just over four years in the pro ranks. Last year, the twenty-five year old won a stage of the Dauphiné Libéré and the Tour du Limousin. This result also keeps Ag2r Prevoyance’s win tally ticking over nicely after a dry spell of a month, with seven to date.
Cofidis’s Coupe de France winning streak has also been broken, as they had previously won all three races. Nonetheless, a fine fifteenth place finish in the bunch sprint from Australian neo-pro Chris Sutton, after being in an escape for several hours, was enough to put him into the competition lead, and keep the French telephone credit company in the thick of the action.

Route Adélie de Vitré, 185.3km - Results
1 DUMOULIN Samuel (FRA/A2R) 04:42:33
3 GESLIN Anthony (FRA/BTL) m.t.
4 JEGOU Lilian (FRA/FDJ) m.t.
5 LELAY David (FRA/BJF) m.t.
6 MARTINEZ Alberto (ESP/AGR) m.t.
7 TEN DAM Laurens (NED/UNI) à 53"
8 ALLEGRINI Mirko (ITA/PAN) à 56"
10 PUTSEV Erki (EST/A2R) m.t.
11 DELAGE Mickaël (FRA/FDJ) m.t.
12 MONDORY Lloyd (FRA/A2R) m.t.
13 HADDOU Saïd (FRA/AUB) m.t.
14 BONSERGENT Stéphane (FRA/BJF) m.t.
15 SUTTON Chris (AUS/COF) m.t.
16 RENIER Franck (FRA/BTL) m.t.
17 BOUQUET Camille (FRA/UNI) m.t.
18 LABBE Arnaud (FRA/BTL) m.t.
19 DION Renaud (FRA/A2R) m.t.
20 HERVE Cédric (FRA/BJF) m.t.
21 PATANCHON Fabien (FRA/FDJ) m.t.
22 COUTOULY Cédric (FRA/AGR) m.t.
23 WOJTAS Arkadjusz (POL/MIE) m.t.
24 GONZALEZ Freddy (COL/CLM) m.t.
25 BONNET William (FRA/CA) m.t.
26 HALGAND Patrice (FRA/CA) m.t.
27 GUILBERT Charles (FRA/BJF) m.t.
28 LE BOULANGER Yoann (FRA/BTL) m.t.
30 MAZET Julien (FRA/AUB) m.t.
31 GABRIEL Frederic (FRA/UNI) m.t.
32 VOGONDY Nicolas (FRA/CA) m.t.
33 LAURENT Christophe (FRA/AGR) m.t.
34 LADAGNOUS Mathieu (FRA/FDJ) m.t.
35 BROUZES Niels (FRA/AUB) m.t.
36 ARASHIRO Yukya (JPN/VAN) m.t.
37 FEDRIGO Pierrick (FRA/BTL) à 1' 08"
38 AGNOLUTTO Christophe (FRA/AGR) m.t.
39 MORIZOT Florian (FRA/AUB) m.t.
40 FARRAR Tyler (USA/COF) m.t.
41 BESSY Frédéric (FRA/COF) m.t.
42 DA CRUZ Carlos (FRA/FDJ) m.t.
43 VAN DE WOUVER Kurt (BEL/UNI) m.t.
44 ROCHE Nicolas (IRL/COF) m.t.
45 GUSTOV Volodymir (UKR/CSC) m.t.
46 GRILLO Paride (ITA/PAN) à 1' 13"
47 FURLAN Angelo (ITA/CLM) m.t.
48 PEDERSEN Martin (DEN/CSC) à 1' 15"
49 BICHOT Freddy (FRA/FDJ) m.t.
50 MARINO Jean-marc (FRA/CA) m.t.
51 PRONK Matheus (NED/UNI) m.t.
52 LELARGE Noan (FRA/BJF) m.t.
53 DURET Sébastien (FRA/BJF) m.t.
54 MUTO Pasquale (ITA/MIE) à 1' 22"
55 SCHNYDER Philippe (SUI/CLM) à 3' 50"
56 ROY Jérémie (FRA/FDJ) m.t.
57 PLOUHINEC Samuel (FRA/AGR) à 5' 03"
58 MEDEREL Maxime (FRA/AUB) m.t.
59 TURPIN Ludovic (FRA/A2R) à 5' 08"
60 TANAKA So (JPN/VAN) à 8' 50"

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |