Search the news archive:
2012 French National Time Trial Championships
By Luke Allingham
Date: 6/21/2012
2012 French National Time Trial Championships
Omega Pharma - Quick-Step rider Sylvain Chavanel won his fourth national time trial championships Thursday, claiming the victory ahead of Jérémy Roy (FDJ-BigMat) and Yoann Paillot. Chavanel was fastest at all the checkpoints over the 48.5 kilometer course. He stopped the clock with a time of 57 minutes, 34 seconds, finishing thirteen seconds ahead of Roy (57:47) and one minute, one second better than Paillot (58:35).

"The parcour was completely flat," Chavanel said in a team release. "It wasn't easy to interpretate. For the entire time trial my heartset didn't work, so I had no point of reference. In the last part I went full gas, even if in the last three kilometers I had to fight against the rain. Roy did a great race. He was strong even in Suisse. I knew he would be a competitor."

Sylvain Chavanel has won the French National Time Trial Championships four time currently in his career. The 32 year old has won in 2005, 2006, 2008 and of course 2012. Eddy Seigneur is the only other Frenchman to do so, winning in 1996, 2002, 2003, and 2004.

"I'm also happy that I reached the record of Seigneur," Chavanel continued. "But for me, the most important thing is that next week I will start at the Tour prologue with this brand new jersey. It will give me a great motivation, and I can't wait to show it off at the Tour!"

Top 5 Results
1 Sylvain CHAVANEL FRA OPQ 57:34
2 Jérémy ROY FRA FDJ +13
3 Yoann PAILLOT FRA +1:01
4 Laszlo BODROGI FRA TT1 +1:44
5 Stéphane ROSSETTO FRA +1:54

Celebrating our tenth year!

Help Support the Daily Peloton

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |