Search the news archive:
Tour de France - Early News
By Podofdonny
Date: 6/5/2002
Tour de France - Early News

Telekom men for the Tour

Telekom chief Walter Godefroot has announced the 13 riders in consideration for a place in this years Tour de France on Wednesday 6th July in Luxembourg.


Erik Zabel, Rolf Aldag, Udo Bölts, Jens Heppner, Danilo Hondo, Andreas Klöden, Matthias Kessler, Steffen Wesemann (All German), Gian-Matteo Fagnini, Giuseppe Guerini (both Italian), Bobby Julich, Kevin Livingston (both USA), Matthias Kessler (Fürth), Vinokourov (Kasachstan) make up the thirteen riders which will be reduced to nine before the start of the Tour de Suisse (18 to 27 June).

Zabel States his case

Following his victory in Pforzheim yesterday Erik Zabel gave his opinion on the riders he would like to accompany him in this years Tour de France, while Olaf Ludwig said, "We do not have a captain - there is no replacement for Ullrich. Therefore we will have to change our tactics this year. Not the General Classification - stage wins must be our goal." Zabel,however was more specific - he wants Danilo Hondo in the squad: "I can rely on Danilo one hundred percent just as i can rely on Gian-Matteo Fagnini. We have worked well together in the tour of Luxemburg and have worked well together today. If I was choosing the team Danilo would be included."

Banesto practices for the Team Time Trial

The Spanish team "" have been in a training camp in Pamplona early this week and have been concentrating on the Team time trial.

The Spaniards Santiago Blanco, Francisco Mancebo, Javier Pascual Rodriguez, Jon Odriozola, Unai Osa, Ivan Gutierrez, David Latasa, Xavier Zandio and Jose Vicente Garcia Acosta as well as the young Russian Denis Menchov were practising over a 69 kilometre course.

This years Time trial is on Stage 4 Wednesday July 10, 2002: Epernay (Marne)-Château-Thierry (Aisne), over 68 kilometres. During the last Tour de France, Banesto were not at their best and finished in thirteenth place 3,45 minutes down on the Credit Agricole Team’s winning time.

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |