Search the news archive:
TIBCO Dominates 2013 Womenís Prestige Series
By Imelda March
Date: 7/31/2013
TIBCO Dominates 2013 Womenís Prestige Series
TIBCO Dominates 2013 Womenís Prestige Series Takes team classification and two of three jerseys

When the dust settled after the grand finale of the 10th anniversary Womenís Prestige Cycling Series at the BMC Cascade Classic, TIBCO / To the Top had completed a near-clean sweep.

TIBCO / To the Top won the team classification of the 2013 Series in impressive fashion, beating second place Optum p/b Kelly Benefits Strategies by almost 500 points (1,118 vs. 626). Contributing to the TIBCO total was Shelley Olds win at the Nature Valley Grand Prix and TIBCO placing four riders in the top ten at Cascade.

Claudia Haeusler (TIBCO) claimed the Individual classification with 344 points. In a true Tour de Force, she was followed by TIBCO teammates Joanne Kiesanowski (214) and Shelley Olds (200) in second and third, respectively. Haeusler also holds a commanding, probably insurmountable, lead in the USA Cycling National Racing Calendar, a testament to the outstanding season that this 27-year old rider who hails from Munich, Germany, is having.

Kiesanowski also took the Series Sprinterís jersey with 308 points, but TIBCO didnít dominate this classification. There was a virtual tie for Optum p/b Kelly Benefits Strategies teammates Jade Wilcoxson and Leah Kirchmann, with Wilcoxson edging Kirchmann by a mere 4 points (264 vs. 260).

"The Women's Prestige Cycling Series was one of our season goals", said Linda Jackson, owner of Team TIBCO / To the Top. "Winning the team, individual and sprint classifications helps to validate all of the hard work that we've been doing. It was a huge team effort, and I want to thank Manel (Lacambra) especially for all of the great work he has done with our athletes this year."

The only classification that TIBCO didnít dominate was the Best Young Rider, which was won by Optumís Denise Ramsden (274 points), who beat teammate Kirchmann by 10 points and TIBCOís Jasmin Glaesser by 40 points.

The Redlands Classic (April 4 Ė 7) was the first stop on the tenth anniversary edition of the Women's Prestige Cycling Series, which continued at the Nature Valley Grand Prix in Minnesota (June 12-16). The Series has concluded with the Bend Memorial Clinic Cascade Cycling Classic (July 16-21) in Oregon. The Series is funded by the participating events, with jerseys donated by Champion Systems.

About the Women's Prestige Cycling Series The Womenís Prestige Cycling Series, now in its tenth year, is the only national-level competition produced by women for women. Its goal is to promote womenís cycling by giving them a spotlight that they donít have to share with the men. The Series origin can be traced back to a discussion at the 2003 Women's Cycling Summit Conference, held at the Nature Valley Grand Prix. Since then, more than 30 teams have participated in some of the United States' top races from coast to coast.

About the USA Cycling National Racing Calendar Entering its 17th season in 2013, the USA Cycling National Racing Calendar (NRC) is a road cycling series sanctioned by USA Cycling. It is designed to provide a ranking system for all elite-level cyclists, both amateur and professional, through participation in the nationís premier cycling events.


Support the Daily Peloton

Celebrating our 11th year!

Related Articles
Giro Rosa Tech Gallery: Claudia Hauslerís road machine
Giro Rosa: Mara Abbott stole the reign from Marianne Vos
Giro Rosa: Marianne Vos wins Stage VII

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |