Search the news archive:
Garmin/Slipstream ProTeam 2009 Squad Announced
By Staff
Date: 11/26/2008
Garmin/Slipstream ProTeam 2009 Squad Announced

Garmin/Slipstream Pro Cycling Team 2009 Squad Announced
Jonathan Vaughters announces his Argyles - 29 Strong International roster goes from strength to strength for 2009. The Argyle Club...

Garmin-Slipstream Pro Cycling Team officially announced the 2009 roster today during the team presentation in Boulder, Colorado. For the first time, the team will hit the ProTour circuit with an impressive 29-man squad that includes Olympic, world and national champions.

Most of the 2008 team remains, including stars Christian Vande Velde, David Millar and US national road champion David Zabriskie.

New to the team is Olympic and world champion Bradley Wiggins, a British track star. World track champion in the 4K individual pursuit, team pursuit (world record) and the madison, Wiggins also won Olympic gold medals in the 4K individual pursuit and the team pursuit in Beijing this summer.

Oh Canada
Impressive Canadians talents Svein Tuft and Christian Meier join the team for 2009. Despite an unfortunate flat, Tuft managed to take the silver medal in the 2008 world time trial championships in Varese, Italy. Current Canadian national road champion, Meier has been riding for the team as a hard-working stagiaire for the last few months. Ryder Hesjedal returns after a season of remarkable consistency.

Dutch rider Hans Dekkers joins the team as a talented sprinter. After coming back from an early season knee injury, Dekkers beat Tom Boonen to win the Nationale Sluitingprijs this October. The youngest additions to the team are 20-year-old Australian rider Cameron Meyer and 21-year-old Dutch rider Ricardo Van Der Velde, both considered up-and-coming all around riders.

Garmin-Slipstream Squad 2009
Magnus Backstedt, Sweden
Blake Caldwell, USA
Steven Cozza, USA
Tom Danielson, USA
Julian Dean, New Zealand

Hans Dekkers, Holland
Jason Donald, USA
Timmy Duggan, USA
Huub Duyn, Holland
Lucas Euser, USA

Tyler Farrar, USA
Mike Friedman, USA
Will Frischkorn, USA
Ryder Hesjedal, Canada
Trent Lowe, Australia

Martijn Maaskant, Holland
Dan Martin, Ireland
Christian Meier, Canada
Cameron Meyer, Australia
David Millar, United Kingdom

Danny Pate, USA
Kilian Patour, France
Tom Peterson, USA
Chris Sutton, Australia
Svein Tuft, Canada

Ricardo Van Der Velde, Holland
Christian Vande Velde, USA
Bradley Wiggins, United Kingdom
David Zabriskie, USA

Argyle Club
Your chance to join the team - in look, through insider info, even on exclusive rides and VIP events - is here! Welcome to The Argyle Club!

Over the past year, Garmin - Slipstream has set out to change the world of cycling. Along the way you the fans have asked what you could do to help support the team. In response we are very excited to present a new program called the Argyle Club. You get to both support the team and get some pretty phenomenal benefits back. It is almost as good as being a rider on the team!

- 2009 Team Kit with a personally endorsed Jersey from the team
- Team Casual Merchandise to sport around town.
- Riding Events with the Team
- A VIP Ticket to next years Gala team launch event in Boulder, CO
- Exclusive “Race Insights” direct from JV

and that’s not all, our sponsors have very generously supported the program and are providing all Argyle Club Members:

- Garmin is providing Factory Direct pricing on 2 Garmin products, including a savings of up to $130 on a team Edge 705
- Chipotle is providing all members “FREE BURRITOS for the YEAR”
- Felt is providing a discount of 10% on bikes, including Team Editions
- Pearl is providing 40% off up to $1000 in purchases
- Shimano is providing exclusive pricing on the new R310 Shoe
- Giro is providing 20% of the team issue helmet and havic glasses
- Pedros is providing a Free “Pit Kit’ to keep your bike looking like a team mechanic just washed it.
- Camelbak is providing two free Team Edition Podium Bottles

You can sign-up online today. The introductory pricing for the first 100 members is $995 for the year.

  • Discuss this race and the sport with other cycling fans from around the world on the Daily Forums and Chat Room.
  • Sponsor the daily peloton & advertise your product - contact us.
  • Do you have a passion for cycling and a yen to write? contact us.
Related Articles
Amstel Curacao Race - 7th Edition
Yaroslav Popovych Completes 2009 Astana Cycling Team Roster
Colavita/Sutter Home for 2009: Aaron Olson returns to team

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |