Search the news archive:
USA Cycling Names 2012 Olympic Road Team
By Staff
Date: 6/15/2012
USA Cycling Names 2012 Olympic Road Team
USA Cycling announced today both the men's and women's squad that will go to London this year and race in the 2012 Olympic road race. Sprinter Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Barracuda) and cycling veteran Chris Horner (RadioShack-Nissan) will lead the U.S squad in London as Evelyn Stevens (Specialized-Lululemon) automatically qualified to be selected for the road race.

BMC Racing's Tejay van Garderen as well as recently crowned U.S National Road Champion Timothy Duggan of Liquigas-Cannondale will join Farrar and Horner in the Olympic road race. Taylor Phinney (BMC Racing) is the fifth man on the road race team. Phinney has also been selected for the lone U.S time trial spot at this year's Olympics.

Evelyn Stevens secured an automatic selection for the 2012 Olympics after winning the 2012 edition of La Flèche Wallonne Femmes and remaining in the top ten of the women's world cup rankings. Shelley Olds (AA Drink-Leontien), as well as Kristin Armstrong (Exergy TWENTY12) and Amber Neben (Specialized-Lululemon), will join Stevens in the road race at this year's Olympics.

Kristin Armstrong and Amber Neben will not only participate in the road race, but also the time trial. Armstrong is the 2008 Olympic gold medalist and has showed her time trial dominance this season, winning all international-caliber time trials she entered.

For more information, visit USA Cycling

Celebrating our tenth year!

Help Support the Daily Peloton

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |