Search the news archive:
Tour of California Women's Criterium - Santa Rosa
By Bart Hazen
Date: 2/17/2009
Tour of California Women's Criterium - Santa Rosa

Tour of California Women's Criterium - Santa Rosa

Swedish Team Columbia-Highroad sprinter Emilia Fahlin has won the Women's Criterium at the Tour of California in Santa Rosa. In the sprint Fahlin, who was third in this criterium a year ago, was faster than Lauren Tamayo and Rachel Lloyd. Karla Kingsley and Touchstone captain Sarah Bamberger completed the top five.

The race took place in miserable weather with rain all day long. About 30 minutes (of 60 minutes) into the race a thirteen rider break broke clear from the bunch including Emilia Fahlin, Lauren Tamayo, Rachel Lloyd, Kim Anderson, Meredith Miller, Kelly Benjamin, Robin Farina, Kristin McGrath, Olivia Dillion, Sarah Bamberger, Jen Riether, Karla Kingsley and Kathryn Mattis.

The break quickly gathered a lead of twenty seconds on the bunch. In the break Team TIBCO riders Meredith Miller and Lauren Tamayo were the most aggressive trying to reduce the break. Also attacks of Farina and Mattis were neutralized by the strong Columbia-Highroad duo Anderson and Fahlin.

Going into the final lap it became clear that the winner of the race was one of the thirteen in front. Fahlin started her sprint with 300 meters to go and easily hold of Lauren Tamayo and Cyclocross star Rachel Lloyd for the win.

The sprint of the bunch for rank fourteen was won by Ina Teutenberg followed by American Road & Criterium Champion Brooke Miller.

1 Emila Fahlin (Team Columbia Highroad)
2 Lauren Tamayo (Team Tibco)
3 Rachel Lloyd (Proman)
4 Karla Kingsley (Sugar CRM)
5 Sarah Bamberger (Touchstone Climbing)
6 Kelly Benjamin (Colavita Sutter-Home/Cooking Light)
7 Kristen McGrath (ValueAct Capitol Cycling Team)
8 Olivia Dillion (Touchstone Climbing)
9 Kathryn Mattis (Webcor Builders Cycling Team)
10 Robin Farina (ValueAct Capitol Cycling Team)
11 Jenifer Reither (Vanderkitten)
12 Kim Anderson (Team Columbia Highroad)
13 Meredith Miller (Team Tibco)
14 Ina Teutenberg (Team Columbia Highroad)
15 Brooke Miller (Team Tibco)
16 Gina Grain (Webcor Builders Cycling Team)
17 Martina Patella (ValueAct Capitol Cycling Team)
18 Vanessa Drigo (Hopkins Honda)
19 Mary Maroon (Vanderkitten)
20 Laura Van Gilder (Sugar CRM)
21 Alexandra Wrubleski (Team Columbia Highroad)
22 Mary Ellen Ash (Sugar CRM)
23 Jenifer Wilson (Vanderkitten)
24 Kristen Drumm (KD Enterprises)
25 Tina Pic (Colavita Sutter-Home/Cooking Light)
26 Helene Drumm (Proman Hit Squad)
27 Janel Robertson (Metromint Cycling)
28 Amy Dombroski (Webcor Cycling Team)
29 Amber Rais (Team Tibco)
30 Yukie Nakamura (Metromint Cycling)
31 Cari Higgins (Proman)
32 Anna Davenport (Zeitgeist/Ultimate Fit)
33 Kristen Meshberg (BH USA)
34 Carol Irving (Touchstone Climbing)
35 Starla Teddergreen (Sugar CRM)
36 Emily Zell (ValueAct Capitol Cycling Team)
37 Jadine Riley (Team Group Health)
38 Lauren Hecht (Webcor Cycling Team)
39 Patricia Bailey (Wines of Washington)
40 Liza Rachetto (Sugar CRM)
41 Nicole Evans (Webcor Builders Cycling Team)
42 Rebecca Much (Webcor Builders Cycling Team)
43 Christina Ruiter (ValueAct Capitol Cycling Team)
44 Heather Logan (Colavita Sutter-Home/Cooking Light)
45 Shontell Gauthier (Colavita Sutter-Home/Cooking Light)
46 Erica Allar (Colavita Sutter-Home/Cooking Light)
47 Lindsey Meyers (Sugar CRM)
48 Rae Brownsberger (Webcor Alto Velo)
49 Alison Rosenthal (TIBCO)
50 Melissa Sanborn (Vanderkitten)
51 Alison Starnes (Team Tibco)
52 Erinne Willock (Webcor Builders Cycling Team)
53 Stacy Marple (Colavita Sutter-Home/Cooking Light)
54 Nichole Wangsgard (Colavita Sutter-Home/Cooking Light)
55 Mara Abbott (Team Columbia Highroad)
56 Kristen Sanders (ValueAct Capitol Cycling Team)

  • Discuss this race and the sport with other cycling fans from around the world on the Daily Forums and Chat Room.
  • Sponsor the daily peloton & advertise your product - contact us.
  • Do you have a passion for cycling and a yen to write? contact us.

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |