Search the news archive:
2011Tour de Luxembourg - Prologue
By Staff
Date: 6/2/2011
2011Tour de Luxembourg - Prologue

2011Tour de Luxembourg - Prologue
Fabian Cancellara wins opening prologue to open the 76th edition of the Skoda Tour of Luxembourg...

Quadruple World Champion Time Trial Fabian Cancellara delivered another time trial victory today in the opening stage of the Skoda Tour of Luxembourg.

The five-day stage race kicked off with an evening prologue in the city center of Luxembourg. Riders faced technical turns, cobbles and a short, but steep cobbled climb, called Breedewee, 700 metres from the finish. Cancellara, the second to last rider to take the start, set a blistering time of 3’42 over the 2.6 kilometres stage averaging 42.1 km/h and passing the man in the hot seat, Damien Gaudin of Europcar, by 5 seconds.

Jimmy Engoulvent of French outfit, Saur Sojasun taking the last podium step. Roman Feillu (Vacansoleil-DCM) and Matthew Hayman of Team SKY filled out the top five both at 11 seconds off Fabulous and Fast Fabian Cancellara's time.  Cancellara as expected leads a tightly packed G.C. at the moment with 4 stages remaining.

“It’s been a long time for me since my victory in E3-prijs Harelbeke. I feel very motivated now for all that is coming,” said Cancellara. I wanted to get a personal win and a win for the team, but I especially wanted to ride the perfect race after our loss a few weeks ago. This win is for Wouter.”

“The problem with time trials is that when it’s over, you always think about what went wrong and where you lost some time,” said Cancellara. “Even when I win, like today, I always find something that I could have done better. The short effort required during a prologue like this one does not correspond with what we do during a normal race. That’s why it’s so interesting.”

Cancellara's team mate Martin Mortensen was the first rider to break the 4-minute mark. His early fast time of 3’56” kept him in the hot seat for the first third of the race. Mortensen ended the day in eighth.

Kim Andersen: “This is a good start for the team. Martin put in a great effort. And the climbers, on our team, but also the ones in the other teams, are grouped together in the GC. With the first stage behind us, we have a lot of work to do.”

Cancellara and Andersen both expressed appreciation for the support LEOPARD TREK received during the stage. Cancellara: “The people of Luxembourg are really cycling-obsessed. They are crazy about the sport in a positive way.”

Cancellara will wear the yellow jersey as the Skoda Tour of Luxembourg continues tomorrow. Stage one begins in Luxembourg-City and covers 198,2 kilometres before the finish in Bascharage. “The course is up and down all day,” noted Andersen. “It corresponds to what the geography of the country is like.”

Cancellara: “We have a really strong team here and we’re looking forward to the other stages with great anticipation.”

Skoda Tour of Luxembourg
Prolog: Luxemburg
Stage1: Luxemburg - Bascharage  198.2 km
Stage 2: Schifflingen - Differdingen 200.7 km
Stage 3: Eschweiler - Roost  185 km
Stage 4: Mersch - Luxemburg 152.1 km

Tour de Luxembourg Prologue
Result & General Classification

1.  CANCELLARA Fabian Leopard Trek LEO . - 3:42.150
2.   GAUDIN Damien Team Europcar EUC .03:47.820 - 0:05
3.   ENGOULVENT Jimmy Saur - Sojasun SAU   - 0:08

4.  FEILLU Romain Vacansoleil DCM Pro Cycling Team VAC  - 0:11
5  HAYMAN Mathew  SKY .  - 0:11

6.  CASPER Jimmy Saur - Sojasun SAU .  - 0:11
7.  BOZIC Borut Vacansoleil DCM Pro Cycling Team VAC    - 0:11
8.  MORTENSEN Martin Leopard Trek LEO .   - 0:14
9.   MANGEL Laurent Saur - Sojasun SAU .    - 0:14
10.  RAST Grégory Team Radioshack RSH   - 0:15
11. STANNARD Ian Sky Procycling SKY  - 0:15
12.  SARAMOTINS Aleksejs Cofidis, Le Credit en Ligne COF  - 0:15
13.  VAN LEIJEN Joost Vacansoleil DCM Pro Cycling Team   - 0:15
14. GENIEZ Alexandre Skil - Shimano SKS .  - 0:15
15.  BELLEMAKERS Dirk Landbouwkrediet  - 0:15
Complete Results .pdf

Tour de Luxembourg
Race Palmares
1935 - 2010

2010 Matteo Carrara
2009 Fränk Schleck
2008 Jost Posthuma
2007 Grégory Rast
2006 Christian Van De Velde
2005 Laszlo Bodrogi
2004 Maxime Monfort
2003 Thomas Voeckler
2002 Marcus Ljungqvist
2001 Jorgen Bo Pedersen
2000 Alberto Elli
1999 Marc Wauters
1998 Lance Armstrong
1997 Frank Vandenbroucke
1996 Alberto Elli
1995 Rolf Järmann
1994 Frans Maassen
1993 Maximilian Sciandri
1992 Jean-Phillipe Dojwa
1991 Gert-Jan Theunisse
1990 Christophe Lavainne
1989 Michel Cornelisse
1988 Richard Trinkler
1987 Sören Lilholt
1986 Steven Rooks
1985 Jelle Nijdam
1984 Christophe Lavainne
1983 Lucien Didier
1982 Bernard Hinault
1982 Youri Barinov
1980 Bert Oosterbosch
1979 Lucien Dider
1978 Ludo Peters
1977 Bert Pronk
1976 Frans Verbeeck
1975 Frans Verbeeck
1974 Freddy Maertens
1973 Sylvain Vasseur
1972 Roger Rosiers
1971 André Diericks
1970 Edy Schutz
1969 David Boifava
1968 Edy Schutz
1967 Frans Brands
1966 Edy Schutz
1965 Vincent Denson
1964 Arie Den Hartog
1963 Yvon Molenaers
1962 Jeff Plankaert
1961 Charly Gaul
1960 Marcel Ernzer
1959 Charly Gaul
1958 Jempy Schmitz
1957 Gerard Saint
1956 Charly Gaul
1955 Louison Bobet
1954 Jempy Schmitz
1953 Robert V. D. Stock
1952 Jean Kirchen
1951 Marcel Ernzer
1950 Isidore De Ryck
1949 Bim Diederich
1948 Jean Goldschmit
1947 Mett Clemens
1946 Brik Schotte
1939 Mett Clemens
1938 Lucien Vlaeminck
1937 Mett Clemens
1936 Mett Clemens
1935 Mett Clemens

Celebrating our 11th year!

Help Support the Daily Peloton

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |