Search the news archive:
Vuelta a Andalucia - "Ruta Ciclista del Sol" Preview
By Staff
Date: 2/21/2010
Vuelta a Andalucia - "Ruta Ciclista del Sol" Preview

56th Vuelta a Andalucia - "Ruta Ciclista del Sol" Preview
5 days in Andalucia with something for all the talents of the peloton, sprinters, fast men and climbers. Stages, Start List and more...

The first stage of the 56th Vuelta a Andalucia is a tough roll out with the first stage roads rising to the sky. The race of five stages has at two days for the sprinters, two to test the climbers and a 10 kilometer time trial that is pan flat.

Stages, profiles, start list below:

56th Vuelta a Andalucia - "Ruta Ciclista del Sol"
                February 21 -25
Stage 1: Jaén - Puerto De La Guardia De Jaén 159.2
Stage 2:  Otura - Córdoba  182.2 km
Stage 3:  Marbella - Benahavis  162.5 km
Stage 4: Malaga - Malaga  ITT 10.1 km
Stage 5: Torrox Costa - Antequera  161.4 km
Total distance: 675.4 kilometers
Race Website
Race Palmares

 Vuelta a Andalucia Jerseys
General Classification - Red
Mountains - Black
Meta Volantes - White, red & Blue
Points (Puntos) - Dark Blue

Stage 1 opens the race with a climbing festival, and what better way to end but with a summit finish with steeps at severe as 21%.

Stage 1 

Stage 1 - Final 5 km

Stage 2 is the longest stage at traveling 182 km to over rolling to flat terrain.. like a classics stage there will be bbreaks but the pressure will be on the sprinters teams pulling it back for one to be decided by the sprinters and with Mark Cavendish debuting here all eyes will be on the Manx speedster.

Stage 3 once again the climbers will take center stage and the sprinters will struggle over 3 climbs and a cruel uphill finish.

Stage 4, the race against the clock on a flat course around Malaga; not exactly a day off but a short day and a chance to recharge before the grand finale in stage 5

Stage 3

Stage 5: 3 Category one climbs will decide the Ruta del Sol, parcours with definite potential for a long break; but the final 3 kilometers for the uphill finish will try even the best of legs.

Stage 5

Stage 5 final 3 km

Vuelta a Andalucia - “Ruta Ciclista del Sol
Team, Riders, Numbers

1 Freire, Óscar Esp '07
2 Garate, Juan Manuel Esp
3 Martens, Paul Ger
4 Mollema, Bauke Ned
5 Ardila, Mauricio Col
6 Ten Dam, Laurens Ned
7 Langeveld, Sebastian Ned
D.S. Dekker, Erik

Team HTC - Columbia
11 Cavendish, Mark Gbr
12 Albasini, Michael Sui
13 Martin, Tony Ger
14 Monfort, Maxime Bel
15 Rogers, Michael Aus
16 Roultson, Hayden Nzl
17 Sivtsov, Kanstantsin Blr
D.S. Schaffrath, Jan

Team Milram
21 Gerdemann, Linus Ger
22 Wegmann, Fabian Ger
23 Fothen, Markus Ger
24 Russ, Matthias Ger
25 Knees, Christian Ger
26 Fröhlinger, Johannes Ger
27 Voss, Paul Ger
D.S.  Algeri, Vittorio

Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
31 Bozic, Borut Slo
32 Ongarato, Alberto Ita
33 Carrara, Matteo Ita
34 Feillu, Brice Esp
35 Hoogerland, Johnny Ned
36 Marcato, Marco Ita
37 Rossetto, Stephane Fra
D.S. Van Der Schueren, Hilaire

Skil - Shimano
41 Timmer, Albert Ned
42 Rooijakkers, Piet Ned
43 Huguet, Yann Fra
44 Geniez, Alexandre Fra
45 Geschke, Simon Ger
46 Wagner, Robert Ger
47 Cornu, Dominique Bel
D.S. :Hoekstra, Piet

Team Sky
51 Lövkvist, Thomas Swe
52 Gerrans, Simon Aut
53 Pauwels, Serge Bel
54 Carlström, Kjell Fin
55 Henderson, Gregory Nzl
56 Cummings, Steve Gbr
57 Wiggins, Bradley Gbr
D.S. Yates, Sean



Andalucia Cajasur
61 Vicioso, Angel Esp
62 Rosendo, Jesús Esp
63 Piedra, Antonio Esp
64 G. Marchante, Jose A Esp
65 Vazquez, Manuel Esp
66 Moreno, Javier Esp
67 Ortega, Manuel Esp
D.S. Cabello, Antonio

Omega Pharma - Lotto
71 Vanendert, Jelle Bel
72 Van Den Broeck, Jurgen Bel
73 Bakelandsts, Jan Bel
74 De Greef, Francis Bel
75 Moreno, Daniel Esp
76 Van Goolen, Jurgen Bel
77 Brandt, Christophe Bel
D.S. Damiani, Roberto

Saxo Bank
81 Fuglsang, Jakob Den
82 Schleck, Franck Lux
83 Larsson, Gustav Swe
84 Voigt, Jens Ger
85 Rasmussen, Alex Den
86 Morkov, Michael Den
87 Steensen, André Den
D.S. Andersen, Kim

Carmiooro Ngc
91 Ventoso, Francisco Esp
92 Beuret, Laurent Sui
93 Sella, Emanuele Ita
94 Ratto, Daniel Ita
95 Tamayo Martínez, Diego A Col
96 Pardilla Bellón, Sergio Esp
97 Berthou, Eric Fra
D.S. Pelliconi, Roberto

CCC  Polsat Polkowice
101 Matysiak, Bartlomiej Pol
102 Kiendys, Tomaaz Pol
103 Bodnar, Lukaz Pol
104 Honkisz, Adrian Pol
105 Marczynski, Tomasz Pol
106 Janiszewsky, Sylwester Pol
107 Snitko, Adan Pol
D.S. Wadecki, Piotr

Caja Rural
111 Ferrari, Fabricio Uru
112 García, Egoitz Esp
113 Bravo, Garikoitz Esp
114 De La Cruz, David Esp
115 García, Rubén Esp
116 Lana, Guillermo Esp
117 Peña, Aketza Esp
D.S. Goikoetxea, Eugenio

Lampre-Farnese Vini
121 Cunego, Damiano Ita
122 Furlan, Angelo Ita
123 Balloni, Alfredo Ita
124 Loosli, David Sui
125 Lorenzetto, Mirko Ita
126 Marzano, Marco Ita
127 Bole, Greca Slo
D.S. Copeland, Brent

Related Articles
Tour de San Luis - Stage 7
ISD-Neri announce squad for LTDL 2010
Volta ao Algarve - Stage 4

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |