Search the news archive:
2010 GMHBA Tour of Geelong - Stage 6 Report
By Chris Graetz
Date: 8/15/2010
2010 GMHBA Tour of Geelong - Stage 6 Report

2010 GMHBA Tour of Geelong - Stage 6
Joel Pearson (Genesys Wealth Advisers) and Jenny MacPherson are the 2010 Victorian Criterium Champions. Rohan Dennis won the Tour of Geelong in convincing fashion.

Joel Pearson sprinted to a strong win in Geelong this afternoon. The Genesys Wealth Advisers cyclist made use of a perfect lead-out to take victory ahead of Dale Scarfe (McDonagh Blake-Witness) and Harrif Saleh (Malaysian National Team). Rohan Dennis finished safely in the peloton to be crowned 2010 GMHBA Tour of Geelong champion.

Joel Pearson celebrating Photo © 2010 Jarrod Partridge

In atrocious weather conditions at Geelong's Eastern Gardens, the peloton faced a tough forty-five kilometre criterium. It was a fast-paced race in which there were a lot of attacks but in the end Joel Pearson claimed victory to be named the 2010 Victorian Criterium Champion.

It was a terrific win by Pearson and one which will be a huge morale booster.

'The boys were great today. They worked so hard and led me to the line well. I was feeling much better today than other days and this is a good confidence booster. I'm unsure if I'm getting back into form but the win today was great and will help and prepare me for the next race, the Tour of the Murray river,' Pearson said.

Rohan Dennis was ecstatic after claiming his first stage-race victory. Earlier in the week, Dennis was named in the Australian Under-23 squad for the World Championships. Known more as a time trialist, in which he's the current Australian under-23 champion in the discipline and a gold medalist on the track, this win marks the start of his road race career.

'Itís the first tour win of my career and hopefully thereís many more to come. This Geelong tour was good and tough. The course was excellent but really challenging,' Dennis said.

Dylan Newell (Genesys Wealth Advisers) was named the stage's most aggressive rider after attacking continuously during the race.

Rhys Pollock (Drapac Porsche) won the sprint jersey after he led the Tour for all but one day. Nathan Haas (Genesys Wealth Advisers) claimed the King of the Mountains jersey, Joseph Lewis (Drapac) won the criterium jersey and Cameron Jennings (Budget Forklifts) was named the most aggressive cyclist. Mark Isaacs (Search2Retain-Myteam2) was the best local rider.

Pat Shaw (Virgin Blue-RBS Morgans) now has a seventy-two point lead in the Scody Cup after finishing in second overall. Joseph Lewis is in second and Cameron Jennings is third. In regards to the National Road Series, Ben Dyball, Cameron Peterson and Pat Shaw, all with the Virgin Blue-RBS Morgans squad fill the top three places and with only three races left, are in a strong position.

Victorian Jenny MacPherson claimed her second consecutive Victorian Criterium Championship winning a bunch sprint earlier in the afternoon. She beat Tasmanian Emma Lawson (Lawson Homes) and Victorian Kendelle Hodges. The finish was marred by a horrific crash when approximately twelve cyclists went down after hitting a photographer standing in the middle of the road.

The pile-up left at least two girls with broken collarbones and Tasmanian Sarah Cure rushed to hospital after what looked like to be bad head/neck injuries. Sarah is the older sister of Amy who this week won three gold medals in the under-19 track cycling championships. Reports coming out of Geelong is that all girls will be fine but the extent of Sarah's injuries are unknown. I wish the girls a speedy recovery and hope they are back on their bikes soon.

For MacPherson, this is a strong victory.

'It was tough out there today. The wind was strong. I had to be in the top five riders all day and I was and managed to be the fastest and won,' MacPherson described.

Emma Lawson was pleased with her second place finish after finishing fifth in the time trial on Friday.

'I sort of had to be in the right position and I was pretty fast at the end,' Lawson said.

Stage 6 Results - Top 15
1. Joel Pearson (Genesys Wealth Advisers) 1:04:17

2. Dale Scarfe (McDonagh Blake-Witness) s.t
3. Harrif Saleh (Malaysian National Team) s.t

4. Alexander Ray (Lakes Oil) s.t
5. George Tansley (Team SASI Cycling) s.t

6. Joseph Lewis (Drapac) s.t
7. Tom Robinson (Genesys Wealth Advisers) s.t
8. Michael Bulters (City of Greater Geelong) s.t
9. Mitchell Pearson (Virgin Blue-RBS Morgans) s.t
10. Scott Liston (Dirt Riders) s.t
11. Joel Stearnes (Lawson Homes) s.t
12. Michael Smith (Lawson Homes) s.t
13. Peter Thompson (Virgin Blue-RBS Morgans) s.t
14. Chris Steffanoni (Search2retain-Myteam2)
15. Kyle Marwood (Genesys Wealth Advisers) s.t

General Classification - Top 10
1. Rohan Dennis (Jayco Skins) 9:40:54

2. Pat Shaw (Virgin Blue-RBS Morgans) +1.33
3. Cameron Jennings (Budget Forklifts) +2.15

4. Rhys Pollock (Drapac) +2.23
5. Cameron Peterson (Virgin Blue-RBS Morgans) +2.47

6. Michael Freiburg (GMHBA) +4.07
7. Adam Phelan (McDonagh Blake-Witness) +4.12
8. Tom Robinson (Genesys Wealth Advisers) +4.59
9. Brodie Talbot (Search2Retain-Myteam2) +5.26
10. David Pell (Drapac) +6.07

Celebrating our tenth year!

Help Support the Daily Peloton

Related Articles
2010 GMHBA Tour of Geelong - Stage 3 Report
2010 GMHBA Tour of Geelong - Stage 4 Report
2010 GMHBA Tour of Geelong - Stage 5 Report

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |