Search the news archive:
2012 Road World Championships - Valkenburg: TTT Elite Women
By Bart Hazen
Date: 9/16/2012
2012 Road World Championships - Valkenburg: TTT Elite Women

2012 Road World Championships - Valkenburg: TTT Elite Women
Team Specialized-Lululemon wins inaugural Team Time Trial at the World Championships in Valkenburg. German based team 24 seconds faster than Orica-AIS. AA Drink rounds off podium.

Team Specialized-Lululemon won the inaugural Women's Team Time Trial World Championships race in Limburg, Holland on Sunday. Over the 34km hilly course that finished after the top of the Cauberg, the team clocked a time of 46'31" with a 24" seconds over Orica Green Edge. AA Drink finished in third followed by Rabobank and RusVelo. The Rabobank had a lot ofbad luck during the TTT with first a mechanical of Pauline Ferrand Prevot and later a crash involving Ferrand Prevot and Iris Slappendel. The latter one has been transported to hospital were they diagnosed a broken collarbone.

Specialized-Lululemon on their way to the first World title in the TTT for brand teams. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

"We're very excited," said Team Director Ronny Lauke. "This has been a goal for us since it was announced last year and it's really nice that we have been able to make it happen."

"I knew we were going to be successful when we had a visualization session with the girls before the start," said Evelyn Stevens. "We visualized the start area like a canon shooting us out, and the top of the Cauberg sucking us in. We finished the session with 'Namaste Bitches.'"

Ina-Yoko Teutenberg joked "It was all me. I made up those ten seconds with my pull into the Cauberg. Who says this is a team time trial."

Trixi Worrack finished with a profound statement, "Cheers big ears."

Orica-AIS powered to the silver medal. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

1 Team Specialized - Lululemon 0:46:31.60
Charlotte Becker (Ger)
Amber Neben (USA)
Evelyn Stevens (USA)
Ina Teutenberg (Ger)
Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned)
Trixi Worrack (Ger)

2 Orica - AIS 0:00:24.19
Judith Arndt (Ger)
Shara Gillow (Aus)
Loes Gunnewijk (Ned)
Melissa Hoskins (Aus)
Alexis Rhodes (Aus)
Linda Melanie Villumsen (NZl)

3 AA Drink - Leontien.Nl Cycling Team 0:01:59.32
Chantal Blaak (Ned)
Lucinda Brand (Ned)
Jessie Daams (Bel)
Sharon Laws (GBr)
Emma Pooley (GBr)
Kirsten Wild (Ned)

AA Drink took the bronze medal. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

4 Rabobank Women Cyclng Team 0:02:20.40
5 RusVelo 0:02:30.58
6 Be Pink 0:03:14.80
7 S.C. Michela Fanini Rox 0:04:37.26
8 Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team 0:04:38.04
9 Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam 0:05:00.17
10 Lotto Belisol Ladies 0:05:31.99

The podium. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

11 Skil Argos 0:05:33.31
12 Sengers Ladies Cycling Team 0:05:45.91

Celebrating our tenth year!

Help Support the Daily Peloton

Related Articles
2012 Brainwash Ladies Tour: Stage 1 - 3
2012 Brainwash Ladies Tour: Stage 4-6

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |