Search the news archive:
World Cup Cyclocross #1 - Kalmthout: Elite Women
By Bart Hazen
Date: 10/21/2008
World Cup Cyclocross #1 - Kalmthout: Elite Women

World Cup Cyclocross #1 - Kalmthout: Elite Women

The 2008-2009 World Cup Cyclocross kicked off in Kalmthout (Belgium) on Sunday October 19.

At the start: Van den Brand - Salvetat - Kupfernagel
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

The cyclocross in Kalmthout, last year won by Dutch Daphny van den Brand, went underway in sunny weather conditions. Due to the weather conditions the course was really fast.

Katie Compton at the start. In the first lap she dropped out of the race
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

Thirty seven women started the race in Kalmthout. Dutch Saskia Elemans (Team Flexpoint) had the best start and turned as first into the field followed by Daphny van den Brand, Hanka Kupfernagel, Maryline Salvetat and Helen Wyman.

Helen Wyman leads Van den Brand and Kupfernagel on the stairs
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

During the first lap Van den Brand and Kupfernagel jumped away. Wyman was trying to follow. In the same first lap American race favorite Katie Compton had pulled out of the race due to an injury.

At the end of the first lap we had a break of six up front with Van den Brand, Kupfernagel, Wyman, Nadia Triquet, Pavla Havlikova and Saskia Elemans. The six had a small lead on Belgian Sanne Cant and a group of ten chasers.

Click on photos for a larger image:

Belgian Sanne Cant (L) - former world champion Maryline Salvetat (R)
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

Defending champion Van den Brand was riding very strong and in the second lap she attacked again and only Kupfernagel and the surprising Havlikova could follow.

Daphny van den Brand in the attack
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

In the next laps both Van den Brand and Kupfernagel attacked each other but without any luck. In the fifth lap we again had a group of six riders in the lead with Van den Brand, Kupfernagel, Havlikova, Ferrier-Bruneau, Triquet and Elemans. Behind the break we had a chasing group of five at 20 seconds with Salvetat, Simms, Ingels, Van Paassen and Mani.

Click on photos for a larger image:

Hanka Kupfernagel (L) - Saskia Elemans (R)
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

During the final lap of the race Van den Brand attacked in the forest and quickly got a gap on the others. Kupfernagel couldn't react immediately as she was riding behind Ferrier-Bruneau and couldn't get passed her. At the time Kupfernagel was able to pass Ferrier-Bruneau the gap too Van den Brand was too big.

The surprising third Pavla Havlikova
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

Van den Brand won the cyclocross of Kalmthout for the fourth time in a row. At 5 seconds it was Kupfernagel who won the sprint for second ahead of Havlikova and Ferrier. Triquet finished as fifth at 13 seconds.

Daphny van den Brand wins
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

Hanka Kupfernagel happy with her second place
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

The Northern Americans did very well with Wendy Simms (Canada) at rank 8 and Susan Butler (USA) at rank 14. Christine Vardaros finished as 30th.

Next weekend the World Cup will continue in Tabor in the Czech Republic.

1 Daphny Van Den Brand (Ned) 39.48
2 Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) 0.05
3 Pavla Havlikova (Cze) 0.06

The podium
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

4 Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra)
5 Nadia Triquet-Claude (Fra) 0.13
6 Saskia Elemans (Ned) 0.14
7 Maryline Salvetat (Fra) 0.32
8 Wendy Simms (Can) 0.34
9 Veerle Ingels (Bel) 0.35
10 Sanne Van Paassen (Ned) 0.37
11 Caroline Mani (Fra) 0.38
12 Helen Wyman (GBr) 0.59
13 Arenda Grimberg (Ned) 1.54
14 Susan Butler (USA)
15 Sanne Cant (Bel) 1.55

Daphny van den Brand together with Flemish comic characters Suske and Wiske
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

16 Linda Van Rijen (Ned)
17 Veronica Alessio (Ita)
18 Gabriella Day (GBr) 1.56
19 Abke Francissen (Ned) 2.30
20 Birgit Hollmann (Ger) 2.32
21 Jana Kyptova (Cze) 3.05
22 Elke Riedl (Aut) 3.13
23 Mika Ogishima (Jpn) 3.17
24 Nancy Bober (Bel) 3.45
25 Gertie Willems (Bel) 3.46

Christine Vardaros
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

26 Tessa Van Nieuwpoort (Ned) 3.54
27 Lise Müller (Swi) 4.43
28 Francis Keizer (Ned) 4.55
29 Jana Suess (Ger) 5.03
30 Christine Vardaros (USA)

Wendy Simms
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

31 Suzie Godart (Lux) Fenixs
32 Jennifer Sagesser (Swi) 6.30
33 Katrien Vermeiren (Bel) 7.01
34 Dorien Raeymaekers (Bel) 7.19
35 Kim Van Renterghem (Bel) 7.56
36 Zuzana Vojtasova (Svk) 8.17
DNF Katherine Compton (USA)

Susan Butler
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

Photo gallery of the race click here

  • Discuss this race and the sport with other cycling fans from around the world on the Daily Forums and Chat Room.
  • Sponsor the daily peloton & advertise your product - contact us.
  • Join the Daily Peloton crew, writers, photographers and techs with a passion for cycling and a yen to write: long hours, demanding work and lots of fun.
Related Articles
Cyclocross - Kermiscross Ardooie
World Cup Cyclocross #1 - Kalmthout: Elite Men
Cyclocross - Kalmthout: U23-Men

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |