Search the news archive:
Pearl Izumi Tour Series - Final
By Mark Sharon
Date: 6/14/2014
Pearl Izumi Tour Series - Final
Untitled Document

13 June, 2014

Pearl Izumi Tour Series - Week 5

TheTour Series came to a an exciting conclusion on the Channel Island of Jersey on Friday with Rapha Condor JLT crowned Pearl Izumi Tour Series champions for 2014.

The boys in black had led the series since Round Two in Barrow and while they were chased hard by Madison Genesis and Raleigh they put in a dogged defence in front of a large crowd along the harbour front in Gorey.

The individual honours on the night though went to Madison Genesis' Tom Stewart with a solo win. Stewart was part of a ten rider group who worked their way clear early on around Gorey's fast, but technical circuit. Repeated attacks from the leader's failed to stay away, until Stewart's move approaching the hour mark saw him rapidly build a 16-second advantage he would hold to the finish.

Tow Stewart Mark Sharon

Node4 Velosure's George Harper took on the responsibilty of leading the chase in a repeat of his performance in Woking on the Tuesday, but come the final sprint along Gorey's coast road it was Morgan Kniesky edging Ed Clancy for second spot. Harper claimed fourth before fifth for Alex Paton, after another impressive ride by the Pedal Heaven Colbornes rider, and Guernsey's Tobyn Horton sixth, in what was the closest the Channel Islander gets to a home round.

Le Tour of Britain

Kristian House leads the chase in Gorey Mark Sharon

Stewart's win helped Madison Genesis to their fourth team win of the 2014 Pearl Izumi Tour Series, with Node4 Velosure coming second thanks to top 10's from Harper and Rob Partridge.
Rapha Condor JLT took third on the night to finish the Series with six team wins, their best ever haul in a season, while the young Great Britain academy team were celebrating having come out on top of the three-way battle for the wooden spoon, which went, narrowly, to Pedal Heaven Colbornes, in their debut season.

The final Costa Express Fastest Lap of the year went to a Great Britain rider too, with youngster Germain Burton following up on his seventh place in the hill climb with the fastest individual race lap.

Le Tour of Britain

John Herety is given a champagne by Rapha Condor JLT Celebrate Mark Sharon

Le Tour of Britain

Rapha Condor JLT Celebrate Mark Sharon

Earlier in the afternoon Rapha Condor JLT took the hill climb team result, though with Frenchman Matthieu Boulo giving Team Raleigh the individual win.

Tour Series Dates and Venues

Round One Tuesday 13 May Stoke-on-Trent
Round Two Thursday 15 May BAE Systems Barrow
Round Three Tuesday 20 May Peterborough
Round Four Friday 23 May Aberystwyth
Round Five Tuesday 27 May Durham
Round Six Thursday 29 May Edinburgh
Round Seven Tuesday 3 June Redditch
Round Eight Thursday 5 June Canary Wharf
Round Nine Tuesday 10 June Woking
Round Ten Friday 13 June Gorey, Jersey

Results for Round Ten - Final Round

Round Ten Criterium Team Result
1) Madison Genesis
2) Node4 Velosure
3) Rapha Condor JLT
4) Team Raleigh
5) Great Britain
6) Pedal Heaven Colbornes
7) NFTO Pro Cycling
8) Starley Primal Pro Cycling
9) Metaltek Kuota

Round Ten Criterium Individual Result
1) Tom Stewart, GBR, Madison Genesis
2) Morgan Kniesky, GBR, Team Raleigh
3) Ed Clancy, GBR, Rapha Condor JLT
4) George Harper, GBR, Node4 Velosure
5) Alex Paton, GBR, Pedal Heaven Colbornes
6) Tobyn Horton, GBR, Madison Genesis
7) Jon Mould, GBR, NFTO Pro Cycling
8) George Atkins, GBR, Team Raleigh
9) Rob Partridge, GBR, Node4 Velosure
10)Kristian House, GBR, Rapha Condor JLT

Final Overall Team Standings, post-Round Ten
1) Rapha Condor JLT, 126pts
2) Madison Genesis, 110pts
3) Team Raleigh, 95pts
4) NFTO Pro Cycling, 84pts
5) Node4 Velosure, 81pts
6) Metaltek Kuota, 50pts
7) Great Britain, 47pts
8) Starley Primal Pro Cycling, 46pts
9) Pedal Heaven Colbornes, 45pts

Final Overall Sprint Standings, post-Round Ten
1) Jon Mould, GBR, NFTO Pro Cycling, 79pts
2) Kristian House, GBR, Rapha Condor JLT, 62pts
3) Graham Briggs, GBR, Rapha Condor JLT, 45pts
4) Tom Scully, NZL, Madison Genesis, 40pts
5) Mike Northey, NZL, Madison Genesis, 26pts

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |