Search the news archive:
Australian Opperman Awards - Cadel Evans
By Staff
Date: 11/22/2009
Australian Opperman Awards - Cadel Evans

Australian Opperman Awards - Evans collects his third 'Oppy' Medal
Cadel Evans collected multiple acknowledgements for his 2009 season accepting his fourth 'Oppy' medal and 2nd People's Choice award.

World Champion Cadel Evans has been named the 2009 Australian Cyclist of the Year and received his third Sir Hubert Opperman 'Oppy' medal at the Jayco 2009 Australian Cyclist of the Year Awards staged tonight at Melbourne's Plaza Ballroom.

Evans is only the second cyclist in the 51 year history of the 'Oppy' to win it for a third time. He also won in 2006 and 2007. Peter Besanko was the recipient of the highest honour in Australian cycling in 1979, 1981 and 1984. Evans made his debut in the Cyclist of the Year Awards winning the Male Mountain Bike Cyclist of the Year in 1997 and followed up for the next two years on the honor roll.

Evans was also named the Scody People's Choice Cyclist of the Year and the Cycling Central Elite Male Road Cyclist of the Year.

2009 World Road Champion, Cadel Evans Photo © 2009 Fotoreporter Sirotti

Cadel posted his biggest ever result this year when he became the first Australian to win the elite menís road race at the World Championships in Mendrisio, Switzerland. His season also saw him wear the leaderís jersey on stage nine of the Vuelta a EspaŮa in which he finished third overall.

The finalists for the Sir Hubert Opperman medal were Cadel Evans; World Cup Series and World Champion Mountain Bike rider, Jared Graves and Cameron Meyer, who this year claimed the points race gold medal and two silver medals at the Track World Championships. This is Cameron's third award as top Australian male on the boards.

Anna Meares winner of 3 gold medals at the recent UCI Track World Cup in Melbourne,  won her fifth award as top women trackie.

The complete list of award winners is below and for more detailed information on all the winners and finalists please go to the Cycling Australia website.

The Jayco 2009 Australian Cyclist of the Year Awards winners are:

  • Sir Hubert Opperman Medal - 2009 Australian Cyclist of the Year - Cadel Evans
  • 2009 Scody People's Choice Cyclist of the Year: Cadel Evans
  • Toshiba Elite Track Cyclists of the Year:
    Cameron Meyer & Anna Meares OAM
  • Cycling Central Elite Road Cyclists of the Year:
    Cadel Evans & Ruth Corset
  • Cycling Central Elite Mountain Bike Cyclists of the Year:
     Jared Graves & Caroline Buchanan
  • Elite Male BMX Cyclists of the Year:
    Sam Willoughby & Caroline Buchanan
  • Elite Male Para-cyclists of the Year:
    Michael Gallagher OAM & Susan Powell
  • Malaysia Airlines Masters Cyclists of the Year:
    Graeme Allbon & Michelle Crawford
  • Junior Track Cyclists of the Year: Michael Hepburn & Megan Dunn
  • Junior Male Road Cyclists of the Year:
    Luke Durbridge & Kendelle Hodges
  • Junior Male Mountain Bike Cyclists of the Year:
    Shaun O'Connor & Holly Baarspul
  • Junior Male BMX Cyclists of the Year:
    Sam Willoughby & Lauren Reynolds
  • SBS Television Coach of the Year:  Matt Gilmore
  • Australian Sports Commission Volunteers of the Year:
     Jason Parkes ACT
    Michael Coffee NSW
    Stuart McDonell NT
    Merv McDonald OAM QLD
    Lee Hubbard SA
    David Buckingham TAS
    Brian Harwood VIC
    Murray Hall WA
    Frank Mitchell BMXA
  • Cycling Australia Event Merit Award:
    UCI Masters Track Cycling World Championships 2007-2009
  • National Road Series Champions
    Men - Will Clarke
    Women - Bronwyn Ryan
    Team - Fly V Australia
  •  Australian Club Premiership - Midlands Cycling Club WA
  • Norm Gailey Trophy for Champion State- NSW
  • Cycling Australia Media Awards:
    Keith Esson Regional Media Award- Jim Trail, ABC Radio Canberra
  • Cycling Australia Media Awards - Best Photo:
    CJ Farquharson,
  • Cycling Australia Media Awards - Best Story:
    Mark Falahey, Michael Tomalaris & John Flynn, SBS Television

Sir Hubert Opperman Trophy and 'Oppy Medal'
The Sir Hubert Opperman Trophy has been presented to the Australian Cyclist of the Year since 1958. For the years 1958 to 1995 the Award was under the custodianship of Mr Bill Long, a life member of Cycling Australia, and it was presented for the 'ride of the year' by an Australian Cyclist.

Cycling Australia took custodianship of the Award in 1996 and it is now presented to the best all-round performing cyclist each year who also displays a high level of sportsmanship and is an ambassador for the sport of cycling.

Oppy Medal Honor Roll

1958 Russell Mockridge
1959 Peter Panton
1960 John Green
1961 Alan Grindal
1962 Sid Patterson
1963 Ron Grenda
1964 Barry Waddell
1965 Ray Bliney
1966 Barry Waddell
1967 Bob Whetters
1968 Ken Evans
1969 Keith Oliver
1970 Gordon Johnson
1971 Graham McVilly
1972 Graeme Gilmore
1973 Graham McVilly
1974 Laurie Venn
1975 John Nicholson
1976 David Allan
1977 Shane Bartley
1978 Malcolm Hill
1979 Peter Besanko
1980 Laurie Venn
1981 Peter Besanko
1982 Steele Bishop
1983 Garry Trowell
1984 Peter Besanko
1985 Laurie Venn
1986 Michael Lynch
1987 Neil Stephens
1988 Barry Burns
1989 Martin Vinnicombe
1990 Rod Evans
1991 Brent McCaig
1992 Scott Sunderland
1993 Bradley McGee
1994 Rod Evans
1995 Darryn Hill
1996 Shane Kelly
1997 Henk Vogels
1998 Stuart O'Grady
1999 Anna Wilson
2000 Brett Aitken
& Scott McGrory
2001 Stuart O'Grady
2002 Robbie McEwen
2003 Michael Rogers
2004 Ryan Bayley
2005 Robbie McEwen
2006 Cadel Evans
2007 Cadel Evans
2008 Anna Meares
2009 Cadel Evans

Australian Cyclist of the Year Honor Rolls
1997 - 2008

Male Cyclist of the year Awards
Female Cyclist of the Year  Awards 
Volunteers, Coach, Event & Media Awards

  • Discuss the sport with fans from around the world on the Daily Peloton Forums & Chat Room.
  • Sponsor the Daily Peloton - advertise your product - contact us
  • Would you like to try your hand at writing about the sport? contact us.
  • Link your site or blog to
Related Articles
2009 Flandrian Awards
Cadel Evans - BMC Team Signs World Champion
2010 UCI Road Calendar - ProTour Schedule

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |