Search the news archive:
Track Cycling: 41st Six Days of Munich - Night Two
By Fabio
Date: 11/13/2004
Track Cycling: 41st Six Days of Munich - Night Two

41st Six Days of Munich – Night Two: The battle goes on at the Olympiapark, and so does Scott McGrory and Matt Gilmore’s adventure in yellow. The Aussie-Belgian combo succeeded in retaining the overall leaders mantle also after the end of the second night of competition in the Bavarian capital, as they put one lap, and 13 points, into the men that looked like being their most dangerous rivals after the opening session, e.g. Holland’s Slippens and Stam.

Also reigning champions Bruno Risi and Kurt Betschart ended up one lap down on the (so far) unstoppable leaders, and even with 29 points less than them, which is no small gap at all. Such that, after the first two sessions, it looks like the biggest threat to Scott and Matt comes from the “Two Andreas”, Germany’s Kappes and Beikirch, who are the only duo in the same lap as the current leaders, and sure know what racing -and winning- on home tracks is about. It’s true that two guys have not been that successful at the Olympiapark, but the fact Kappes took overall honors just once here, while Beikirch still has to write his name in the Munich Six winners list, might be a further incentive for the crowd favorites to give everything they can.

The overall win as a matter of four pairings only? Maybe five, as German track specialist, Robert Bartko and occasional teammate Franco Marvulli limited their losses and are trailing by two laps only, so that they can still be regarded as GC threats. Something that probably can’t be said about the rest of the field, that lost five or more laps in just two nights, and whose gap to the top teams is expected to increase further over the next four days.

41st Six Days of Munich - GC after Night Two

1. Scott McGrory (Aus) - Matthew Gilmore (Bel) - 93 p.
2. Andreas Kappes - Andreas Beikirch (Ger) - 80 p.

at 1 lap
3. Robert Slippens - Danny Stam (Hol) - 80 p.
4. Bruno Risi - Kurt Betschart (Swi) - 64 p.

at 2 laps
5. Robert Bartko (Ger) - Franco Marvulli (Swi) - 76 p.

at 5 laps
6. Lars Teutenberg - Christian Lademann (Ger) - 40 p.

at 7 laps
7. Marco Villa (Ita) - Thorsten Rund (Ger) - 33 p.

at 8 laps
8. Luke Roberts (Aus) - Jimmi Madsen (Den) - 30 p.

at 10 laps
9. Franz Stocher (Aut) - Christian Grasmann (Ger) - 16 p.

at 11 laps
10. Leif Lampater (Ger) - Alexander Aeschbach (Swi) - 25 p.
11. Stefan Löffler - Andreas Müller (Ger) - 21 p.

at 13 laps
12. Wouter Van Mechelen - Iljo Keisse (Bel) - 43 p.
13. Gerd Dörich - Frank Kowatschitsch (Ger) - 11 p.

at 14 laps
14. Mikhail Ignatiev - Alexei Markov (Rus) - 20 p.
15. Ronny Lauke - Erik Weisspfennig (Ger) - 2 p.

UIV Talents Cup CUP Round #3 - Night Two: Two teams in the lead with the more than respectable score of 36, and three pairings driving the chase a dozen points adrift. That’s the snapshot of the situation in the "young gun" race, the U23 Franziskaner Rad Open, after the second night of competition, that saw Denmark’s Michael Berling and Alex Rasmussen capture the 40-minute chase and subsequently move to the top spot, although with the same number of points as previous leaders Kenny de Ketele and Steve Schets of Belgium.

After quite a poor performance at Amsterdam, and a second place overall (behind Britain’s Marc Cavendish and Matt Brammier, not competing at Munich) at Dortmund, when paired with Jakob Dyrgaard, it looks like Mr. Berling has some serious chances to take the winners bouquet at last, provided he doesn’t repeat the performance he put in at the “Westfalenhalle”, where the man and his teammate took the lead very early into the event, but were eventually pipped by the British duo.

Amsterdam winners Gert-Jan Jonkmann and Wim Stroetinga managed to hit the podium spots on Friday, albeit with the same score as their Danish rivals Hester and Mørkøv as well as a German duo. And their gap to the leading teams has increased exponentially too, although, you know, there’s still a long way to go …

U23 Franziskaner Rad-Open - GC after Night Two

1. Michael Berling - Alex Rasmussen (Den) - 36 p.
2. Kenny de Ketele - Steve Schets (Bel) - 36 p.
3. Gert-Jan Jonkmann - Wim Stroetinga (Hol) - 24 p.
4. Marc Hester - Michael Mørkøv (Den) - 24 p.
5. Henning Bommel - Robert Bengsch (Ger) - 24 p.
6. Patrick Betz - Daniel Schlegel (Ger) - 20 p.
7. Jan Eric Schwarzer - Markus Reich (Ger) - 20 p.
8. Pavel Subrt - Marek Mixa (Cze) - 12 p.
9. René Schibl - Benjamin Baumgartner (Swi) - 12 p.
10. Sebastian Frey - Nicolai Raasch (Ger) - 12 p.
11. Christoph Meschenmoser - David Heine (Ger) - 2 p.
12. Karl Christian König - Robert Kriegs (Ger) - 2 p.
13. Cédric Ager - Nicolas Rousseau (Fra) - 2 p.
14. Georg Tazreiter (Aut) - Lubor Kosicka (Cze) - 2 p.
15. Kevin Sluimer - Patrick Kos (Hol) - 2 p.

Track Cycling 2004/2005 on the ”Daily Peloton" - Links

41st Six Days of Munich (Nov. 11-16, 2004)
* Race Preview and Night 1 Results & Report

63rd Six Days of Dortmund (Oct. 28-Nov. 02, 2004)
* Race Preview and Night 1 Results & Report

12th Six Days of Amsterdam (Oct. 18-23, 2004)
* Race Preview and Night 1 Results & Report
* Night 2 Results & Report
* Night 3 Results & Report
* Night 4 Results & Report
* Night 5 Results & Report
* Night 6 - Final Results & Report

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |