Search the news archive:
Superprestige Cyclocross #1 - Ruddervoorde
By Bart Hazen
Date: 10/12/2008
Superprestige Cyclocross #1 - Ruddervoorde

Superprestige Cyclocross #1 - Ruddervoorde

The openings cross of the Superprestige in Ruddervoorde is won for the seventh time by Sven Nys. The king of cross won in a sprint with three of Klaas Vantornout and Niels Albert. Rob Peeters and Kevin Pauwels completed the top 5. Sven Nys had a very successful weekend by winning two races in equal days. Yesterday he was the best in the cross of Dottignies.

The weather was good and lots of people came to visit the race. World Champion Lars Boom, competing in his first cross of the new season, had the best start followed by Klaas Vantornout, Sven Nys and Zdenek Stybar. Bart Wellens and Niels Albert both had a worst start and were not in the top 10 after one lap.

In the third of ten laps Vantornout attacked and only Sven Nys was able to follow. At the end of the lap the duo had a small lead on the first chasing group with Thijs Al, Kevin Pauwels, Lars Boom and Niels Albert who was moving up after his bad start. In the next laps Lars Boom his energy seemed to be gone as he had to drop of the back of the chasing group to finish 18th in the end.

The crowd in Ruddervoorde
Photo © 2008 Niels de Wit

In the chasing group Albert attacked and got rid of his companions. The talented Belgian was going strong and was about to bridge across to the two leaders before he got stuck in the sand section. Therefore Kevin Pauwels and Rob Peeters were able to rejoin Albert in the chase.

But not for long as Albert attacked again and both Pauwels and Peeters had to drop again. It looked for a while that Albert couldn't bridge up to Nys and Vantornout as the two in front worked well together. But just before the final lap the cooperation was gone and Albert was able to join them in the final lap.

In the final lap Vantornout attacked several times to get rid of "the king" and "the prince" of the Belgian cyclocross but he didn't succeed. It became a sprint with three and Nys won very easy. Klaas Vantornout finished as second and Albert as third.

Nys leads Vantornout on the stairs
Photo © 2008 Niels de Wit

The U23 race was won by German Philipp Walsleben. Walsleben won ahead of Tom Meeusen and Lucas Kloucek.

Next weekend the World Cup will kick-off in Kalmthout (Bel).

1 Sven Nys Landbouwkrediet
2 Klaas Vantornout Sunweb Projob
3 Niels Albert Palmans-Cras

4 Rob Peeters Landbouwkrediet
5 Kevin Pauwels Fidea Cycling Team
6 Bart Wellens Fidea Cycling Team
7 Al Thijs
8 Erwin Vervecken Fidea Cycling Team
9 Bart Aernouts Rabobank Continental Team
10 Dieter Vanthourenhout Palmans-Cras
11 Jan Soetens Revor Cycling Team
12 Richard Groenendaal AA Cycling Team
13 Gerben De Knegt Rabobank Continental Team
14 Ben Berden Revor Cycling Team
15 Tom Van Den Bosch Rendementhypo Cycling Team
16 Zdenek Stybar Fidea Cycling Team
17 Jonathan Page Planet Bike
18 Lars Boom Rabobank
19 Radomir Simunek Palmans-Cras
20 Christian Heule Rendementhypo Cycling Team
21 Bjorn Rondelez Lingier Versluys Beachbikers Team Vzw
22 Petr Dlask Fidea Cycling Team
23 Jan Verstraeten Sunweb Projob
24 Roy Van Heeswijk
25 Wilant Van Gils ZZPR.NL
26 Martin Zlamalik
27 Thijs Van Amerongen
28 Tim Van Nuffel Easypay
29 Ian Field
30 Stijn Huys Palmans-Cras
31 Michael Muller
32 Geert Wellens AVB Cycling Team
33 David Seco Amundarain
34 Patrick Van Leeuwen
35 Oscar Vazquez Crespo
36 Constantino Zaballa Gutierrez Povoa Cycling Club
37 Bart Verschueren Revor Cycling Team
38 Pieter Ghillbert
39 Jerry Kallenfels EasyPay
40 Steven De Schoesitter Rudyco Cycling Team

  • Discuss this race and the sport with other cycling fans from around the world on the Daily Forums and Chat Room.
  • Sponsor the daily peloton & advertise your product - contact us.
  • Do you have a passion for cycling and a yen to write? contact us.
Related Articles
Cyclocross: Grand Prix de la Région Wallonne - Dottignies
Powers and Compton celebrate at day 1 Cincinnati CX Festival
Cyclocross: Cincinatti Festival #2

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |