Search the news archive:
Cyclocross - Kalmthout: U23-Men
By Bart Hazen
Date: 10/20/2008
Cyclocross - Kalmthout: U23-Men

Cyclocross - Kalmthout: U23-Men

The U23 Cyclocross in Kalmthout (October 19) wasn't part of the World Cup. The World Cup for the U23 Category will kick-off in Tabor next week. But nevertheless the participating field was very good.

Waiting for the start
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

The U23 race ended up in a sprint between four riders won by Belgian Champion Tom Meeusen. Meeusen was the best ahead of German Philipp Walsleben, Dutch Mitchell Huenders and Belgian Joeri Adams.

Click on photos for a larger image:

Tom Meeusen leads Philipp Walsleben - Philipp Walsleben was very strong during the race
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

The good weather conditions made the race very fast and the top riders were very equal to each other.

The race was very tough due to the high pace
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

Walsleben leads Meeusen and Huenders
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

The race was animated by Meeusen, Walsleben, Huenders, Adams and Sinkeldam. All attacked each other but didn't get away. Turning into the final lap Huenders tried it with an ultimate jump but also without success.

Mitchell Huenders attacks in the final lap
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

Huenders started the sprint as first and it looked like he was going to win but both Meeusen and Walsleben defeated him at the finish line. For Meeusen it's his third season win after Neerpelt and Zonhoven.

Photo gallery

1 Tom Meeusen Fidea Cycling Team
2 Philipp Walsleben Palmans-Cras
3 Mitchell Huenders Asito

Tom Meeusen wins the sprint
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

4 Joeri Adams Rabobank
5 Ramon Sinkeldam Rabobank
6 Quentin Bertholet Fidea Cycling Team
7 Robert Gavenda Fidea Cycling Team
8 Wim Leemans AVB Cycling Team
9 Jim Aernouts Palmans-Cras
10 Kenneth Van Compernolle Sunweb Projob

The podium
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

11 Ivar Hartogs Revor Cycling Team
12 Kevin Eeckhout Sunweb ProJob
13 Marek Konwa
14 Micki Van Empel
15 Daniél Summerhill USA Cycling Team
16 Gianni Denolf Palmans-Cras
17 Matthias Flückiger
18 Vincent Baestaens Fidea Cycling Team
19 Dries Pauwels Empella Czech Team
20 Dave De Cleyn Scott USA Cycling Team

Walsleben leads Meeusen and Adams
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

21 Geert Van Der Horst WTC Woerden
22 Kevin Cant AVB Cycling Team
23 Jan Denuwelaere
24 Nico Brungger
25 Dany Lacroix
26 Julian Van Dijk
27 Rik Van IJzendoorn
28 Jordy Beuker
29 Bjorn Selander USA Cycling Team
30 Bart Hermans EasyPay

Mitchell Huenders
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

31 Dennis Verhoeven AVB Cycling Team
32 Tom De Smet
33 Jelle Brackman Granville-Morgan Blue Cycling Team
34 Kevin Smit
35 Nick De Proost MBK - Delsol Team
36 Arnaud Van Den Abeele VZW Wielerclub " Onder Ons - Parike "
37 Jeffrey Depuydt Jonge Renners Roeselare
38 Vincent Van Hooste Asfra Racing Team
39 Amadeusz Rodzinski
40 Laurent Moulin Royal Velo Sport Peruwelz

Joeri Adams
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

41 Cees De Ridder
42 Kenneth Speltincx
43 Jean Baptist Taleux
44 Christophe Delvaux
45 Joachim Janssens WK Noord West Brabant

Ramon Sinkeldam
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

Note: report and photos of the Women's World Cup to come...

  • Discuss this race and the sport with other cycling fans from around the world on the Daily Forums and Chat Room.
  • Sponsor the daily peloton & advertise your product - contact us.
  • Join the Daily Peloton crew, writers, photographers and techs with a passion for cycling and a yen to write: long hours, demanding work and lots of fun.
Related Articles
World Cup Cyclocross #1 - Kalmthout: Elite Men

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |