Search the news archive:
2012 Holland Hills Classic (1.2)
By Bart Hazen
Date: 5/25/2012
2012 Holland Hills Classic (1.2)

2012 Holland Hills Classic (1.2)
Annemiek van Vleuten wins Holland Hills Classic after epic finale. Marianne Vos ends up second with Sharon Laws in third. Vos crashed during the race. X-rays showed a broken collarbone.

Annemiek van Vleuten (Rabobank) has won the Holland Hills Classic in Valkenburg, The Netherlands. Van Vleuten was the best after an epic finale in the sprint of her teammate Marianne Vos and Sharon Laws (AA A few seconds later Emma Pooley finished in fourth. Chantal Blaak, Lucinda Brand finished in fifth and sixth at 1.47. Adrie Visser won the sprint of the bunch for seventh at 2.22 followed by Shelley Olds, Annelies van Doorslaer and Pauline Ferrand-Prevot.

Annemiek van Vleuten wins the Holland Hills Classic. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

In the 87 km race the woman had to do amongst others the famous Eyserbosweg, the Fromberg and four times the course of the World Championships in September including the Cauberg and the Bemelerberg. Like the previous editions the finish was this time not on top of the Cauberg but in the centre of Valkenburg itself.

Vos and Laws finished in second and third. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

Marianne Vos and Sharon Laws already attacked on the first climb of the day 10 km into the race. They quickly gathered a lead of up to one minute on top of the Eyserbosweg. Behind a first chasing bunch was formed in which Rabobank (Van Vleuten, Ferrand Prevot) and AA Drink (Pooley, Brand, Blaak, Daams, Olds) controlled the race.

For Van Vleuten it's another big win after winning in Roeselare and winning two stages in Luxembourg. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

In the descent of the Fromberg heading back to Valkenburg for four laps on the course of the World Championships Marianne Vos crashed. A race motor was not away fast enough after which Vos was not able to avoid the motor. Vos was able to continue and rejoined Laws after the first of four times up the Cauberg. After the race Vos went for x-rays to the hospital where they diagnosed a fracture in her right collarbone.

Vos and Laws attacked 10 km into the race. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

Vos and Laws remained together for the whole race as Vos was in serious pain on the climbs. Turning into the final time on the Worlds course the gap of the two was up to almost three minutes on the first chasing bunch. Van Vleuten and Pooley went in the counter-attack and were closing in very fast.

AA Drink and Rabobank had riders enough in the chasing bunch to control the race. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

With less than 10 km to go the gap was down to less than one minute. With 5 km to go Van Vleuten dropped Pooley and under the flamme rouge Van Vleuten bridged up to the front after which she won the race in the sprint.

Linda Ringlever attacks out of the bunch. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

1. Annemiek Van Vleuten Rabobank Women Team 02:31:18
2. Marianne Vos Rabobank Women Team zt.
3. Sharon Laws AA Drink - zt.
4. Emma Pooley AA Drink - 00:15
5. Chantal Blaak AA Drink - 01:47
6. Lucinda Brand AA Drink - zt.

Annemiek van Vleuten - Marianne Vos. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

7. Adrie Visser Skil - Argos 02:22
8. Shelley Olds AA Drink - zt.
9. Annelies Van Doorslaer Kleo Ladies Team zt.
10. Pauline Ferrand Prevot Rabobank-Giant Offroad Team zt.
11. Linda Ringlever NWV Groningen zt.
12. Annette Edmondson zt.

Jessie Daams. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

13. Kaat Hannes Lotto Belisol Ladies zt.
14. Anna Van Der Breggen Sengers Ladies Cycling Team zt.
15. Sanne Cant Boxx VeldritAcademie zt.
16. Sofie De Vuyst Lotto Belisol Ladies zt.
17. Rozanne Slik Wv Noord-holland zt.
18. Jessie Daams AA Drink - zt.

Chantal Blaak - Pauline Ferrand Prevot. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

19. Janneke Kanis Skil - Argos zt.
20. Christine Majerus Team GSD Gestion zt.
21. Roxane Knetemann Rabobank Women Team zt.
22. Eugenia Bujak zt.
23. Inge Roggeman Sengers Ladies Cycling Team zt.
24. Paulina Bentkowska-Brzezna zt.

Sanne Cant. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

25. Iris Slappendel Rabobank Women Team zt.
26. Anouska Koster Dolmans - Boels Cycling Team zt.
27. Hanna Nilsson Alriksson Go:Green zt.
28. Petra Dijkman Kleo Ladies Team zt.
29. Natalie Van Gogh Team Ibis Cycles zt.
30. Sarah-Lena Hofmann zt.

Rabobank takes a one-two. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

31. Therese Klein zt.
32. Melissa Hoskins Orica GreenEdge-AIS zt.
33. Thalita De Jong Rabobank Women Team zt.
34. Sanne Van Paassen zt.
35. Esther Olthuis Team Ibis Cycles zt.
36. Edwige Pitel Vienne Futuroscope zt.

Emma Pooley finishes in fourth place. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

37. Emilie Aubry Team GSD Gestion zt.
38. Julia Soek Wv Noord-holland zt.
39. Lisanne Soemanta zt.
40. Amy Cure zt.
41. Inge Klep RSC De Zuidwesthoek 03:42
42. Martina Thomasson Team Ibis Cycles zt.

Blaak leads Brand for fifth. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

43. Lina- Kristin Schink Team GSD Gestion zt.
44. Linda Van Rijen Skil - Argos zt.
45. Sabrina Stultiens GRC Jan Van Arckel 08:12
46. Annabel Simpson zt.
47. Jessica Glasbergen Specialized Dpd Sram Cycling Team zt.
48. Willeke Knol GRC Jan Van Arckel zt.

Vos and Laws animated the race from the beginning. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

49. Laura Turpijn Specialized Dpd Sram Cycling Team zt.
50. Esra Tromp Skil - Argos zt.
51. Aafke Eshuis Team Ibis Cycles zt.
52. Annelies Visser Cycle Sport Groningen zt.
53. Birgit Lavrijssen Sengers Ladies Cycling Team zt.
54. Sigrid Kuizenga GRC Jan Van Arckel zt.

Sanne van Paassen. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

55. Olivia Koster Specialized Dpd Sram Cycling Team zt.
56. Aagtje Dijkman WV De Noord-Westhoek zt.
57. Siobhan Horgan Team GSD Gestion zt.
58. Edyta Jasinska zt.
59. Dirkje Bazuin Restore Cycling zt.
60. Anne Aernouts Kleo Ladies Team zt.

Pauline Ferrand Prevot - Chantal Blaak. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

61. Sophie De Boer WV Schijndel zt.
62. Marissa Otten Dolmans - Boels Cycling Team zt.
63. Sara Olsson ARC Ulysses zt.
64. Emmy Thelberg zt.
65. Pauliena Rooijakkers Dolmans - Boels Cycling Team zt.
66. Charlotte Lenting NWV Groningen zt.

Chantal Blaak retained the lead in the KNWU Topcompetition - Vos crashed during the race. X-rays in hospital diagnosed a fractured collarbone. Photo 2012 Bart Hazen

67. Marie Lindberg Kleo Ladies Team zt.
68. Josie Tomic zt.
69. Nathalie Lamborelle Kleo Ladies Team zt.
70. Janneke Ensing Dolmans - Boels Cycling Team zt.
71. Hannah Welter GWC De Adelaar zt.
72. Marjolein Claessen RSC De Zuidwesthoek 10:17

Celebrating our tenth year!

Help Support the Daily Peloton

Related Articles
GP Elsy Jacobs (2.1) - Stage 2
2012 World Cup - Tour of Chongming Island
Lotto Cycling Cup : Gooik - Geraardsbergen - Gooik

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |