Search the news archive:
GP Kanton-Aargau (1.1)
By Andy McGrath
Date: 8/29/2004
GP Kanton-Aargau (1.1)

In recent years, breakaways have prevailed in the GP Kanton-Aargau, despite the predominantly flat parcours. But in this year's high-profile event, maybe slightly disappointingly, victory was decided in a massive bunch sprint, and the home nation Switzerland were denied a home team victory let alone a home rider victory, like last year with Phonak's Martin Elmiger. But they got awfully close...

After the attacks were marked, with only Giosue Bonomi (Saeco) and Andris Nauduzs (Domina Vacanze) being allowed any time in front before being unceremoniously swept up by the pack, it was Matteo Tosatto (Fassa Bortolo), part of Alessandro Petacchi's band of 'merry men' that helps lead him out for sprints, who denied Switzerland victory. The 30 year old Italian showed he's got a fast pair of legs himself, as he outgunned home hopefuls Markus Zberg of Gerolsteiner and that man Elmiger for his second victory of the year, after the Giro di Toscana, and probably the best of his seven year old career.

GP Kanton-Aargau, 196km - Top 20

1. Matteo Tosatto (Fassa Bortolo, ITA) 4h 57m 37s at 39.513km/h
2. Markus Zberg (Gerolsteiner, SWI) at same time
3. Martin Elmiger (Phonak Hearing Systems, SWI) s.t
4. Massimiliano Mori (Domina Vacanze, ITA) s.t
5. Frank Schleck (Team CSC, LUX) s.t
6. Mauro Gerosa (Vini Caldirola-Nobili Rubinetterie, ITA) s.t
7. Wesley van der Linden (Vlaanderen-T Interim-Eddy Merckx, BEL) s.t
8. Pieter Mertens (Vlaanderen-T Interim-Eddy Merckx, BEL) s.t
9. Roger Beuchat (Vini Caldirola-Nobili Rubinetterie, ITA) s.t
10. Andrej Hauptman (Lampre, SLO) s.t
11. Daniele Righi (Lampre, ITA) s.t
12. Alexander Moos (Phonak Hearing Systems, SWI) s.t
13. Alejandro Alberto Borrajo (Panaria-Margres, ARG) s.t
14. Bo Hamburger (Acqua & Sapone, DEN) s.t
15. Milan Kadlec (Vini Caldirola-Nobili Rubinetterie, CZE) s.t
16. Frederik Willems (Vlaanderen-T Interim-Eddy Merckx, BEL) s.t
17. Gabriele Missaglia (Team Barloworld-Androni Giacattoli, ITA) s.t
18. Valeri Kobzarenko (Acqua & Sapone, UKR) s.t
19. Geoffrey Demeyere (Vlaanderen-T Interim-Eddy Merckx, BEL) s.t
20. Wladimir Belli (Lampre, ITA) s.t

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |