Search the news archive:
Paris-Nice: A Preview
By Fabio
Date: 3/10/2002
Paris-Nice: A Preview

Paris -Nice 2.HC: A preview - by PODOFODONNY.

After nearly being cancelled due to financial troubles (like many races this year) thankfully the Societé Tour de France stepped in at the last moment to save this great old race. The 60th edition of the race has a unusually hard parcours with a shift away from time trialing to tough undulating routes with two hill top finishes.

Apart from the honour of winning the race itself some teams have another agenda to follow - those teams not already selected for the Tour de France will be looking to impress the selectors so expect big efforts from the likes of Team Coast and Tacconi and the French teams.

Favorites for this years contest include three times winner Laurent Jalabert, Telekom, who have had an unusually slow start to the season, will be looking to Andreas Kloden to repeat his 2000 victory . Mapei will be hoping inform Cadel Evans will be able to move up a gear from last year while Richard Virenque has a very powerful Domo team in support. Last years winner Dario Frigo makes his first return to racing following the "Giro Affair" - and his appearance is bound to be closely monitored.

Prologue - March 10: Issy-les-Moulineaux ITT, 5.2 km - can Nico Mattan (Cofidis) repeat last years sucess?

Stage 1 - March 11: Blois - Saint-Amand-Montrond, 176 km - flat stage for the sprinters look out for inform Kirsipuu (AG2R),Petacchi ( Fassa ) Robbie McEwan (Lotto) and Peter Van Petegem (Lotto)

Stage 2 - March 12: Moulins - Belleville, 170 km - two 2nd cat and 3rd cat climbs but a downhill finish - probably another bunch finish - although the weak and unlucky could loose time.

Stage 3 - March 13: Saint-Etienne - Saint-Etienne, 147.5 km - tough day two third cat,second cat and first cat climbs - if a small group reach the top of the Col de la Croix de Charbouret (1201m) they may keep their lead to the finish.

Stage 4 - March 14: Pertuis - Toulon (Mont Faron), 175 km - hill top finish on Mont Faron (541m) - a course ideal for Laurent Jalabert .

Stage 5 - March 15: Toulon - Cannes, 188.5 km- two cat 3 climbs, three cat 2 climbs and one cat one climb will make it a hard day in the saddle for all and very difficult for the race leaders team to control the race.

Stage 6 - March 16: Saint-Raphaël - Col d'Eze, 175 km another undulating day finalising on the cat one climb Col d' Eze although only 502 metres it will be enough to sort the wheat from the chaff.

Stage 7 - March 17: Nice - Nice, 157 km - finally those forgotten sprinters can have a big day out as the race has its tradional finale in Nice on the Promenade des Anglais.

Teams List with Backnumbers:

Tacconi Sport-Emmegi (Ita):
1. Dario Frigo (Ita)
2. Gabriele Balducci (Ita)
3. Ruggero Borghi (Ita)
4. Paolo Bossoni (Ita)
5. Mauro Gerosa (Ita)
6. Peter Luttenberger (Aut)
7. Gianluca Sironi (Ita)
8. Steve Zampieri (Swi)

Lotto-Adecco (Bel):
11. Peter Van Petegem (Bel)
12. Mario Aerts (Bel)
13. Serge Baguet (Bel)
14. Glenn D'Hollander (Bel)
15. Robbie McEwen (Aus)
16. Kurt Van de Wouwer (Bel)
17. Stive Vermaut (Bel)
18. Aart Vierhouten (Hol)

Cofidis (Fra):
21. David Moncoutié (Fra)
22. Inigo Cuesta (Spa)
23. Bingen Fernandez (Spa)
24. Andrei Kivilev (Kaz)
25. Nico Mattan (Bel)
26. Chris Peers (Bel)
27. Jo Planckaert (Bel)
28. Cédric Vasseur (Fra)

CSC-Tiscali (Den):
31. Laurent Jalabert (Fra)
32. Francisco Cerezo (Spa)
33. Nicolas Jalabert (Fra)
34. Danny Jonasson (Den)
35. Martin Rittsel (Swe)
36. Nicky Sörensen (Den)
37. Geert Van Bondt (Bel)
38. Paul Van Hyfte (Bel)

Team Telekom (Ger):
41. Andreas Klöden (Ger)
42. Udo Bölts (Ger)
43. Ralf Grabsch (Ger)
44. Danilo Hondo (Ger)
45. Bobby Julich (USA)
46. Stéphan Schreck (Ger)
47. Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz)
48. Sergei Yakovlev (Kaz)

Crédit Agricole (Fra):
51. Jens Voigt (Ger)
52. Frédéric Bessy (Fra)
53. Sébastien Hinault (Fra)
54. Thor Hushovd (Nor)
55. Christopher Jenner (Fra)
56. Christophe Le Mevel (Fra)
57. Anthony Morin (Fra)
58. Benoit Poilvet (Fra)

Once-Eroski (Spa):
61. José Azevedo (Por)
62. Angel Castresana (Spa)
63. Alvaro Gonzalez de Galdeano (Spa)
64. Isidro Nozal (Spa)
65. Mikel Pradera (Spa)
66. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa)
67. Marcos Serrano (Spa)

Fassa Bortolo (Ita):
71. Ivan Basso (Ita)
72. Volodymyr Gustov (Ukr)
73. Serhyi Gontchar (Ukr)
74. Kim Kirchen (Lux)
75. Nicola Loda (Ita)
76. Alessandro Petacchi (Ita)
77. Matteo Tosatto (Ita)
78. Denis Zanette (Ita)

Bonjour (Fra):
81. Didier Rous (Fra)
82. Walter Beneteau (Fra)
83. Franck Bouyer (Fra)
84. Sylvain Chavanel (Fra)
85. Mickaël Pichon (Fra)
86. Franck Renier (Fra)
87. Fabrice Salanson (Fra)
88. François Simon (Fra)

Domo-Farm Frites (Bel):
91. Richard Virenque (Fra)
92. Dave Bruylandts (Bel)
93. Steve De Wolf (Bel)
94. Andrei Kachechkin (Kaz)
95. Servais Knaven (Hol)
96. Axel Merckx (Bel)
97. Koos Moerenhout (Hol)
98. Max van Heeswijk (Hol)

Jean Delatour (Fra):
101. Laurent Brochard (Fra)
102. Stéphane Auge (Fra)
103. Gilles Bouvard (Fra)
104. Cyril Dessel (Fra)
105. Frédéric Finot (Fra)
106. Stéphane Goubert (Fra)
107. Patrice Halgand (Fra)
108. Laurent Lefevre (Fra)

Euskaltel-Euskadi (Spa):
111. Iker Flores (Spa)
112. Gorka Arrizabalaga (Spa)
113. Unai Etxebarria (Spa)
114. Igor Flores (Spa)
115. Alberto Martinez (Spa)
116. Samuel Sanchez (Spa)
117. Aitor Silloniz (Spa)
118. Cesar Solaun (Spa)

Team Coast (Ger):
121. Alex Zuelle (Swi)
122. Niki Aebersold (Swi)
123. Manuel Beltran (Spa)
124. Fernando Escartin (Spa)
125. Aitor Garmendia (Spa)
126. Mauro Gianetti (Swi)
127. Fabrizio Guidi (Ita)
128. Luis Pérez (Spa) (Spa):
131. Denis Menchov (Rus)
132. José Luis Arrieta (Spa)
133. Marzio Bruseghin (Ita)
134. Koldo Gil Perez (Spa)
135. David Navas (Spa)
136. Aitor Osa (Spa)
137. Javier Pascual (Spa)
138. Javier Vila (Spa)

AG2R-Prévoyance (Fra):
141. Jaan Kirsipuu (Est)
142. Christophe Agnolutto (Fra)
143. Mikel Astarloza (Spa)
144. Alexandre Botcharov (Rus)
145. Inigo Chaurreau (Spa)
146. Andy Flickinger (Fra)
147. Thierry Loder (Fra)
148. Christophe Oriol (Fra)

Kelme-Costa Blanca (Spa):
151. Ignacio Gutierrez (Spa)
152. Francisco Leon (Spa)
153. Roberto Lozano (Spa)
154. Leandro Navarette (Spa)
155. Miguel Otero (Spa)
156. Alexis Rodriguez (Spa)
157. Julian Usano (Spa)
158. Angel Vicioso (Spa)

La Française des Jeux (Fra):
161. Sandy Casar (Fra)
162. Baden Cooke (Aus)
163. Nicolas Fritsch (Fra)
164. Frédéric Guesdon (Fra)
165. Régis L'Huillier (Fra)
166. Christophe Mengin (Fra)
167. Jean-Cyril Robin (Fra)
168. Matthew Wilson (Aus)

Mapei-Quick Step (Ita):
171. Laszlo Bodrogi (Hun)
172. Dario Cioni (Ita)
173. Fabien De Waele (Bel)
174. Cadel Evans (Aus)
175. Kevin Hulsmans (Bel)
176. Robert Hunter (RSA)
177. Tom Steels (Bel)
178. Andrea Tafi (Ita)

Phonak Hearing Systems (Swi):
181. Benoit Salmon (Fra)
182. Matthias Buxhofer (Aut)
183. Christian Charrière (Swi)
184. Juan Carlos Dominguez (Spa)
185. Martin Elmiger (Swi)
186. Cédric Fragnière (Swi)
187. Fabrice Gougot (Fra)
188. Michael Reihs (Den)

Alessio (Ita):
191. Laurent Dufaux (Swi)
192. Daniele De Paoli (Ita)
193. Andrea Ferrigato (Ita)
194. Angelo Furlan (Ita)
195. Martin Hvastija (Slo)
196. Vladimir Miholjevic (Cro)
197. Cristian Moreni (Ita)
198. Alexandre Shefer (Kaz)

BigMat-Auber 93 (Fra):
201. Xavier Jan (Fra)
202. Ludovic Auger (Fra)
203. Christophe Capelle (Fra)
204. Felix Garcia Casas (Spa)
205. Stéphane Heulot (Fra)
206. Aitor Kintana (Spa)
207. Lylian Lebreton (Fra)
208. Sébastien Talabardon (Fra)

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |