Search the news archive:
Wachovia Cycling Series: Lancaster
By Jaime Nichols
Date: 6/2/2003
Wachovia Cycling Series: Lancaster

The Wachovia Cycling Series: Lancaster

Photos by Jamie Nichols

The week starts out tough with a real hardman's contest in Lancaster on Tuesday, June 3rd. 91 miles in thirteen laps of a 7 mile circuit, the Lancaster course can't really be said to have a tough climb, but, as last year's second place finisher, Chris Wherry, said "There's no place to hide in Lancaster."

The race is both challenging and fast. Wearing the peloton down to only a fraction of the starters year after year with near constant sudden short hills and turns, there's nowhere to rest as average speeds reach 30 mph, making Lancaster a race for the strong.

David Clinger won here last year, riding for US Postal. Wherry and Clinger escaped the pack and rode a two-man time trial to the finish until Clinger simply rode a super strong, in form Wherry off his wheel on the final hills in a true display of strength and toughness. Clinger's form this season has been steadily mounting, and if his victory at the Tour of Connecticut last month is a harbinger of things to come, he has the chops to defend his title in Lancaster; but he'll have tough competition from the usual suspects, to say nothing of the excellent European contingent here for America's biggest races.

The usual suspects? Saturn's Chris Horner won here in 1996, and has been the man to beat all year. His teammate Nathan O'Neill can't be overlooked, either. Including Clinger and Horner, no less than six former Lancaster champions take the start this year: CSC's Jakob Piil, Vini Caldirola's Fred Rodriguez (who set the course record in Lancaster in 1995), Saturn's Trent Klasna, and Schroeder Iron's Chann McRae are the other four; they know how to win on this course; but it's a very strong field for 2003, and the winner will have to fight hard for his victory.

Lancaster's Past Winners

2002 David Clinger - US Postal Service (USA) 3:18:52
2001 Leon Van Bon - Mercury/Viatel (NZL) 3:20:13
2000 Trent Klasna - Saturn (USA) 3:21:04
1999 Jakob Piil - Acceptcard (DEN) 3:19:42
1998 Frankie Andreu - US Postal Service (USA) 3:23:17
1997 Chann McRae - Saturn (USA) 3:22:15
1996 Chris Horner - Nutra Fig (USA) 3:28:25
1995 Fred Rodriguez - US National Team (USA) 3:07:12
1994 Andrea Peron - Polti (ITA) 3:13:13
1993 Arvis Piziks - Latvia National (LAT) 3:13:14
1992 Roberto Pelliconi - Mercatone Uno (ITA) 2:04:05

2002's tough guys: Chris Wherry, David Clinger & Tom Leaper.

2002 Lancaster Coverage

Postal Strikes First in Lancaster
2002 Official Results
2002 Lancaster Photo Gallery

Lancaster Startlist as of 5/20/2003

1 Mark Walters, CAN
2 Henk Vogels, AUS
3 Chris Baldwin, USA
4 Glen Mitchell, NZL
5 Ryan Guay, USA
6 Justin Spinelli, USA
7 Jeff Louder, USA
8 Ciaran Power, IRL
9 Chris Wherry, USA
D.S. E. Beamon/R. Cipolini

11 Chris Horner, USA
12 Tom Danielson, USA
13 Charles Dionne, CAN
14 Will Frischkorn, USA
15 Tim Johnson, USA
16 Nathan O'Neill, NZL
17 Trent Klasna, USA
18 Eric Wohberg, CAN
19 Phila Zajicek, USA
D.S. A.Bek

21 Fred Rodriguez, USA
22 Pietro Zucconi, SUI
23 Patrick Calcagni, SUI
24 Marco Gilli, iTA
25 Eddy Mazzoleni, ITA
26 Andrea Masciarelli, ITA
27 Simone Masciarelli, ITA
D.S. V. Algeri/M. Gianetti

31 Jakob Piil, Denmark
32 Geert Van Bondt, BEL
33 Julian Dean, NZL
34 Thomas Eriksen Brunn, DEN
35 Tristan Hoffman, NED
36 Jimmi Madsen, DEN
37 Lars Michaelsen, DEN
38 Andrea Tafi, ITA
D.S. B. Rijs/J. Weltz

41 Maximilliano Mori, ITA
42 Massimo Cappe, ITA
43 Gualdi Domenico, ITA
44 Massimo Amichetti, ITA
45 Vros Murn, SLO
46 Antoni Rizzi, ITA
D.S. R. Magrini

51 David McKenzie, AUS
52 Bjorn Cornelissen, NED
53 Jamie Drew, AUS
54 Scott Guyton, NZL
55 Allan Iacuone, AUS
56 Dominique Perras, CAN
57 Bert Scheirlinckx, BEL
58 Staf Scheirlinckx, BEL
59 Trent Wilson, AUS
D.S. F.VanHaesbroucke

61 Igor Astorloa. ESP
62 Juan Fuentes, ESP
63 Antonio Bucciero, ITA
64 Alessio Galletti, ITA
65 Christian Pepoli, ITA
66 lessando Spezialetti, ITA
67 Andrea Tonti, ITA
68 Stefano Zanini, ITA
D.S. B. Vicino

71 John Lieswyn, USA
72 Godfrey Hayden, NZL
73 Brice Jones, USA
74 Jason McCartney, USA
75 Kevin Monahan, USA
76 Chris Pic, USA
77 Oscar Pineda, GUA
78 Doug Ziewacz, USA
79 Greg Henderson, NZL
D.S. J. Corbett

81 Michael Barry, CAN
82 Antonio Cruz, USA
83 Steffen Kjaergaard, NOR
84 Damon Kluck, USA
85 Kenny Labbe, USA
86 Max Van Heeswijk, BEL
87 Robbie Ventura, USA
88 Matt White, AUS
D.S. L. LaPage

91 Jonathan Vaughters, USA
92 Alex Candelario, USA
93 David Clinger, USA
94 John Peters, USA
95 Svein Tuft, CAN
96 Jonathan Page, USA
97 Danny Pate, USA
98 Ryan Miller, USA
99 Matt DeCanio, USA
D.S. K. Willett

101 Ben Brooks, AUS
102 Brent Dawson, AUS
103 Krik Albers, USA
104 Remi McManus, USA
105 Mark Fitzgerald, USA
106 Chris Fisher, USA
107 Brian Forbes, USA
108 Mariano Freidick, USA
109 William Steinbrecher, USA
D.S. D.VanHaute

111 Erik Saunders, USA
112 Tim Larkin, USA
113 Andrew Bajadali, USA
114 Peter Roman, USA
115 Russell Hamby, USA
116 David O' Laughlin, IRL
117 Saul Raisin, USA
118 Jackson Stewart, USA
119 Jonathan Erdelyi, USA
D.S. R. Zellner

121 Jeff Hopkins, AUS
122 Cesar Calle Grajales, COL
123 Jesse Lawler, USA
124 Jonny Sundt, USA
125 Chad Hartley, USA
126 Jake Rosenberger, USA
D.S. M. Rice

131 Nieko Biskner, USA
132 Matt Dubberley, USA
133 Andy Jacques Maynes, USA
134 Ben Jacques Maynes, USA
135 Jason Klikna, USA
136 Troy White, USA
137 Todd Littlehales, USA
138 Daniel Ramsey, USA
139 Chris Baumann, USA
D.S. M. Neel

142 Chann McRae, USA
143 Jason Bausch, USA
144 Jacob Erker, CAN
145 Cameron Hughes, AUS
146 Peter Knudsen, USA
147 Adam Livingston, USA
148 Rigoberto Meza, MEX
149 Aaron Olson, USA
D.S. F. Andreu

151 Cezary Zemana, POL
152 Zbigniew Piatek, POL
153 Aleksander Klimienko, POL
154 Marcin Lewandowski, POL
155 Kazimierz Stafiej, POL
156 Adam Wadecki, POL
157 Bartosz Huzarski, POL
D.S. P. Kosmala

161 Steve Larsen, USA
162 Ted Huang, USA
163 James Mattis, USA
164 Lionel Syne, BEL
165 Jeff Auermann, USA
166 Dario Falquier, USA
167 John Kelly, USA
168 Dave Wyndt, USA
169 Ben Stafford, USA
D.S. F. Scioscia

171 John Hamblen, USA
172 Scottie Weiss, USA
173 Jacob Fetty, USA
174 Michael Jones, USA
175 Wesley Seigler, USA
176 Benjamin Sharp, USA
177 Conor Hurley, USA
178 David Wegner, USA
179 Patrick O' Donnell, USA
D.S. G. Cook

181 Matt Hawkins, USA
182 Eneas Fryre, USA
183 Marco Aledia, USA
184 Bill Innes, USA
185 Andrew Crater,USA
186 Joe Chapman, NZL
187 Leigh Palmer, AUS
188 Adrian Laidler, AUS
189 Nic Brown, AUS
D.S. J. Holmes

191 Larry Perera, USA
192 Adam Hodges Myerson, USA
193 Josh Beck, USA
194 Ryan Dewald, USA
195 Matthew Svatek, USA
196 Nathan Rouse, USA
197 Simon Kessler, RSA
198 Ross Krause, USA
199 Guillaume Nelessen, USA
D.S. W. Laudien

201 Gustavo Artacho, ARG
202 Gregory Wolf, USA
203 Michael Luther, USA
204 Shawn Willard, USA
205 Roger Rillinng, USA
206 Karl Bordine, USA
207 Tyler Wren, USA
208 Nathan Russell, AUS
209 Sebastian Alexander, ARG
D.S. J. Profaci

Related Articles
Wachovia Cycling Series: Trenton
Wachovia Cycling Series: The 2003 US PRO

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |