Search the news archive:
US World Championships Road Team Announced
By Jaime Nichols
Date: 9/11/2002
US World Championships Road Team Announced

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Sept. 10) - USA Cycling announced Tuesday it's full team of athlete nominations representing the U.S. at the 2002 World Road Cycling Championships, Oct. 8-13, in Zolder, Belgium. Thirteen discretionary nominations join the group of automatic athlete nominations announced Friday (Sept. 6) to complete the team.

The 25 athletes nominated earned their berths on the World Championships team based on winning national road competition titles earlier this season and for consistent, outstanding results in international competition. The elite men's road race team, with the largest delegation of athletes (7 men), will be led by Fred Rodriquez (Emeryville, Calif.), who rides for Domo Farm Frites. Among the riders supporting Rodriquez is Guido Trenti (Natick, Mass.) of Italian pro team Acqua e Sapone. Trenti, who is currently riding in the Vuelta a Espaņa and supported teammate Mario Cipollini to Monday's and Tuesday's stage wins, is an American pro rider who lives and trains in Italy.

"We're very pleased with the team nominations for this year's World Championships," said Steve Johnson, Chief Operating Officer and Athletic Director for USA Cycling. "Our elite men's and women's team riders like Rodriquez, Trenti, Dede Demet-Barry, Mari Holden and others bring a great deal of experience and depth to this team. And our junior riders are a strong and promising group of athletes, eager to get exposure to elite international competition."

The following athletes will represent the U.S. at the World Road Cycling Championship (event, name, hometown):

Junior Men Road Race: Josh Kerkhoff (Fort Worth, Texas), Tyler Farrar (Wenatchee, Wash.), Nathan Mitchell (Allentown, Pa.), Oliver Stiler-Cote (Arundel, Maine)

Junior Men Time Trial: Zak Grabowski (Lafayette, Colo.), Tyler Farrar

Junior Women Road Race/Junior Women Time Trial: Megan Long (Oklahoma City, Okla.), Larssyn Staley (Beaverton, Ore.)

U23 Road Race: Mark Fitzgerald (Norfolk, Va.), Jonathan Retseck (Doylestown, Pa.), Shawn Milne (Gloucester, Mass.), Mike Creed (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Will Frishkorn (Boulder, Colo.)

U23 Time Trial: Mike Creed, Will Frishkorn

Elite Women Road Race: Kimberly Bruckner (Boulder, Colo.), Amber Neben (Santa Ana, Calif.), Dede Demet-Barry (Boulder, Colo.), Laura VanGilder (Cresco, Pa.), Tina Mayola-Pic (Dahlonega, Ga.), Mari Holden (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

Elite Women's Time Trial: Kimberly Bruckner, Amber Neben

Elite Men's Road Race: Freddy Rodriguez (Emeryville, Calif.), Chris Horner (Bend, Ore.), Dylan Casey (Walnut Creek, Calif.), Mike Sayers (Sacramento, Calif.), Antonio Cruz (Long Beach, Calif.), Jeff Louder (Salt Lake City, Utah), Guido Trenti (Natick, Mass.)

Elite Men's Time Trial: Chris Horner; Dylan Casey

Jessica Phillips (Boulder, Colo.), who had earned an automatic nomination to the World Championships team, has declined to accept the nomination.

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |