Search the news archive:
Trust House Cycle Classic - Start List Announced
By Staff
Date: 1/18/2009
Trust House Cycle Classic - Start List Announced

Trust House Cycle Classic - Start List Announced
Australian Riders set to Arrive for the 22nd Edition of the New Zealand Tour... Start List: Teams, Riders, & Bib Numbers

Top Cyclists Ready to Rumble
The final field to take part in this week’s International Trust House Cycle Classic was announced today by Race Director Jorge Sandoval. Top national and professional riders from New Zealand and overseas make up the field for the year’s biggest cycle tour in New Zealand. For the first time five UCI pro teams are taking part in a New Zealand Cycle tour.

The Trust House Cycle Classic will celebrate its 22nd anniversary this year, Race Director Jorge Sandoval said he is confident the hilly stages will be challenging and all stages will provide excellent racing and spectator opportunities. The 2009 event will commence on January 21st with a Team Time Trial around Fraser Park in Avalon and finish five days later with the Wellington criterium in Lambton Quay after 7 stages.

Sandoval says the 2009 tour should be special, “For the first time in 22 years, we have five UCI pro teams in the race. This year’s is the 22nd edition of the tour and we are looking forward to a great celebration. The tour is now recognized overseas as has attracted the best from New Zealand and Australia. The 125 km stage three, the hardest in the tour will test all riders, there are a total of five major climbs in this day and to put the ice on the cake, they finish with a 12 km hill climb to the top of Admiral hill in the Wairarapa.

Recently crowned New Zealand road national Champion Gordon McCauley has won almost every bike race in this country but has never won this tour, this could be his year. Professionals Jeremy Vennel who is based in Europe for most of the year is also coming to the tour in great form riding for his Cardno team as well as Jeremy Yates” Sandoval said.

The Australians Are Coming
The Australian riders (25 in total) are all race fit and being Australians, they will want to win. Leading the Australian charge is the Drapac Porshe team led by Peter McDonald, surprise winner of the Australian road championship at Ballarat last Sunday, has honored a commitment to contest the Trust House Cycle Classic rather than take up an automatic entry in  the high-profile Tour Down Under in Adelaide.

Australian professional Cameron Jennings (Team Budget Forklifts) brings considerable experience and knowledge with over six seasons racing in the most demanding races around the world and Joel Pearson who show great form in last week’s Bay City Criteriums in Australia, racing against the best sprinters in the world. Any of them could take the title to Australia for the second time in two years.

This is the seventh time in the 22-year history that the event has gained major support from the Trust House Charitable Trust. The race is also a Class A - UCI 2.2 event. The Trust House Cycle Classic with all the colour, drama and excitement of world class cycling, will provide a unique showcase for the whole region when it is screened on TV both nationally and internationally.

The Australian teams will arrive at Wellington Airport in several flights on the 20th in between 2:30 and 5 pm.

2009 Trust House Classic
Start List: Teams, Riders and Bib Numbers

Trust House Team
1 Lyttle Scott
2 Odlin Paul
3 Williams Marc Australia
4 Peña David Spain
5 Torckler Michael

Cardno Team
6 Vennel Jeremy
7 Latham Peter
8 Kemp Omar USA
9 Kerr Justin
10 Warren Daniel

Team Enterprise Cycling
11 Yates Jeremy
12 Bajc Andy * Croatia
13 Meenhorst Alex*
14 Crowther Eliot*
15 Hanover Thomas*

Savings and Loans Team (Australia)
16 Crawford Jai
17 Roe Tim
18 Pell David
19 Pearson Joel
20 Dickeson Will

Drapac Porsche Cycling Team  (Australia)
21 McDonald Peter
22 Bates Gene
23 O’Brien Mark
24 Pip Grinter
25 Palmer Thomas

QSM Racing Team (Australia)
26 Nicholas Formosa
27 Gutowski Gilbert
28 Bateson Kyle
29 Kilmartin Scott
30 Cummings Brady

Team Budget Forklifts (Australia)
31 Anderson Jack
32 England Michael
33 Jennings Cameron
34 McCartney Craig
35 Stevenson Cody

Star & Garter - (Tasmania)
36 Reid Robin
37 Nicholson Chris
38 Bennett George
39 Fulton Dean
40 Ayre David

R & R Team
41 Dearden Curtis
42 Gorter Matt
43 Gorter Sheldon
44 Weinberg Rod
45 Mangham Wade

Sanz Team
46 Coates Jonathan
47 Hagan Andrew
48 Andrew Ellis
49 Blake Jordan
50 Evans Lee

Team BP
51 Barlow Andrew
52 Mort Logan
53 King- Turner Sam
54 Barlow Jason
55 Neems Dion

Subway Avanti Cycling Team
56 McCauley Gordon
57 Drower Eric
58 Cooper Joseph
59 Williamson James *
60 Allen Jason

Mercedez Benz 
61 Sillars Matt *
62 Rodger Shem
63 Carter Brad
64 Wills Ryan
65 Langlands Mark

Tait Communications Team
66 Marshall Mathew
67 McGregor Alex
68 Jones Brendan Australia
69 Straub Geoff Germany
70 Weston Samuel

Handy Rentals
71 Atkinson Jonathan
72 Briggs Winston
73 Nicoll Grant
74 Evans Ben
75 Kendall Chris

Penny's Cycling Team
76 Croft Latham
77 Brown Josh
78 Lithgow Daniel
79 Elden Steven
80 James McCarthy

Benchmark Homes Cycling Team
81 Barry Daniel
82 Naylor Michael
83 McCoy James
84 Hextall Leon
85 Williams Andrew

Business Office Solutions Team
86 Page Josh
87 Renner Peter
88 Harding- Sheath Oliver
89 Harding-Sheath Nic
90 Fleming Ben

2009 Trust House Cycle Classic - Tour of Wellington Stages:
Stage 1 Hutt Team Time Trial 12 km

Wednesday 21st January 2009 – 2.30pm

Stage 2 Featherson - Masterton 145 km
Thursday 22nd January 2009 – 10.30am

Stage 3 Masterton Circuit (Summit Finish Admiral Hill) 125.3 km
Friday 23rd January 2009 – 10.00am

Sage 4 Gladstone Circuit - 120km
Saturday 24th January 2009- 10.00am

Stage 5 Masterton Criterium
Saturday 24th January 20093.00 Pm

Sunday 25th January 2009 - 10.00am
Stage 6 Individual Time Trial - Wellington City 12 km
Stage 7  Wellington City Criterium

Note; Only standard road bikes are permitted to be use in all Time Trials in the tour. Specialists time trial bikes are not permitted, however the use of disk wheels or clip-on aero bars is allowed. -
Women's Tour of New Zealand UCI 2.2

  • Discuss this race and the sport with other cycling fans from around the world on the Daily Forums and Chat Room.
  • Sponsor the daily peloton & advertise your product - contact us.
  • Do you have a passion for cycling and a yen to write? contact us.
Related Articles
New Zealand Road Championships - Time Trials
New Zealand Elite Road National Championships - Elite Road
2009 Trust House Cycle Classic - New Zealand teams announced

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |