Search the news archive:
Who Is Awarded Lance Armstrong's Major Victories?
By Luke Allingham
Date: 8/24/2012
Who Is Awarded Lance Armstrong's Major Victories?
Who is awarded Lance Armstrong major victories, which include all seven Tour de France victories, victories at Criterium du Dauphine, Tour de Suisse, and other top-notch races. Below we have compiled a list of the new winners of the major races that Lance Armstrong won from August, 1998 to 2010 when he retired. According to USADA, all of Armstrong's results since August of 1998 will be annulled.

Tour de France: 1999-2005

1999: Alex Zülle, who raced with Banesto during the 1999 Tour de France, would be named or awarded the 1999 Tour de France champion or title when Lance Armstrong is stripped of all seven Tour. Fernando Escartín would be move to second overall at the 1999 podium while Laurent Dufaux rounds out the podium in 3rd after Armstrong loses his titles.

2000: German Jan Ullrich would be awarded the 2000 Tour de France title. Joseba Beloki moves from 3rd place to 2nd place overall at the 2000 Tour whilst Christophe Moreau moves from 4th to 3rd overall to round out the overall podium.

2001: Jan Ullrich would be given the 2001 Tour as well, claiming yet another Tour victory when Armstrong is stripped. Joseba Beloki moves into 2nd at the 2001 Tour while Andrei Kivilev rounds out the third place on the podium.

2002: Joseba Beloki would be awarded his first ever Tour victory when Armstrong is stripped. Raimondas Rumsas moves from third to second whilst Santiago Botero moves up from 4th to 3rd.

2003: Jan Ullrich would be awarded his 3rd Tour de France from the Armstrong doping case, claiming 3 of 7 Tour's that Armstrong was awarded on the road. Alexandre Vinkourov moves from 3rd to 2nd and Tyler Hamilton, who has admitted doping in 2011 would be awarded 3rd place.

2004: Andreas Kloden, who currently races with RadioShack-Nissan, would be awarded his first career Tour de France if and when Armstrong is stripped. Ivan Basso would be awarded 2nd place with Jan Ullrich in 3rd.

2005: Italian Ivan Basso would be awarded the 2005 Tour de France with Francisco Mancebo moving into second overall and Alexnadre Vinkourov slots into 3rd overall.

Tour de Suisse - 2001: Gilberto Simoni would be crowned the 2001 Tour de Suisse winner after Armstrong is stripped. Wladimir Belli and Beat Zberg move up into 2nd and 3rd.

Critérium du Dauphiné Libéré - 2002-2003::

2002: Floyd Landis, who has admitted doping in his career, would be crowned the winner of the 2002 Critérium du Dauphiné Libéré. Christophe Moreau moves into 2nd overall in the race while Haimar Zubeldia moves into third.

2003: Iban Mayo would become the official winner of the 2003 Critérium du Dauphiné Libéré while David Millar and Francisco Mancebo becoming 2nd and 3rd overall.

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |