Search the news archive:
Omloop Het Volk - Reactions - Results
By Podofdonny
Date: 3/1/2003
Omloop Het Volk - Reactions - Results

Omloop Het Volk - Reactions

Johan Museeuw (Quick Step-Davitamon)

"I am 37 years old, but in this team I feel twenty years old. We resolutely took the initiative, and the consequences which rose from it. We have already begun to reap the rewards of aii our efforts. We had four men in the leading group, then two with Van Heeswijk in the last few kilometers where Bettini enormously helped me. This is the proof that Vandenbroucke is back, Boonen is my successor, and Museeuw is not yet worn out just yet!"


Wilfried Peeters (directeur sportif Quick Step- Davitamon)

“With four riders finishing in the top five it's difficult to think of a better scenario. I was so nervous. We had four riders in the leading group of seven men. We could not lose this race. The pressure was enormous. But the team is in form, that is the very least I can say."

Frank Vandenbroucke (4th Quick Step-Davitamon)

"I felt strong, like all the team today. I know that I am not yet at 100 PC, but I all the same I could play a part in the race. It is a good omen. Especially from the point of view of the very next race. It has been a collective victory today."

Patrick Lefevere (General Manager Quick Step)

"We worked very hard to set up a very powerful Quickstep team. And this work is rewarded. What we saw today, it is what I want to see all the season. Johan (Museeuw) was again phenomenal. At 37 years, he shows an extraordinary desire. He is the model of professionalism. But what has given me most satisfaction today is the return to the front of the peloton of Frank Vandenbroucke. He rode with great confidence today. He needed this ride to reassure him, he has worked hard these last few months and deserves to be amongst the first places of the peloton".

Max Van Heeswijk (2nd) (US Postal presented by Berry Floor)

"I worked in the lead group with Paolo Bettini and Johan Museeuw but I only used about 80 percent effort. I was trying to save myself because I knew that one of the two was going to attack. I chased down Museeuw once but I did not see his second attack coming because I was at the front of the group and obviously, Bettini did not work with me then. At this time, I was starting to get cramp and it became very difficult. Johan (Museeuw) had already worn me out."

Tony Bracke (Escapee) (Landbouwkrediet-Colnago):

"I have worked hard in the winter and at the start of the season, so I started the race in good condition. This season, I want to prove that I am worthy to be a professional rider because I believe that it is my last chance."

Marc Sergeant (D.S Lotto-Domo)

"There is not a great a deal to say about our performance today. Van Petegem had his chance but there was not really enough agreement in the second group. It astonished me that Quick-Step could have 6 men in front. The superiority and the shape of this team are astonishing and it was not the case ith my team."

Alex Pedersen (D.S. CSC)

"I am not making any excuses but we were not exactly chased by luck today. Tristan Hoffman was very strong but he went off his bike on the second to last cobblestone section. Geert van Bondt and Andrea Tafi crashed at the base of the Muur climb in Geerardsbergen and we were never able to recover from those setbacks and make the intended impact on the race. We cannot be satisfied with having three riders in the main group that reached the line after the frontrunners. Still, there are other races and I am sure that we will be back with a vengeance in the coming races”.

58th Omloop Het Volk - 1.1 Results

1 Johan Museeuw (Bel) Quick Step-Davitamon 5.01.15 (39.83 km/h)

2 Max van Heeswijk (Ned) US Postal presented by Berry Floor 0.14

3 Paolo Bettini (Ita) Quick Step-Davitamon

4 Frank Vandenbroucke (Bel) Quick Step-Davitamon 1.33

5 Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick Step-Davitamon

6 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 2.36

7 Peter Farazijn (Bel) Cofidis

8 Romans Vainsteins (Lat) Sidermec 3.32

9 Gabriele Balducci (Ita) Sidermec

10 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Lotto-Domo

11 Kim Kirchen (Lux) Fassa Bortolo

12 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) AG2R-Prévoyance

13 Remco van der Ven (Ned) Bankgiroloterij

14 Gianluca Bortolami (Ita) Sidermec

15 René Haselbacher (Aut) Gerolsteiner

16 Peter Van Petegem (Bel) Lotto-Domo

17 Sébastien Hinault (Fra) Crédit Agricole

18 Bernhard Eisel (Aut)

19 Andrea Ferrigato (Ita) Alessio

20 Fabio Sacchi (Ita) Saeco

21 André Korff (Ger) Team Coast

22 Allan Johansen (Den) Team fakta

23 Jacky Durand (Fra)

24 Johan Dekkers (Bel) Marlux-Wincor Nixdorf

25 Roy Sentjens (Ned) Rabobank

26 Aart Vierhouten (Ned) Lotto-Domo

27 Tony Bracke (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago

28 Manuel Quinziato (Ita) Lampre

29 Bobbie Traksel (Ned) Rabobank

30 Sebastian Lang (Ger) Gerolsteiner

31 Viatcheslav Ekimov (Rus) US Postal presented by Berry Floor

32 Jörg Ludewig (Ger) Saeco

33 Fabio Baldato (Ita) Alessio

34 Christophe Mengin (Fra)

35 Erki Putsep (Est) Ag2r-Prevoyance

36 Wilfried Cretskens (Bel) Quick Step-Davitamon

37 Gerben Lowik (Ned) BankGiroLoterij

38 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Crédit Agricole

39 Magnus Backstedt (Swe) Team fakta

40 Nick Nuyens (Bel) Quick Step-Davitamon

41 Andy Flickinger (Fra) AG2R-Prévoyance

42 Alessandro Cortinovis (Ita) Lampre

43 Antonio Cruz (USA) US Postal presented by Berry Floor

44 Matthé Pronk (Ned) Bankgiroloterij

45 Stijn Devolder (Bel) Vlaanderen-T Interim

46 Davide Bramati (Ita) Quick Step-Davitamon

47 Lars Bak (Den) Team fakta

48 Andrey Kashechkin (Kaz) Quick Step-Davitamon

49 Tristan Hoffman (Ned) Team CSC

50 Chris Peers (Bel) Cofidis

51 Jean-Patrick Nazon (Fra) Jean Delatour

52 Nico Mattan (Bel) Cofidis

53 Paul Van Hyfte (Bel) Team CSC

54 Kai Hundertmarck (Ger) Team Telekom

55 Dave Bruylandts (Bel) Marlux-Wincor Nixdorf

56 Geert Verheyen (Bel) Marlux-Wincor Nixdorf

57 Benoit Joachim (Lux) US Postal presented by Berry Floor

58 Serge Baguet (Bel) Lotto-Domo

59 Christopher Jenner (Fra) Crédit Agricole

60 Robert Sassone (Fra) Cofidis

61 Michael Skelde (Den) Team fakta

62 Rolf Aldag (Ger) Team Telekom

63 Hans De Clercq (Bel) Lotto-Domo

64 Oscar Freire (Spa) Rabobank

65 Jan Boven (Ned) Rabobank

66 Janek Tombak (Est) Cofidis

67 Dario Pieri (Ita) Saeco

68 Daniele Nardello (Ita) Team Telekom

69 Enrico Cassani (Ita) Alessio

70 Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) Team CSC

71 Gianluca Sironi (Ita) Sidermec

72 Glenn D'Hollander (Bel) Lotto-Domo 6.30

73 Kristof Trouve (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop

74 Pieter Vries (Ned) BankGiroLoterij

75 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Fassa Bortolo

76 Johan Verstrepen (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago

77 Cristian Pepoli (Ita) Saeco

78 Yuriy Krivtsov (Oek) Jean Delatour

79 Bruno Thibout (Fra) Jean Delatour

80 Stéphane Berges (Fra) AG2R-Prévoyance

81 Christophe Edaleine (Fra) Jean Delatour

Results courtesy of de wielersite.

Photos courtesy of Please visit this wonderful site for more pictures of this weekend's Belgian racing!

Related Articles
Omloop Het Volk - Latest News!
58th Omloop Het Volk - LIVE - It's the Lion of Flanders!

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |