Search the news archive:
9th Brixia Tour - Stage 5 UPDATED
By Fabio
Date: 7/26/2009
9th Brixia Tour - Stage 5 UPDATED

Mattia Gavazzi put an end to his 2009 Brixia Tour campaign the way he started it four days ago: with his arms raised in air to celebrate a winning sprint. The Serrramenti PVC Diquigiovanni-Androni Giocattoli fastman was quicker than Bernardo Riccio (Ita - Ceramica Flaminia-Bossini Showers) and Fran Ventoso (Spa - Carmiooro A-Style) in the finishing stretch at the end of the 184.5-kilometre leg from Pisogne into Darfo Boario Terme. AleJet Petacchi also gave it a shot at the sprint but all he could get was a sixth-place result ahead of Britain's Roger Hammond.

Riccio's teammate Giampaolo Caruso (Flaminia-Bossini) held on to the overall leader's jersey to become the brand new eventual winner of the race, with fellow Italians Domenico Pozzovivo (CSF Group-Navigare) and Leonardo Bertagnolli (Serrramenti PVC Diquigiovanni-Androni Giocattoli) alongside the Sicilian on the final podium. All of them got into the final top three of the Lombard event for the first time ever.

The stage was featured by brief and useless attacks in the opening miles, but notably by the much longer "breakaway of the day" that contained Italy's Emanuele Bindi, Gabriele Bosisio, Eddy Serri and Andrea Moletta plus Switzerland's Michael Schar, Britain's Geraint Thomas and Kazakhstan's Maxim Gourov. It began after 34 kilometres and saw the guys put up to 03'40" into the field - at the km. 95 check - before their lead turned the other way around and got back to zero as the escapees were reeled in by the group - superbly driven by Flaminia and Diquigiovanni - with just a couple thousand metres left.

In the process, Moletta took maximum points at the Boario Terme KOM Sprint (km. 37) as well as the Esine traguardo volante (Hot Spot Sprint) after 123.6 km, while Bosisio won the sprint as the race had made it to Esine for the first tim km. 69.7) and Gourov was the fastest at the Pisogne mid-stage sprint. Geraint Thomas put one small victory in the bag as the race went on the Boario climb for again after 91.1 kilometres.

Gavazzi netted his eleventh success in the current season" "I had to win today, I owed it to the team after all the hard work they did to close down on the fugitives. We had a nice finish to the race, and my two stage victories helped me take my victory tally in Italy up to new heights".

Like to the stage victor, also overall champion Caruso was thankful to all of his "domestiques" and the whole Flaminia-Bossini crew: "It's because of them that we could come here in top form" he said. The Sicilian is already looking forward to his August challenges (GP Camaiore, Coppa Bernocchi, Tre Valli Varesine and Trofeo Melinda), that - he hopes - will give him the chance to find a place in the Squadra Azzurra roster for the Mendrisio Worlds.

click image for bigger profile.

Stage 5 (Pisogne to Darfo Boario Terme, 184.5 km)
Top 10 Places

1. GAVAZZI Mattia (Ita - DIQUIGIOVANNI-ANDRONI) - 04h15'03" (10")
2. RICCIO Bernardo(Ita - FLAMINIA-BOSSINI) - s.t. (06")
3. VENTOSO Francisco (Spa - CARMIOORO-A STYLE) - s.t. (04")
4. SZCZAWINSKI Krzysztof (Pol - MICHE-SILVER CROSS) - s.t.
5. MUTO Pasquale (Ita - MICHE-SILVER CROSS) - s.t.
6. PETACCHI Alessandro (Ita - LPR BRAKES-FARNESE) - s.t.
8. MERLO Michele (Ita - BARLOWORLD) - s.t.
9. COLLI Daniele (Ita - CARMIOORO-A STYLE) - s.t.
10. VIGANO' Davide (Ita - FUJI-SERVETTO) - s.t.

* Complete stage results Here (pdf file).

9th Brixia Tour - Final GC: Top 10 Places
1. CARUSO Giampaolo (Ita - FLAMINIA-BOSSINI) - 21h21'51"
2. POZZOVIVO Domenico (Ita - CSF GROUP-NAVIGARE) - at 01'21"
4. ANZA' Santo (Ita - ISD-NERI) - at 01'27"
5. MASCIARELLI Francesco (Ita - ACQUA & SAPONE) - at 02'02"
6. MUTO Pasquale (Ita - MICHE-SILVER CROSS) - at 02'11"
7. PARDILLA Sergio (Spa - CARMIOORO-A STYLE) - at 03'23"
8. CAPECCHI Eros (Ita - FUJI-SERVETTO) - at 03'43"
9. MARCZYNSKI Tomasz (Pol - MICHE-SILVER CROSS) - at 03'51"
10. MARZANO Marco (Ita - LAMPRE-N.G.C.) - at 03'53"

* Full final standings Here (pdf file).

Brixia Tour - All Winners
2001 Cadel Evans (Aus)
2002 Igor Astarloa (Spa)
2003 Martin Derganc (Slo)
2004 Danilo Di Luca (Ita)
2005 Emanuele Sella (Ita)
2006 Davide Rebellin (Ita)
2007 Davide Rebellin (Ita)
2008 Santo Anzą (Ita)
2009 Giampaolo Caruso (Ita)

Related Articles
9th Brixia Tour - Stage 2 UPDATED
9th Brixia Tour - Stage 3
9th Brixia Tour - Stage 4 Updated

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |