Search the news archive:
Track - Six Days of Munich: Preview
By Fabio
Date: 11/7/2002
Track - Six Days of Munich: Preview

No more than 48 hours after the end of both the Dortmund and Grenoble contests, whose details and complete results are available in the links at the bottom of the page, the Track Cycling circus moves into south-east Germany: on Thursday evening (CET), the 39th edition of the "Munich Six Days" is set to get underway in the "Olympiapark" velodrome of the Bavarian capital.

With all due respect to all other similar events disputed so far in the 2002-2003 season, we can say that the Munich Six looks like being the most interesting one, thanks to its high class field of participants. Winners of all three Six Day races held in Europe during the last month will face each other as well as eleven more teams.

Amsterdam's heroes Slippens and Stam will be up against recently crowned winners of the Dortmund (Germany's Kappes and Beikirch) and Grenoble (40-year-old Adriano Baffi and fellow italian Marco Villa) races.

But there are several more serious contenders to receive final honors on the next Tuesday night. Starting from Switzerland's Bruno Risi and Kurt Betschart, who will try to set the new Six Day wins record (so far they are equalled with Germans Gustav Kilian and Heinz Vopel with set the record in 1951, both pairs with 29 victories in this kind of races) after their failed attempt in Dortmund, where the "Alpenexpress" took third place only.

And there are many hopes of an Australian win too: Scott Mc Grory (fourth place getter in the "Westfalenhalle" two days ago) will find back his "historical" team-mate Matt Gilmore, fifth-placed when paired to Marty Nothstein in Dortmund. Stuart O'Grady will be riding together with another excellent (when he was competing on the road) sprinter, and even better six-day specialist, Italy's Silvio Martinello, who also happens to be the reigning champion of this competition.

As to Nothstein himself, the man will set up an Anglo-American duo along with Britain's Brad Wiggins, and try to improve last year's 14th place.

The full list of the participating teams is as follows:

1. Stuart O'Grady (AUS) - Silvio Martinello (ITA)

2. Andreas Kappes - Andreas Beikirch (GER)

3. Scott McGrory (AUS) - Matthew Gilmore (BEL)

4. Bradley Wiggins (GBR) - Marty Nothstein (USA)

5. Bruno Risi - Kurt Betschart (SWI)

6. Stefan Steinweg - Erik Weispfennig (GER)

7. Robert Slippens - Danny Stam (HOL)

8. Jimmy Madsen (DEN) - Thorsten Rund (GER)

9. Adriano Baffi - Marco Villa (ITA)

10. Andreas Müller - Guido Fulst (GER)

11. Lars Teutenberg - Frank Kowatschitsch (GER)

12. Gerd Dörich - Mario Vonhof (GER)

13. Jens Lehmann - Ronnie Laucke (GER)

14. Lorenzo Lapage (BEL) - Christian Lademann (GER)

The most excellent absentee will definitely be Erik Zabel, winner of last year's contest, but now still recovering after a demanding road season. Also Rolf Aldag will miss the race in spite of the very good form he displayed in Dortmund, when the German took second after surrendering the leadership only in the very final part of the ultimate night.

Below are last year's complete Final Standings, and a list of the most recent winners of the Munich Six:

1. Erik Zabel (GER) - Silvio Martinello (ITA) - 392 Points

2. Bruno Risi - Kurt Betschart (SWI) - 379 Points

3. Scott McGrory (AUS) - Matthew Gilmore (BEL) - 316 Points / + 1 lap

4. Andreas Kappes - Andreas Beikirch (GER) - 258 Points / + 2 laps

5. Robert Slippens - Danny Stam (HOL) - 214 Points / + 6 laps

6. Adriano Baffi - Marco Villa (ITA ) - 157 Points / + 7 laps

7. Jimmi Madsen (DEN) - Stefan Steinweg (GER) - 139 Points / + 8 laps

8. Lars Teutenberg - Thorsten Rund (GER) - 67 Points / + 14 laps

9. Etienne de Wilde - Frank Korvers (BEL) - 80 Points / + 16 laps

10. Jens Lehmann - Guido Fulst (GER) - 124 Points / + 27 laps

11. Gerd Dörich - Mario Vonhof (GER) - 127 Points / + 29 laps

12. Franz Stocher (AUT) - Lorenzo Lapage (BEL) - 51 Points / + 40 laps

13. Erik Weisspfennig - Frank Kowatschitsch (GER) - 75 Points / + 45 laps

14. Robert Sassone (FRA) - Marty Nothstein (USA) - 86 Points / + 49 laps

Munich Six Days - Latest Winners (Since 1993):

1993: Bruno Risi - Kurt Betschart (SWI);

1994: Bruno Risi - Kurt Betschart (SWI);

1995: Erik Zabel (GER) - Etienne De Wilde (BEL);

1996: Adriano Baffi - Giovanni Lombardi (ITA);

1997: Bruno Risi - Kurt Betschart (SWI);

1998: Bruno Risi - Kurt Betschart (SWI);

1999: Andreas Kappes (GER) - Silvio Martinello (ITA);

2000: Bruno Risi - Kurt Betschart (SWI);

2001: Erik Zabel (GER) - Silvio Martinello (ITA)

But the "clash of titans" will not be limited to the main competition: Australian sensations Sean Eadie and Jobie Dajka, both World Champions, and both winners in Grenoble on Tuesday (the former in the Scratch race - the latter in Keirin) will battle each other and Germans René Wolff and Jens Fiedler in the Sprinters competition.

Another contest is set to take place in the "Olympiapark" too: the "Under 23 Franziskaner Rad Open" will be involving young guns (15 teams) from different European countries, including current reigning continental Champions Laurent d’Olivier and Said Haddou (France), who competed aginst the "big guns" in Grenoble, and finished in tenth place, 33 laps behind the Italian winners.

The "Daily Peloton" will provide you with all news and results of the event, but the ones in Europe able to receive the "Bayerischer Ründfunk" TV Channel (either with an analogue or Satellite receiver) are also given the chance to watch part of the action live: according to German paper "Süddeutsche Zeitung", the Bavarian Tv station will be airing the very ultimate part of the race on Tuesday (November the 12th) at about 1125 PM (Central European Time).

---- Track Cycling on the "Daily Peloton" - Links ----

* Night 1 - Results & GC
* Night 2 - Results & GC
* Night 3 - Results & GC
* Day 4 - Results & GC
* Night 5 - Results & GC
* Night 6 - Final Results

* Night 1 - Results & GC
* Night 2 - Results & GC
* Night 3 - Results & GC
* Day 4 - Results & GC
* Night 5 - Results & GC
* Night 6 - Final Results

* Six days; history relived (Final Standings)

Track Cycling - 2002/2003 Season Calendar (Updated)

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |