Search the news archive:
CycloCross. Super Prestige Round 4-Gieten: Updated
By Staff
Date: 11/30/2003
CycloCross. Super Prestige Round 4-Gieten: Updated

One week after his success at Aspere Gavere, Belgium’s Bart Wellens repeated victory in Sunday’s fourth leg of the “Super Prestige Trophy”, held in the Dutch town of Gieten.

The Spaar select rider won the race ahead of Tom Vannoppen, who hit the podium for the second time in as many days, after his third place finish at Saturday’s “Bollekescross” (results in the relative Wrap-up - see link at the bottom of the page). One more time Wellens edged past his #1 rival, fellow Belgian Sevn Nijs, who took third at Gieten.

Needless to say, Wellens also strengthened his grip on the Super Prestige Trophy lead after four races.

Maarten Nijland was the first to enter the field. It also was the last fact of the day for the Dutchman, while at the same moment the Belgians took over. Tom Vannoppen clearly brought his good legs and attacked allready in the first lap. The gap went upto 10 seconds. Bart Wellens and Sven Nijs joined him in the lead in the second lap. A little later it was Sven Nijs who tumbled down at the sand near the lake. Wellens and Vannoppen took advantage ot the bad luck of the man from Baal and took of as a duo. Teammate Richard Groenendaal joined the unlucky Nijs, as well as Arne Daelmans and Peter Van Santvliet did. The head of the field it was the worldchampion who attacked again and took some seconds advantage. Wellens had the gap grown, even though Vannoppen tried his best to come back.

Richard Groenendaal also tumbled down. It was Sven Nijs who attacked, Peter Van Santvliet tried to follow him, but eventually had to let go. Wellens controlled his advantage and with the 40” he had enough time to greet the public. In the espoirrace it was Bart Wellens younger brother Geert who won the ride before Martin Bina from Czechia and Wesley Van der Linden.

Bart Wellens told after the race: "I had a less start today, because the wrong choice of tires. In the first lap I had to change bikes. Vannoppen had allready attacked. When I together with Nijs joined him I set the pace up a bit higher. Nijs had to let go caused by a fall. I kept on forcing, asked Vannoppen to take over. Tom had to let me go. All things considered I am really satisfied with this win today, because the feeling was not that good. “

“Today I had two bad laps in the race. The two made me lose today, “ Sven Nijs told. “ When I together with Wellens Vannoppen I slipped of the bike. This past week I was a bit ill and one day was not able train. Yesterday I did feel good, today unfortunately was less. I still am satisfied with the third spot.”

Tom Vannoppen: "Since the start of the season I had a few problems with my health and also some bad luck with the material. Yesterday I felt I had improved. Today the confirmation came it still is going better. Wellens today just was the best. I hope I with this result have proven national coach De Bie right to select me.”

Superprestige Round 4: Gieten (Holland)

Elite Men Results:
1. Bart Wellens (Bel)
2. Tom Vannoppen (Bel)
3. Sven Nijs (Bel)
4. Peter Van Santvliet (Bel)
5. Ben Berden (Bel)
6. Erwin Vervecken (Bel)
7. Richard Groenendaal (Hol)
8. Arne Daelmans (Bel)
9. Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel)
10. Dariusz Gil (Pol)
11. Wilant van Gils (Hol)
12. Jan Verstraeten (Bel)
13. Petr Dlask (Cze)
14. Davy Commeyne (Bel)
15. Maxime Lefebvre (Fra)
16. Maarten Nijland (Hol)
17. Wim Jacobs (Bel)
18. Gerben de Knegt (Hol)
19. Camiel van den Bergh (Hol)
20. Vaclav Jezek (Cze)
21. Marek Cichosz (Pol)
22. Tim Van Nuffel (Bel)
23. Jonathan Page (USA)
24. Thijs Verhagen (Hol)
25. Tom de Kort (Bel)

Elite Men - GC after Round 4
1. Bart Wellens (Bel) - 115 points
2. Sven Nijs (Bel) - 97 points
3. Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) - 68 points
4. Ben Berden (Bel) - 68 points
5. Tom Vannoppen (Bel) - 64 points
6. Richard Groenendaal (Hol) - 59 points
7. Erwin Vervecken (Bel) - 55 points
8. Arne Daelmans (Bel) - 55 points
8. Peter Van Santvliet (Bel) - 48 points
10. Petr Dlask (Cze) - 44 points
11. Dariusz Gil (Pol) - 38 points
12. Davy Commeyne (Bel) - 34 points
13. Maxime Lefebvre (Fra) - 32 points
14. Wilant van Gils (Hol) - 29 points
15. Vaclav Jezek (Cze) - 21 points
16. Gerben de Knegt (Hol) - 19 points
17. Jan Verstraeten (Bel) - 18 points
18. Camiel van den Bergh (Hol) - 15 points
19. Wim Jacobs (Bel) - 10 points
20. Jonathan Page (USA) - 9 points
21. Björn Rondelez (Bel) - 9 points
21. Christian Heule (Swi) - 6 points
23. David Seco (Spa) - 6 points
23. Maarten Nijland (Hol) - 5 points
25. Matthew Ellis (GBR) - 2 points
25. Thijs Verhagen (Hol) - 5 points
27. Michael Baumgartner (Swi) - 1 point
27. Tadeusz Korzeniewski (Pol) - 1 point
27. Tim Van Nuffel (Bel) - 1 point

Some pictures of last Sunday's U23 race in Gavere-Asper are to be found at this spot at the web.

Related Articles
Cyclocross - Super Prestige Trophy Round 3 - Updated
Women's & 'Cross News Roundup - November 26, 2003
Cyclocross - European Wrap-up for Saturday, November 29

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |