Search the news archive:
Index: 34th Giro del Trentino
By Staff
Date: 4/24/2010
Index: 34th Giro del Trentino

Index: 34th Giro del Trentino
Alexandr Vinokourov adds his name to the palmares of he Italian Spring mountain man festival and Giro d'Italia Prelude. Links to the Daily Peloton Coverage, Race Palmares & photos

Gilberto Simoni drives through the Trentino vineyards in the opening time trial.
Photo 290 Lampre-Farnese Vini

'Gibo' made his return to racing on home ground in Trento. Returning for his final races at 38 years old  in the blu & fucsia colors of Lampre the team he won his first of two Giro d'Italia in 2001.His second win in the Giro followed in 2003 while riding for Saeco.

Giuseppe Saronni, manager of Lampre and also a two time Giro winner himself, welcomed Gilberto to  the squad commenting, "he'll give to the team a contribution of enthusiasm and experience".

The popular Italian climber has an enviable record in his home tour, having stepped onto the podium 8 times and won 8 stages during 15 years as a pro rider. Lampre recently announced that Gilberto will ride the Giro dell'Appennino this coming week. If Gilberto shows he can attain the form to race the Italian Grand Tour... We may see 'Gibo' finish his career in the Giro, a most fitting end for the rider who has become a large part of its history. A result that will please the many Gibo tifosi around the world.

2010 Giro del Trentino - 34th Edition
         April 20 to 23
Race Preview
Start List
Stage 1: Riva del Garda - Torbole sul Garda 12,5 km ITT
Stage 2: Dro - San Martino di Castrozza 172.5 km
Stage 3: Fiera di Primiero - Trento Km. 164 km
Stage 4: Arco - Alpe di Pampeago 172.1 km
Race Website:

2010 Giro d'Italia - Parcours Announced

Rivals Riccardo Ricco and Alexandr Vinokourov on the podium.

34th Tour of Trentino - Final GC (Top 15)
1  Vinokourov Alexandre (Kaz) 1973 Ast Astana 13:50:23
2  Ricco: Riccardo (Ita) 1983 Flm Ceramica Flaminia   0:014
3  Pozzovivo Domenico (Ita) 1982 Csf Colnago-Csf Inox  0:42

4   Scarponi Michele (Ita) 1979 And Androni-Diquigiovanni  0: 44
5  Basso Ivan (Ita) 1977 Liq Liquigas-Doimo   0:56
6   Pardilla Bellon Sergio (Esp) 1984 Cmo Carmiooro-Ngc  1:28
7   Serpa Perez Jose Rodolfo (Col) 1979 And Androni-Diquigiovanni   1:37
8   Miholjevic Vladimir (Cro) 1974 Asa Acqua & Sapone  1:41
9  Petrov Evgeny (Rus) 1978 Kat Team Katusha  1:51
10  Caruso Damiano (Ita) G 1987 Der De Rosa-Stac Plastic   1:59
11 153 Niemiec Przemyslaw (Pol) 1980 Mie Miche   2:09
12 38 Valjavec Tadej (Slo) 1977 Alm Ag2r La Mondiale    2:11
13 5 Kiserlovski Robert (Cro) 1986 Liq Liquigas-Doimo    2:24
14 147 Geniez Alexandre (Fra) G 1988 Sks Skil-Shimano   2:44
15 64 Tschopp Johann (Sui) 1982 Btl Bbox Bouygues Telecom   2:59
Full results in stage 4 report

Giro del Trentino Palmares
        1962 - 2010

1962 Enzo Moser (Ita)
1963 Guido De Rosso (Ita)
1979 Knut Knudsen (Nor)
1980 Francesco Moser (Ita)
1981 Roberto Visentini (Ita)
1982 Giuseppe Saronni (Ita)
1983 Francesco Moser (Ita)
1984 Franco Chioccioli (Ita)
1985 Harald Maier (Aut)
1986 Equipe "Carrera Jeans" *
1987 Claudio Corti (Ita)
1988 Urs Zimmerman (Swi)
1989 Mauro Santaromita (Ita)
1990 Gianni Bugno (Ita)
1991 Leonardo Sierra (Ven)
1992 Claudio Chiappucci (Ita)
1993 Maurizio Fondriest (Ita)
1994 Moreno Argentin (Ita)
1995 Heinz Imboden (Swi)
1996 Wladimir Belli (Ita)
1997 Luc Leblanc (Fra)
1998 Paolo Savoldelli (Ita)
1999 Paolo Savoldelli (Ita)
2000 Simone Borgheresi (Ita)
2001 Francesco Casagrande (Ita)
2002 Francesco Casagrande (Ita)
2003 Gilberto Simoni (Ita)
2004 Damiano Cunego (Ita)
2005 Julio Perez Cuapio (Mex)
2006 Damiano Cunego (Ita)
2007 Damiano Cunego (Ita)
2008 Stefano Garzelli (Ita)
2009 Ivan Basso (Ita)
2010 Aleksandr Vinokurov (Kaz)

*The 1986 race was unusual in that there was no individual prize awarded. It was a team competition called the Coppa Italia and the first place went to Carrera-Inoxpran.

Related Articles
40th Settimana Lombarda - Stage 5
Index: Circuit de la Sarthe & 2010 General Classifications
Index: 50th Tour of the Basque Country 2010

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |