Search the news archive:
Cipollini does it again and wins Gent-Wevelgem
By Celine Tytgadt
Date: 4/10/2002
Cipollini does it again and wins Gent-Wevelgem
Gent-Wevelgem, edition 2002 has been won by Cipollini in a print with five. Rodriguez came in second, while Hincapie (winner in 2001) filled the lowest spot on the podium. Van Dijck came fourth and Hvaijsta finished last of the five leaders.

AT 60 km from the finish a leading group of 21 riders formed: Klier, Zabel, Hunter, Hincapie, Boonen, Gardeyn, Vierhouten, Museeuw, De Clercq, Hvastija, McEwen, Rodriguez, Knaven, Cretskens, Vansevenant, Van Dijck, Van Hyfte, Hofman, Cipollini, Nazon and Pencolé. As Rabobank, Alessio, Fassa Bortolo and Lampre didn't have any men up front, they chased the leaders, but without any results.

On the Monteberg Pencolé, Van Dijck and Rodriguez took a little advantage, but Pencole got dropped quite quickly. Hincapie, Cipollini and Hvaijsta one by one joined the two leaders.

Hincapie and Cipollini were the two riders that looked the strongest, but some were wondering if Cipollini was still strong enough after the jump he made. Their lead got up to over a minute, but that was enough for them to fight it out in a sprint.

In the final km, the leaders had the wind in their advantage and one after another tried to shake off his companions, but nobody managed to escape. Cipollini beat them all quite easily in the sprint as expected.

Related Articles

64th Gent-Wevelgem (1.HC)

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |