Search the news archive:
Cyclocross: USGP # 6 - Mercer Cup UCI C1
By Staff
Date: 11/14/2009
Cyclocross: USGP # 6 - Mercer Cup UCI C1

 Cyclocross: USGP # 6 - Mercer Cup UCI C1
Ryan Trebon and Katerina Nash Attack in the Mud and Muck for Impressive With Solo Victories

USA Gran Prix of Cyclocross # 6 - Mercer Cup
West Windsor, New Jersey

 The 2009 Mercer Cup will be remembered for one element: mud. And the mud apparently favored the strong as both Ryan Trebon (Kona) and Katerina Nash (Luna) rode to solo rides victories

As important as power is, experience proved more valuable in the muddy conditions of the sixth round of the USGP of Cyclocross in West Windsor, New Jersey. After several days of rain conditions were a mix of slick grass and thick mud that forced mechanics to work as hard as the competitors. Single miscues sent riders such as Chris Jones (Champion Systems) over the handlebars and mechanical issues crushed the hopes of Geoff Kabush (Maxxis/Rocky Mountain) and others.

All the usual suspects were in attendance; but the muddy conditions favored the favorites. Geoff Kabush (Maxxis-Rocky Mountain )lit up the race start with a savage artillery barrage of attacks at the start opening a gap; but Ryan Trebon squished his way through turns to draw up to the wheel of the Canadian national champion.

A proven mudder, Tim Johson (Cannondale/ plowed his through the muck to  join Trebon in the chase. Behind, but not far; Jones, Nicholas Weighall (California Giant/Specialized) and Davide Frattini (Fuji) were equally brilliant in their first laps, which were timed at a fast nine minutes.

The USGP Series leader Jamey Driscoll (Cannondale/ again had to recover from a poor start, sliding out of the top 20 after the first lap.

On the third lap, Trebon finally drew even to Kabush and surged into the lead. Johnson followed creating a duel between himself, the ultimate "nail" and Trebon, the ultimate "hammer" of the sport.

Johson and Trebon went wheel for wheel for two laps before Trebon pushed clear to a solo victory ride. Johnson would ride to second. But the contest for bronze proved entertaining. Kabush dueled with Jones until the Canadian suffered a mechanical and had to run half a lap. Jones seemed to own the third spot until he, in the constant surge for a clean line, hooked his brakes on a stake and crashed heavily. As he fumbled with his drive train he saw a surging Driscoll, steadily advancing, roar into the third position with under two laps to go.

Trebon rode to victory, followed by Johnson. Driscoll thundered in for third, an effort that would grant him honors as SRAM's Most Aggressive Rider.  Jones followed for fourth and Frattini in fifth. Kabush would remount and finish a credible 11th on the day inspite of his bad luck.

U23 Race
Again the Under-23 division saw heated action with three young riders hitting the Top-10. Danny Summerhill (Garmin) pounded to a sixth place ride and top honors in the "Espoir" class. Behind him came 19-year-old Swiss rider Valentin Scherz (Scott) in eighth and Zach McDonalds (Stevens) in ninth overall, to round out the Under-23 podium.

As a result of his finish, Trebon took the overall series lead. David Hackworth (Stevens) held on to the Under-23 jersey.

Women's Race
The women's race saw the continued improvement of Nash, who expects to finish on the podium at the World Championships in her native Czech Republic. She proved herself world class again in this race. After Canadian National Champion Alison Sydor's strong start, Nash strangled this race and rode to a stunning solo win. In second, however, nothing seemed certain. After a weak start, Georgia Gould (Luna) pushed into second.

Behind Gould was a scrum that included Amy Dombroski (Schlamm), Alison Dunlap (Luna), Maureen Bruno Roy (M&M/Seven) and Kelli Emmett (Giant). But the surge came from way back as Meredith Miller (California Giant/Specialized) came from 20 spots back and pounded up the wheel of Gould. After catching and passing Gould, however, Miller bobbled and lost the spot. Gould would finish second; Miller third. Miller, however, would receive Most Aggressive Rider honors for her efforts.

SRAM Most Aggressive Rider: Jamey Driscoll

Elite Men's Results
1. Ryan Trebon - KONA
2. Tim Johnson - Cannondale/
3. Jamey Driscoll - Cannondale/
4. Christopher Jones - Team Champion System
5. Davide Frattini - Team FUJI
6. Danny Summerhill - Felt-Holowesko Partners-Garmin
7. Barry Wicks - KONA
8. Valentin Scherz - PRO CYCLES-SCOTT-Nework
9. Zach McDonald - Stevens/Classic Cycle
10. Todd Wells - Specialized
11 Geoff Kabush Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain
12 Adam Craig Giant Mountain Bike Team
13 Troy Wells Team Clif Bar
14 Gavin Mannion Hot Tubes Junior Development Team
15 Adam Myerson Cycle-Smart
16 Derrick St John Garneau-Club Chaussures-Ogilvy
17 Carl Decker Giant
18 Brian Matter Team Geargrinder
19 Mark LaLonde Planet Bike
20 Nicholas Weighall California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized
21 Adam McGrath Thule/Van Dessel
22 Braden Kappius Clif Bar
23 Justin Lindine / Joe's Garage / IF
24 Travis Livermon Cannondale
25 Steve Fisher Rad Racing NW
26 Justin Robinson California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized
27 Emmanuel Goguen CL Noonan/Coast to Coast/KAM
29 Guillaume Nelessen Van Dessel Factory Team
30 Kirt Fitzpatrick S. Camel
31 Ryan Hopping United Cycle
32 Joshua Berry Team BODE
33 Mark Batty Planet Energy
34 Nathan Bannerman Hagens Berman Cycling
35 kevin Noiles La Bicicletta Pro Shop
Complete Results All Classes

U23 Results
1 Daniel Summerhill Felt-Holowesko Partners-Garmin
2 Zach McDonald Classic Cycles
3 Adam McGrath Thule/Van Dessel

4 Travis Livermon Cannondale
5 Emmanuel Goguen CL Noonan/Coast to Coast/KAM

6 Joshua Berry Team BODE
7 Logan VonBokel Mesa Cycles Racing Team
8 Joseph Dombrowski Haymarket Bicycles/Home Visit
9 Ethan Gilmour US National Development Team
10 Dave Hackworthy Team Plan C
11 Nathan Bannerman Hagens Berman Cycling
12 Joseph Schmalz KCCX/Verge

Elite Women's Results
1 Katerina Nash Luna Pro Team
2 Georgia Gould LUNA Pro Team
3 Meredith Miller California Giant/Specialized

4 Alison Dunlap LUNA Pro Team
5 Maureen Bruno Roy MM Racing p/b Seven Cycles
6 Kelli Emmett Giant Bicycles
7 Amy Dombroski Richard Sachs-RGM Watches-Radix
8 Deidre Winfield C3 - Athletes Serving Athletes
9 Susan Butler
10 Alison Sydor Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain
11 Laura Van Gilder C3 Sollay
12 Linda Sone Planet Bike
13 Kari Studley Velo Bella
14 Kaitlin Antonneau Planet Bike
15 Amanda Carey Kenda/
16 Andrea Smith Minuteman Road Club
17 Kristin Gavin Pabst Blue Ribbon
18 Anna Milkowski / Joe's Garage / IF
19 Kristin Wentworth Planet Bike
20 Kimberly Flynn Vantaggio/Specialized
21 Linnea Koons October Factory Racing
22 Erica Yozell
23 Nicole Thiemann Pabst Blue Ribbon
24 Lauri Webber Secret Henry's Team
25 Jennifer Maxwell ATAC Sportswear p/b Bike Rack DC
26 Arley Kemmerer Hub Racing
27 Kristine Church Human Zoom/ Pabst Blue Ribbon
28 Beth Mason Verge Sport - Test Pilot
29 Amy Breyla C3 - Athletes Serving Athletes
30 Elizabeth Sheldon T.E.A.M. Fuji
31 Ann D'Ambruoso Minuteman Road Club
32 Jessica Singerman Wissahickon
Complete Results All Classes

  • Discuss the sport with fans from around the world on the Daily Peloton Forums & Chat Room.
  • Sponsor the Daily Peloton - advertise your product - contact us
  • Would you like to try your hand at writing about the sport? contact us.
  • Link your site or blog to
Related Articles
Cyclocross: USGP #3 Derby City Cup
World Cup Cyclocross #3 - Men Nommay, France
Ivan Dominguez Signs with Jamis/Sutter Home Menís CT

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |