Search the news archive:
Dana Pont Grand Prix 2014
By Mark Sharon
Date: 5/7/2014
Dana Pont Grand Prix 2014
Untitled Document

7 May 2014

Report by Evan Fabricant

Daniel Holloway and Shelby Reynolds too the honours at teh Men's and Women's Pro races at the Dana Point Grand Prix this last weekend. 

The eighth annual Dana Point Grand Prix, one of 20 on the U.S. National Criterium Calender, was held on May 4, 2014 in Dana Point, California. The 13 race categories included both men and women, amateurs and professionals, and a children’s race.

The final race, the John Johnson Pro NRC category, was named for a former pro cyclist who succumbed to mesothelioma. John Johnson’s family was on hand to support the event, and his son Michael Johnson, raced in 3 categories.

The women’s race brought roughly 35 women out to compete.  Just after the leaders crossed the finish line, there was a crash near the finish line, in which five female riders were injured. Three were transferred to a hospital in nearby Mission Viejo, and one was kept overnight for observation.  The crash caused a delay in the start time for the last four races of the day, but they were completed without any other major incidents.

Photography by Dana Gardner

Shelby Reynolds, Monster Media Racing Team, on the second to last lap of the race © Dana Garnder

The women's category chases Shelby Reynolds. © Dana Garnder

Monster Media's Shelby Reynolds claims victory in the women's category. © Dana Garnder

A crash at the finish of the women's race sends three racers to the hospital. © Dana Garnder

Monster Media Pro-1 racers warm up together on the alleys before their race. © Dana Garnder

Steve Brown, Engine 11, wins the Men's Cat 4 race © Dana Garnder

Rahsaan Bahati and Michael Johnson get ready for the John Johnson Pro NRC race. © Dana Garnder

Michael Johnson, Monster Media, stays safe in the  middle of the group.  This is his third race of the day © Dana Garnder

The men's Pro-1 group in Dana Point, CA © Dana Garnder

The Men's Pro-1 group take the last corner of the circuit © Dana Garnder

Pro Race Results


  1. Daniel Holloway, Athlete Octane Cycling
  2. Luke Keough, UCI PCT/WPT: UnitedHealthcare
  3. Fabrizio Vonnacher, KHS-Maxxis-JAKR

RESULTS Women Pro 1-2-3

  1. Shelby Reynolds, Monster Media Racing Team
  2. Mary Elizabeth Maroon, TWENTY16 Pro Cycling
  3. Angelica Frayre, Southern California Velo

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |