Search the news archive:
Rabobank Continental Team 2009
By Bart Hazen
Date: 1/8/2009
Rabobank Continental Team 2009

Rabobank Continental Team 2009

The Rabobank Continental Team presented itself in Hoogerheide today. The team has the ambition to stay the best development team in the world in 2009. Despite the switch from Lars Boom from the Continental Team to the ProTour team of Rabobank the team still has lots of talent with amongst others Theo Bos, Sergej Fuchs, Tejay van Garderen, Martijn Keizer, Coen Vermeltfoort and Dennis van Winden.

Dennis van Winden
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

Theo Bos is the most remarkable name in the team. Bos is a multiple Track World Champion and National Track Champion and also gained the silver medal at the 2004 Olympic Sprint. In 2008 Bos decided to switch from Track to Road in 2009 and got the opportunity with Rabobank. Bos is explosive and can turn into a good road sprinter but he still has a long training program to go to reach a good "road form".

Coen Vermeltfoort
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

The team consists of 21 riders and six of them are new in the team. Next to Theo Bos the newcomers are Sergej Fuchs, Mats Boeve, Niek van Geffen, Jasper Ockeloen and Maurice Vrijmoed.

Theo Bos
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

Last year the Continental Team gained 38 victories and most of them came from Lars Boom (13 victories) and sprinter Coen Vermeltfoort (8). To see a list of the victories and the podium places, click here

Maurice Vrijmoed
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

The team has also one American rider on the team with Tejay van Garderen. Van Garderen gained three individual wins last year with a stage in the Tour de L'Avenir, GP Tell and the Fleche du Sud. He also won the Team Time Trial in the Volta Ciclista Internacional a Lleida.

Sergej Fuchs
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

The team
Joeri Adams (Bel)
Bart Aernouts (Bel)
Thomas Berkhout (Ned)
Mats Boeve (Ned)
Jetse Bol (Ned)

Bart Aernouts
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

Theo Bos (Ned)
Sergej Fuchs (Ger)
Tejay van Garderen (USA)
Niek van Geffen (Ned)
Martijn Keizer (Ned)
Gerben de Knegt (Ned)
Michel Kreder (Ned)

Boy van Poppel
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

Steven Kruijswijk (Ned)
Jasper Ockeloen (Ned)
Boy van Poppel (Ned)
Thomas Rabou (Ned)
Ramon Sinkeldam (Ned)
Michael van Staeyen (Bel)

The 2009 Rabobank Continentel Team
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

Coen Vermeltfoort (Ned)
Maurice Vrijmoed (Ned)
Dennis van Winden (Ned)

The Cyclocross part of the team: Aernouts, Adams, Van Poppel, Sinkeldam and De Knegt
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

Theo Bos and Coen Vermeltfoort.
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

Jasper Ockeloen
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

More photos, click here

  • Discuss this race and the sport with other cycling fans from around the world on the Daily Forums and Chat Room.
  • Sponsor the daily peloton & advertise your product - contact us.
  • Do you have a passion for cycling and a yen to write? contact us.

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |