Search the news archive:
The 2XU Australian Madison Championships
By Chris Graetz
Date: 12/18/2009
The 2XU Australian Madison Championships

The 2XU Australian Madison Championships
In one of the strongest fields in the history of the event, Cameron Meyer and Glenn O’Shea won a thrilling and entertaining Madison.

Cameron Meyer and Glenn O’Shea won the 2XU Australian Madison Championships in Melbourne tonight at the Darebin International Sports Centre. In a thrilling race they held off the defending champions in Sean Finning and James Langedyk. Kiwi’s Aaron Gate and Myron Simpson, who were never in the hunt to win, popped out of nowhere to finish well in an exceptional performance. For O’Shea, this was his second win after claiming the win in 2007 with South Australian Jack Bobridge.

It was one of the strongest fields in history with duel Olympic Gold Medalist Graeme Brown teaming up with Under 23 World Champion Jack Bobridge. World Points race Champion Cameron Meyer was paired with Glenn O’Shea. There was the NZ duo of Tom Scully and Shane Archbold who were in terrific form. The other big team was Alex Carver and Luke Durbridge who are Junior World Champions. The defending champions of Sean Finning and James Langedyk were here and they had a tough task of defending but were always going to fight to the end.

Early on Travis Meyer, who recently signed with Garmin-Transitions Road Cycling Team showed his intentions winning the first sprint. The well known Kiwi duo in Scully and Archbold, who won gold at the Track World Cup in Melbourne back in November also powered away early on showing their good form and at the half way mark when Scully won the fifth sprint, they were on 13 points with Freiberg/Meyer second on 12 and Carver/Bobridge third.

At that stage, Cameron Meyer and Glenn O’Shea were in single figures and the race soon changed when Meyer launched a bold attack. 2 laps later they were nearly half way and it was looking like they were going to lap the field which would give them an ultimate advantage. The reactions came from Bobridge, Durbridge and Scully but despite hard work, Meyer and O’Shea were continuing to hold a big lead. Just after the sixth sprint, they finally made contact after working well together and were looking like they might have run away with the win.

However, not to be out done, Finning and Langedyk launched an attack and in the blink of an eye, lapped the field. Archbold decided it was his turn to attack but couldn’t make it across as the attack was shut down. Not long after, their compatriots in Aaron Gate and Myron Simpson launched an attack and successfully got a lap and with just over 20 laps remaining, it looked like Scully and Archbold and Travis Meyer and Michael Freiburg who were well ahead on 18 points, were not going to get on level terms and their race appeared to be over.

At the conclusion of the second last sprint, Cam Meyer and Glenn O’Shea had a four point buffer over Sean Finning and James Langedyk and the last sprint was going to decide the champions. With over six laps to go, the defending champions led by Finning launched an attack. They didn’t launch the attack to lap the field, but launched the attack to try and win the sprint and catch the leaders off guard. They did just that and with Meyer and O’Shea looking fatigued back in sixth place it looked like they might just pull off the upset and defend their crown.

Unfortunately it wasn’t to be with the inspired Meyer and O’Shea catching back up to get into points contention with the defending champions still riding with an advantage. On the last lap, Meyer had got himself into second position, a quarter of a lap behind Finning and that’s where it stayed with Finning taking the last sprint ahead of Meyer.

For Meyer and O’Shea this was a sweet victory and one which both riders were very pleased with. The performances by Finning and Langedyk and Aaron Gate and Myron Simpson were brilliant and they deserved the silver and bronze.

For the rest of the nights events featuring the Victorian Keirin Championships, Click Here

1. Cameron Meyer/Glenn O’Shea – 13

2. Sean Finning/James Langedyk – 11
3. Aaron Gate/Myron Simpson – 6

4. Shane Archbold/Tom Scully – 18 (-1 lap)
5. Travis Meyer/Michael Freiberg – 18 (-1 lap)

  • Discuss the sport with fans from around the world on the Daily Peloton Forums & Chat Room.
  • Sponsor the Daily Peloton - advertise your product - contact us
  • Put your passion into words - contact us.
  • Link your site or blog to
Related Articles
Revolution 5: 112th Urban St Kilda Austral Wheelrace
Revolution 5 - Full Report
Interview: Cameron Meyer - Young Gun

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |