Search the news archive:
2012 Dutch National Road Championships: Elite-Women
By Bart Hazen
Date: 6/25/2012
2012 Dutch National Road Championships: Elite-Women

2012 Dutch National Road Championships: Elite-Women
Annemiek van Vleuten powers to first national title. Defending champion Marianne Vos second in her first race back after her collarbone fracture. Lucinda Brand third. Photos..

Annemiek van Vleuten (Rabobank) took her first ever national road title at the Dutch championships in Kerkrade. Van Vleuten dominated the race from the start to win with a small margin over last year's winner Marianne Vos who returned in competition after recovering from a collarbone fracture. The podium was completed by AA's Lucinda Brand. Amy Pieters and Sanne van Paassen rounded out the top five. Only 25 riders finished the race due to the hilly course.

Annemiek van Vleuten takes her first ever national title. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

The race over 11 laps (114 km in total) with in each lap 4 climbs making it a total of 44 climbs was fast from the beginning. Already in the first lap six riders powered away on one of first climbs. The six Annemiek van Vleuten, Marianne Vos, Amy Pieters, Adrie Visser, Lucinda Brand and Anna van der Breggen quickly gathered a lead of 50 seconds on a chasing group with a.o. Mascha Pijnenborg, Janneke Kanis, Vera Koedooder, Iris Slappendel, Martine Bras, Sabrina Stultiens, Sanne van Paassen, Kirsten Wild, Marieke van Wanroij and Marijn de Vries.

Marianne Vos and Lucinda Brand finished in second and third. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

Lap by lap the lead of the break went up. In front Adrie Visser dropped first followed by Anna van der Breggen. Until the final four laps Van Vleuten, Vos, Brand and Pieters worked well together. Pieters was the next one to drop before Marianne Vos attacked on one of the climbs. Brand brought back Vos on top of the climb after which Van Vleuten launched her move. Brand didn't respond and Van Vleuten was away.

Van Vleuten leads Pieters, Brand and Vos. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

With less than 3 laps remaining Vos dropped Brand and went in the counter-attack on Van Vleuten. Vos was 50 seconds behind but bridged up to her teammate in the final lap. In the final 2 kilometers of the race Van Vleuten managed to get a small gap to add her first ever title to her palmares.

Marianne Vos attacks the break. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

1 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Rabobank Women Team) 3:11:14
2 Marianne Vos (Rabobank Women Team) 0:00:03
3 Lucinda Brand (AA Drink - 0:03:45
4 Amy Pieters (Skil - Argos) 0:06:21

Anna van der Breggen. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

5 Sanne Van Paassen (Rabobank Women Team) 0:09:02
6 Mascha Pijnenborg (Dolmans - Boels Cycling Team) 0:09:06
7 Anna Van Der Breggen (Sengers Ladies Cycling Team) 0:10:03
8 Janneke Kanis (Skil - Argos) 0:11:50

Annemiek van Vleuten was very strong all day. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

9 Martine Bras (Dolmans - Boels Cycling Team)
10 Iris Slappendel (Rabobank Women Team) 0:11:52
11 Vera Koedooder (Sengers Ladies Cycling Team)
12 Thalita De Jong (Rabobank Women Team)

Marianne Vos - Lucinda Brand. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

13 Jessica Glasbergen (Specialized Dpd Sram Cycling Team)
14 Marijn De Vries (AA Drink - 0:11:55
15 Rozanne Slik (Wv Noord-holland) 0:11:58
16 Petra Dijkman (Kleo Ladies Team) 0:12:02

Amy Pieters. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

17 Marieke Van Wanroij (AA Drink - 0:27:03
18 Kirsten Wild (AA Drink -
19 Anouska Koster (Dolmans - Boels Cycling Team)
20 Linda Ringlever (NWV Groningen)

Vos returned in competition after breaking her collarbone 4 weeks ago finishing in second place. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

21 Lisanne Soemanta
22 Julia Soek (Specialized Dpd Sram Cycling Team)
23 Sabrina Stultiens (Rabobank Women Team)
24 Pauliena Rooijakkers (Dolmans - Boels Cycling Team)
25 Marjolein Claessen (RSC De Zuidwesthoek)

Sanne van Paassen. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

Anna van der Breggen - Annemiek van Vleuten. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

Annemiek celebrates the win with her mother Ria. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

Lucinda Brand a happy third. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

Sanne van Paassen finished in fifth place. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

Annemiek van Vleuten. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

Mascha Pijnenborg. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

Celebrating our tenth year!

Help Support the Daily Peloton

Related Articles
2012 RaboSter Zeeuwsche Eilanden - Prologue
2012 RaboSter Zeeuwsche Eilanden - Stage 2
2012 RaboSter Zeeuwsche Eilanden - Stage 3

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |