Search the news archive:
Tour of Borneo Announced
By Mark Sharon
Date: 11/16/2011
Tour of Borneo Announced


PUTRAJAYA, Tuesday: For the first time, an international level cycling race will be held on Borneo with the Tour of Borneo taking place in the Malaysian state of Sabah from April 27 to May 1 2012.

Organized by Sabah State Cycling Association (SCA), the five-day tour involves five stages covering a total distance of 674.4 kilometres and is listed in the UCI Asian Tour calendar.

Sanctioned by the Malaysian National Cycling Federation (MNCF) and the International Cycling Union (UCI) the race adds a new challenge to the International road race scene in Asia, and sits in the calendar along Le Tour de Langkawi and Jelajah Malaysia.

For the inaugural edition, SCA anticpates a filed comprising 20 professional teams not only from Malaysia and Asia but from Europe and America.

At the launch in Putrajaya this week, Tour of Borneo patron, the Honourable YB Datuk Seri Panglima Mohd Shafie bin Haji Apdal said expresse his hope that the Tour of Borneo will bring great success to the sports and tourism industry of Sabah and Malaysia.

“The 5 stages race beginning from 27th April will start from my beloved hometown Semporna, an idyllic district renowned for its best diving spots in the world like Sipadan, Mabul and Sitangkai.”

Le Tour de Langkawi 2012

2012 Tour of Borneo Route © Tour of Borneo 2012

"From there the riders will proceed to Tawau, Lahad Datu, and Sandakan before they face the grueling mountain highlands leading to Kundasang, the base of Mount Kinabalu, the highest mountain in South East Asia. The race will end in the West Coast of Sabah, on 1st of May 2012 covering the district of Kota Kinabalu, Papar and Penampang.”

According to Datuk Seri Shafie, other than competing for the overall title, riders would also have the opportunity to experience the uniqueness of ‘Kaamatan Festival’; which is celebrated on May 1 of every year.

INFO: Tour of Borneo 2012

27 April to 1 May 2012

Total distance: 674.4km (5 Stages)

Stage 1 - Padang Bandaran Semporna Circuit = 68km
Stage 2 - Waterfront Tawau - Lahad Datu = 143.7km
Stage 3 - Lahad Datu - Bandar Indah, Sandakan = 160.1km
Stage 4 - Sepilok, Sandakan – Hotel Perkasa, Kundasang = 211.3km
Stage 5 - Anjung Senja, Kota Kinabalu = 91.3km


2012 Tour of Borneo Official Website

Celebrating our tenth year!

Support the Daily Peloton

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |