Search the news archive:
Giro 2005 - Team news
By Podofdonny
Date: 5/2/2005
Giro 2005 - Team news

CSC for Giro

Bjarne Riis has revealed Team CSC's line-up for the upcoming Giro d'Italia, which kicks off on Saturday with a 1.5-kilometer prologue in Reggio Calabria. Brian Vandborg got the last spot, while Jakob Piil was not selected after an injury plagued spring season.

“I'm not ready to take any risks with Jakob regarding the Tour de France. In the Tour he is a very important part of the team, and by selecting him to the Giro in his current shape, his chances of being on form for the Tour are not good. We also need riders, who are 100% fit and ready to help Ivan win the Giro,” says Bjarne Riis.

Along with Brian Vandborg these seven riders have been selected to help team captain Ivan Basso fight for the overall win in the Giro: Michael Blaudzun (Denmark), Giovanni Lombardi (Italy), Peter Luttenberger (Austria), Andrea Peron (Italy), Fränk Schleck (Luxemburg), Christian Vande Velde (USA) and David Zabriskie (USA).

“I think we have a strong team, and I know for sure, that all our riders are extremely motivated to go all out for Ivan. No doubt the competition in the Giro will be tough, but we are well prepared, and everyone knows their role in this team,” says Bjarne Riis.

T Mobile – Zabel will ride

Erik Zabel has been added to the T-Mobile Team roster for the 88th edition of the Giro dItalia (May 7 - 29). This decision was made just hours after Zabel sprinted to his third career win at the Rund um den Henninger Turm German one-day classic.

It was originally planned for the 34-year-old sprinter to spend a few weeks away from competitive racing after Henninger Turm, before returning to action at the Tour of Bavaria (May 25 29). Now, though, his bikes are already on the way to Italy, says T-Mobile sporting director Mario Kummer, who made this decision in accordance with Eriks personal wishes.

Kummer and Zabel sat together in Frankfurt to discuss Zabels season programme and agreed to adjust the planned schedule. I am going great guns at the moment and I believe that the Giro fits well to my programme, says Zabel, who after 14 years of always the same preparations is keen to follow a new course: May always used to be my race-free month, but now I want to try something new, added the in-form sprinter

Future team manager Olaf Ludwig also welcomed Zabel and Kummers joint decision. As a contender for a Tour nomination Zabel has the go-ahead to leave the beaten track as he continues building up his form for Julys highlight.

The full T-Mobile Team line-up for the Giro, which begins on Saturday with a 1.15 kilometre prologue in Reggio Calabria, is the following:

Erik Baumann (25), Matthias Kessler (25), André Korff (31), Daniele Nardello (32), Olaf Pollack (31), Jan Schaffrath (33), Bram Schmitz (Netherlands/28), Christian Werner (25) and Erik Zabel (34). Valerio Piva is sporting manager

Sandy Casar will lead FdJ as Philippe Gilbert steps down….

Belgian rider Philippe Gilbert winner of the Trophée des Grimpeurs will not ride the Giro d'Italia. . Following early season illness the 22 year old has decided he does not have the condition to ride a three week Tour. Instead Golbert will now concentrate on the tour de France.

French rider Français Sandy Casar and the Australian Baden Cooke will now lead the Française des Jeux team in the Giro which starts next Saturday in Reggio de Calabre. 13th in the race in 2003 Casar will share equal billing with fast man Baden Cooke who will be looking for the sprints.

Française des Jeux

Sandy Casar, Freddy Bichot, Carlos Da Cruz, Lilian Jégou and Cyrille Monnerais (FRA), Baden Cooke, Mark Renshaw and Matthew Wilson (AUS), Christophe Detilloux (BEL).

Quickstep at Giro

On Monday, the Quick-Step team management named the team who will compete in the 88th Tour of Italy: Paolo Bettini, Davide Bramati, Mads Christensen, José Antonio Garrido, Addy Engels, Cristian Moreni, Filippo Pozzato, Nick Nuyens and Stefano Zanini. Team managers will be Serge Parsani and Rik Van Slycke

Davitamon Lotto

Tour of Britain winner Mauricio Ardila (Col) leads the Davitamon squad for the Giro ,Christophe Brandt, Nick Gates (Aus), Bjorn Leukemans, Robbie McEwen (Aus), Tom Steels, Wim Van Huffel, Aart Vierhouten (Ned) and Henk Vogels (Aus) make up the squad.

Saunier Duval for Giro

Juan Manuel Garate, Joaquin Rodriguez, Francisco José Ventoso, Ruben Lobato, Marco Pinotti, Oliver Zaugg, Manuele Mori, Angel Gomez, Ivan Ravaioli.

Related Articles
29th GP Industria & Artigianato Larciano - Updated
Young Guns: 30th Giro delle Regioni (2.2) - Stage 6

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |