Search the news archive:
Omega Pharma-Lotto Team Roster 2010
By Lee Rodgers
Date: 1/22/2010
Omega Pharma-Lotto Team Roster 2010

Omega Pharma-Lotto Team Roster 2010
The former Silence/Lotto team returns with a new name and look hoping to start the year on the note they ended the 2009 season. Jurgen van den Broeck leads a team of all rounders and classics specialists with a clear mission to excel...

Omega-Pharma Lotto (formerly Silence Lotto) have a new look for 2010 and also a new leader, following the loss of the Australian World Champion Cadel Evans to the BMC Racing Team. 26 year-old Jurgen Van den Broeck will be the team leader for the Grand Tours this year.

2008 Stage 16: Giro revelation Jurgen Van den Broeck. finished 7th on G.C. and second in the Best Young rider competition to Riccardo Ricco who was removed later from the tour de France for the use of CERA. How different things might have been for Van den Broeck if he had been awarded the Maglia Bianca at the 2008 Giro which it seems at this point he deserved.  Photo © 2010 Fotoreporter Sirotti

The Belgian rider is not a household name and perhaps a surprising choice to become leader of a top professional team, but he has shown enough potential to convince the Lotto team management that he is the man to carry the standard for the team in 2010. He finished seventh overall in the 2008 Giro d’Italia, and went on to place fifth on a stand fifteenth overall in his debut Tour de France last July.

He is a strong climber and decent time trialist, and the team’s general manager, Geert Coeman, is in no doubt about Van den Broeck's abilities.

“Jurgen demonstrated last year that he is a man for the big tours,” he said. “His main goal is the Tour de France. It is possible; he can succeed with the help of our last reinforcement, Spain's Daniel Moreno.”

Phillipe "Magic" Gilbert collects his 4th trophy in the past 9 days since winning the Coppa Sabatini on October 8th. Photo © 2009 Fotoreporter Sirotti

The man who lit up the Autumn Classics, Phillipe Gilbert, remains with the team. The big Belgian rode superbly at the end of the 2009 season, racking up 4 consecutive victories, including of course the fantastic victories in Paris-Tours and the Giro di Lombardia. He is aiming for the Spring Classics this year, in particular Milan-San Remo.

2009 World Road Championships: Greg van Avermaet
Photo © 2009 Bart Hazen

Three others are also tipped by Coeman for 2010: “Greg Van Avermaet and Jurgen Roelandts look good, and Leif Hoste will forget an unhappy season and look forward to the Ronde and Paris-Roubaix.”

Perhaps the team's most interesting signing is Jean-Christophe Péraud, who has signed with Omega Pharma-Lotto for 2 years. Peraud is a former a mountain biker, and he won the silver medal at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing. Péraud, 31, is the present French time trial champion, took 2nd at Chrono des Nations and 12th at the World Championships at Mendrisio.

The team had an unusual 2009, which was seen as largely unsuccessful until Gilbert and Evans hit amazing form in the autumn. In all honesty, apart from Gilbert, it is difficult to see a lot of victories for Omega Pharma-Lotto in 2010. However, Marc Sergeant, one of the team managers and an ex-pro, remains confident that the team can make an impact in 2010.

“I wish to express the hope that the team will continue with its victorious momentum, and that we shall bring these great moments again in the coming year.”

The team undeniably has a roster with a full complement of classic and one day specialists that would be the envy of many teams that includes hardmen like Leif Hoste, Mario Aerts, Olivier Kaisen Glenn D'Hollander to support Phillipe Gilbert in his targets during the Spring and beyond.

In their mission to deliver in stage races and grand tours the team has all arounders and climbers such as Daniel Moreno, Matthew Lloyd, Tom Stubbe, Jurgen Roelandts, Staf Scheirlinckx, Jelle Vanendert and Charles Wegelius to support Jurgen van den Broeck.

2010 Omega Pharma-Lotto Team Roster

Mario Aerts (BEL)
Jan Bakelants (BEL)
Adam Blythe (GBR)
Christophe Brandt (BEL)
Wilfried Cretskens (BEL)
Francis De Greef (BEL)
Kenny Dehaes (BEL)
Mickaël Del(FRA)
Glenn D'Hollander (BEL)
Michiel Elijzen (NED)
Philippe Gilbert (BEL)
Leif Hoste (BEL)
Olivier Kaisen (BEL)
Sebastian Lang (GER)
Jonas Ljungblad (SWE)
Matthew Lloyd (AUS)
Gerben Löwik (NED)
Daniel Moreno (ESP)
Jean-Christophe Péraud (FRA)
Jurgen Roelandts (BEL)
Staf Scheirlinckx (BEL)
Tom Stubbe (BEL)
Greg Van Avermaet (BEL)
Jurgen Van Den Broeck (BEL)
Jurgen Van Goolen (BEL)
Jelle Vanendert (BEL)
Charles Wegelius (GBR)
December 31, 1974 (35)
February 14, 1986 (23)
October 1, 1989 (20)**
May 6, 1977 (32)
July 10, 1976 (33)
February 2, 1985 (24)
November 10, 1984 (25)
August 6, 1985 (24)
December 28, 1974 (35)
August 31, 1982 (27)
July 5, 1982 (27)
July 17, 1977 (32)
April 30, 1983 (26)
September 15, 1979 (30)
January 15, 1979 (30)
May 24, 1983 (26)
June 29, 1977 (32)**
September 5, 1981 (28)
May 22, 1977 (32)
July 2, 1985 (24)
March 12, 1979 (30)
May 26, 1981 (28)
May 17, 1985 (24)
February 1, 1983 (26)
November 28, 1980 (29)
February 19, 1985 (24)
April 26, 1978 (31)

** U23

2010 UCI Road Calendar - ProTour Schedule
2010 ProTour - UCI Registers 17 ProTour Teams
2010 Ag2r la Mondiale Pro Tour Team
Garmin/Transitions - 2010 Roster
Footon-Servetto-Fuji Team Roster 2010
2010 Team RadioShack Roster Finalized
2010 Liquigas - Doimo Squad Announced
Rabobank 2010 Team Roster

Related Articles
Training: The Power of a Network
Team HTC -Columbia Mallorca Camp & Launch 2010
Tour Down Under - Stage 5 LIVE TICKER (Part one)

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |