Search the news archive:
84th Tre Valli Varesine (1.1)
By Podofdonny
Date: 8/17/2004
84th Tre Valli Varesine (1.1)

Courtesy Tre Valli Varesine.

Please visit the official race website here.

The "high ranking but relatively unknown Italian pro race" Tre Valli Varesine (Three Varesine Valleys) is the first of three consecutive races which take place every year (for more than half a century) during three days in a row, in the Northwestern part of the Lombardia region, and go under the name of "Trittico Lombardo" ("Lombard Trilogy"). The second race, to be held tomorrow, is the "Coppa Agostoni" in Lissone, and the final one (on Thursday) is the "Coppa Bernocchi" in Legnano.

Note the number of bicycles in the picture – obviously all the fans cheering Binda over this climb cycled to watch the event.
Courtesy Tre Valli Varesine.

The "Tre Valli Varesine," organized by the "Societa' Ciclistica Alfredo Binda" (a cycling team dedicated to the great Italian Champion of of the late 20s and early 30s, so strong that in 1929 he won 8 Giro stages out of 14, and the following year he was paid for not taking part in the race. But surprisingly, he didn't ever win this race, which was won by his brother Albino in 1930), starts in Campione D'Italia (an Italian enclave in Swiss territory,) and finishes, after almost 195 km., in the city of Varese, main centre of an area which gave birth to many prominent (and promising) Italian riders.


Alessio Bianchi, De Nardi, Fassa Bortolo, Lampre, Saeco, Vini Caldirola Nobili, Acqua & Sapone, Domina Vacanze, Team Barloworld, Formaggi Pinzolo, Panaria Margres, Tenax, Miche, Team LPR, Landbouwkrediet Colnago, Quick Step Davitamon, Vlaanderen-T.Interim,Gerolsteiner, T-Mobile.

Race News

Renzo Mazzoleni (Tenax) and the South African rider David George (Barloworld-Androni) were both outside the permitted hemacrit level following tests this morning so will not be allowed to compete for the next 15 days. 32 athletes were tested from 4 teams: Ceramiche Panaria-Margres, Team LPR, Tenax and Barloworld-Androni.

Race Report

Fabian Wegmann clearly enjoys racing in Italy. The talented 24 year old was the first German rider ever to win the King of the Mountains jersey in this year's Giro d’Italia and he continued his Latin winning ways this afternoon. The testing course saw the contenders drop to 6 riders, Danilo Di Luca (Saeco), last year's winnner, two Germans, Christian Werner (T-Mobile) and Fabian Wegmann (Gerolsteiner), Vladimir Duma (Landbouwkrediet-Colnago), Filippo Simeoni (Domina Vacanze) and Roberto Petito (Fassa Bortolo). Christian Werner and Roberto Petito were dropped on the Via Corridoni, leaving just 4 men to contest the victory.

As the four men neared the Flamme Rouge it was clear that a sprint finish would favour “The Killer” Di Luca. However, Wegmann decided that his legs were good enough for a long shot and attacked at 1200 metres. The moment's hesitation between Di Luca and Simeoni gave Wegmann the chance for solo glory and he finished with a clear advantage to take his most important career victory. Behind it was Simeoni, in typical gutsy style, who led the chase, but Di Luca inevitably proved too strong and pulled away to take second place.

Wegmann’s solo victory was just reward for the hard working Gerolsteiner team, who secured their 23rd victory of the season. "It is without doubt my best ever victory. I seem to do well on Italian roads. I had a big advantage in that Davide (Rebellin) was in the second group behind and was working for me.”

Gerolsteiner DS Christian Henn was naturally delighted. "It is very satisfying when the team is strong throughout a race and that you do not have to rely solely on one rider.”

Fabian Wegmann. Courtesy Gerolsteiner.


1. Fabian Wegmann (Germany/Gerolsteiner) 5:02:12
2. Danilo Di Luca (Italien/Saeco) 0:06
3. Vladimir Duma (Ukraine/Landbouwkrediet) 0:16
4. Filippo Simeoni (Italien/Domina Vacanze) m.t.
5. Roberto Petito (Italien/Fassa Bortolo) 0:21
6. Davide Rebellin (Italien/Gerolsteiner) 0:27
7. Paolo Tiralongo (Italien/Panaria-Ceramiche)
8. Leonardo Bertagnolli (Italien/Saeco)
9. Dario Frigo (Italien/Fassa Bortolo)
10. Paolo Savoldelli (Italien/T-Mobile)

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |