Search the news archive:
Cyclocross GVA #2 - Koppenberg: Women & Juniors
By Bart Hazen
Date: 11/3/2010
Cyclocross GVA #2 - Koppenberg: Women & Juniors

Cyclocross Gazet van Antwerpen #2 - Koppenberg: Women & Juniors
Helen Wyman queen of the Koppenberg. British National Champion wins prestigious race. Sanne Cant and Sanne van Paassen on podium. Danny van Poppel wins juniors race.

British National Champion Helen Wyman has won the prestigious Koppenbergcross (November 1). Wyman, who took her biggest win in her career, soloed to the win after dropping Belgian Champion Sanne Cant with two laps to go. Sanne van Paassen completed the podium. Daphny van den Brand and Sophie de Boer completed the top five. In the Gazet van Antwerpen Trofee Van Paassen remains in the lead. Wyman moved up to second with Sanne Cant in third.

Helen Wyman is all smile after her win on the Koppenberg.
Photo © 2010 Bart Hazen

On a sunny day, Wyman and Cant took control of the race from the start. Van den Brand, De Boer, Van Paassen and last year's winner Havlikova couldn't follow. The latter one had to deal with mechanical problems and finished the race in 11th position. In the penultimate lap Wyman got rid of Cant after some bad luck for the Belgian youngster.

Earlier in the day the victories in the youth races went to Mathieu van der Poel (beginners) and Danny van Poppel (Juniors).

Helen Wyman on her way to her first big international win in her career
Photo © 2010 Bart Hazen

Result Elite-Women
1 Helen Wyman (GBr) 0:45:14
2 Sanne Cant (Bel) 0:00:33
3 Sanne van Paassen (Ned) 0:01:55
4 Daphny van den Brand (Ned) 0:02:37
5 Sophie De Boer (Ned) 0:03:25
6 Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) 0:04:48
7 Reza Hormes-Ravenstijn (Ned) 0:05:24
8 Nikki Harris (GBr) 0:06:01
9 Nancy Bober (Bel) 0:06:18
10 Arenda Grimberg (Ned) 0:06:40

Sanne Cant.
Photo © 2010 Bart Hazen

11 Pavla Havlikova (Cze) 0:06:47
12 Christine Vardaros (USA) 0:07:09
13 Gabby Day(GBr) 0:07:26
14 Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) 0:08:00
15 Linda van Rijen (Ned) 0:10:11
16 Helena van Leijen (Ned) 0:10:37
17 Nicole De Bie - Leyten (Bel) + 1 lap
18 Katrien Thijs (Bel)
19 Ellen Van Loy (Bel)
20 Nikoline Hansen (Den)

Christine Vardaros 12th.
Photo © 2010 Bart Hazen

21 Anja Geldhof (Bel)
22 Anja Nobus (Bel)
23 Laura Lepasalu (Est)
24 Lana Verberne (Ned) + 2 laps
25 Lija Laizane (Lat)
26 Nathalie Nijns (Bel)
27 Gertie Willems (Bel)
28 Marijke De Pauw (Bel)
29 Madara Furmane (Lat)
30 Sharon Defoor (Bel) + 3 laps
31 Maaike Lanssens (Bel)
32 Liga Šmite (Lat)

Celebrating our tenth year!

Help Support the Daily Peloton

Related Articles
UCI Cyclocross World Cup - Women Aigle, Switzerland
UCI Cyclocross World Cup Women # 2 - Plzen, Czech Republic
Cyclocross - Zonhoven: Elite Women & Juniors

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |