Search the news archive:
Cycling Center/Bio Racer 2006 Roster
By Vaughn Trevi
Date: 2/8/2006
Cycling Center/Bio Racer 2006 Roster


HERTSBERGE, Belgium Ė The Phoenix based elite amateur team Cycling Center Ė Bio Racer has announced the 2006 roster for its Belgium-based racing program targeted primarily toward elite U.S. amateurs.

In addition, team director Bernard Moerman has outlined growth that has occurred in the past year, including the addition of a second Belgian facility for visiting masterís riders and international teams, as well as the start of ties with Veloport Corp. in Albuquerque, N.M., as an early-season training facility for Cycling Center athletes.

The race calendar for Cycling Center riders spans the Atlantic with early- and late-season events in North America, including Valley of the Sun Stage Race in Arizona and Vuelta Sonora in Mexico this spring, as well as the Univest Grand Prix in September. The European racing calendar will center on UCI races and kermesses in Belgium, as well as UCI races in the Netherlands, Denmark, France, Germany and Luxembourg.

Moerman said his goals for the Cycling Center for 2006 include advancing more young riders to the professional level, building a continental team on both sides of the Atlantic with road, cyclocross and track squads, expanding developmental and educational programs in the United States, and expanding the masterís program in Europe.

Moerman also pointed to a number of Cycling Center alumni who have moved to the professional ranks or are leading figures with top amateur teams in the last few years. They include: Bryan Smith, Jake Rytlewski, Dan Bowman, Eric Keim, Jacob Fetty, Tyson Apostol, Austin King, Corey Steinbrecher, Mike Norton, Brian Sheedy, Rudy Robaina, Brian Adams and Jed Schneider.

Cycling Center Lads riding the McLane Pacific Classic Course in 2005.

Support for the Cycling Center and its athletes also comes from various organizations in the United States, including the just-announced Euro-Devo scholarship program for Michigan cyclists, as well as Hotter 'N Hell, a bicycle tour that supports the cycling program at Midwestern State University in Wichita Falls, Texas, and the schoolís athletes at the Cycling Center. Numerous other individuals and clubs also deserve recognition for their financial support of athletes who have been accepted into the program, Moerman said.

With a few spots left open, the main part of the selection for 2006 is known. Here is the 2006 Cycling Center roster with ridersí hometown or country. Athletes will be based at the Cycling Centerís headquarters in Hertsberge, Belgium, for either all or a portion of the March-through-September season. Espoirs are noted with an asterisk (*):


Matthew Allen                Boulder, Colorado
Christopher Allison         Fairburn, Georgia
Matt Bright*                   Orem, Utah
Mike Bogaert Brugge,    Belgium
Edward Burress*           Arden, North Carolina
Chris Carlson*              Las Vegas, Nevada
Arne Defauw*               Hertsberge, Belgium
Steffan Elzinga*             Canada
Nathan Fields                East Point, Georgia
Eric Fostvedt                 Boulder, Colorado
Jaime Gandara              El Paso, Texas
Yarden Gazit*               Hod-Hasharon, Israel
Bret Glembocki             Franklin, Wisconson
Justin Grisham*             Salt Lake City, Utah
Nicholas Hight-Huf        Sunnydale, California
Peter Horn*                  Boulder CO
Graham Howard*         Grand Rapids, Michigan
Wesley Jacobs *           South Africa
Ronald Jensen               Buckeye, Arizona
Chris Jones                   New Haven, Connecticut
Paul Kronser*              Middleton, Wisconson
Lere Lambrechts           Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Robert Lofgran             Douglas, Arizona
Sean Mazich*               Yuma, Arizona
Alex Moore                  Santa Barbara, California
David Mullholland         Ireland
David Nelson*             Tucson, Arizona
Alvin Nordell                Kalamazoo, Michigan
Whit Oliver                  Atlanta, Georgia
Aaron Pool*                Omaha, Nebraska
Kiel Reijnen*                Bainbridge Island, Washington
Vincent Roberge*         Redford, Michigan
Javier Rodriguez           Mexico
Nathan Rogers             San Francisco, California
Santiago Rossell*         Winter Park, Florida
Gray Skinner*              Nashville, Tennesee
Adam Steelman*          Manassas, Virginia
Bret Stewart*               Munster, Indiana
Scott Tietsel*               Boulder, Colorado
Derek Timmerman*     East Lansing, Michigan
Chris Vancoillie*          South Africa
Kevin Vandersteene*  Diksmuide, Belgium
Dominic Van Nielen*   Kingwood, Texas
Steven Van Vooren*   Eeklo, Belgium
Christopher Wilson*   Hyannis, Massachusetts
Jason Woods              West Lafayette, Indiana

Cycling Center team member in the mix McLane Pacific Classic 2005

U.S. staff: The Cycling Center is also supported in the United States by cycling-related professionals, including coaches Barney King, Gary Achterberg, Dirk Friel and  Ben Sharp. Others involved closely include Dr. Andy Pruitt, Ed.D., PA; Dr. L. Jon Porman, D.C., CCSP; and Dr. Kristen Dieffenbach, sport psychologist.

Sponsors: Bio Racer, race clothing; Nike, team clothing; Rudy Project, helmets and glasses; MBK, bicycle frames; Oval Concepts, handlebars, stems, forks and seatposts; Fizik, saddles; Time, pedals; Maxxis, tires; SRM, power meter; Tacx, ergometers, rollers and bottle cages; Volkswagen, fleet; Sports and Cultural Entertainment, race support and event organization; Sportsbase Online, logistic support; Veloport Corporation Albuquerque, training facilities; Clif Bar, race food; Bional, food supplements; Compex, electro muscle stimulators; Altitude Tech, altitude rooms; Bavo Sauna Bouw, sauna infrared room, steam room; Penta Reizen, travel agent; ING, bank, and Byrne Specialty Gases.

Web site:

Banner 10000002banner

Related Articles
USA Track Team Announced For Worlds
Cycling News Roundup 8 February 2006
The Tour: A Book Review by Marty Jemison

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |