Search the news archive:
Cyclocross - Grote Prijs AVB Zonhoven
By Bart Hazen
Date: 10/6/2008
Cyclocross - Grote Prijs AVB Zonhoven

Cyclocross - Grote Prijs AVB Zonhoven

On October 5 a part of the cyclocross scene gathered together in Zonhoven for the GP AVB . Both the U23 and the Elite Men battled for the victory on a very challenging course. A report:

Zdenek Stybar
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

Elite Men
The men started at 17.00 under very wet wetter conditions. Niels Albert had the best start and immediately created a gap on his competitors. Lap by lap Albert his lead was growing and the others were not able to bridge across anymore to the young strong Belgian.

Click on photos for a larger image:

Niels Albert (L) in the early laps - Niels Albert (R) on his way to victory
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

For the second place it was never an exciting battle either with Klaas Vantornout finishing second. For the third place it was more exciting with Stybar, Dlask and Wellens battling for the third podium spot. But in the end it was Stybar taking the third place also due to a flat tire of Bart Wellens.

Niels Albert takes the win
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

1 Niels Albert Palmans-Cras
2 Klaas Vantornout Sunweb Projob
3 Zdenek Stybar Fidea Cycling Team

4 Petr Dlask Fidea Cycling Team
5 Bart Wellens Fidea Cycling Team
6 Erwin Vervecken Fidea Cycling Team
7 Kevin Pauwels Fidea Cycling Team
8 Al Thijs
9 Rob Peeters Landbouwkrediet
10 Richard Groenendaal AA Cycling Team

The podium
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

11 Wilant Van Gils ZZPR.NL
12 Dieter Vanthourenhout Palmans-Cras
13 Ben Berden Revor Cycling Team
14 Gerben De Knegt Rabobank Continental Team
15 Jan Soetens Revor Cycling Team
16 Jan Verstraeten Sunweb Projob
17 Tom De Kort AVB Cycling Team
18 Eddy Van IJzendoorn
19 Nico Berckmans DCM-GB Vorselaar Cycling Team Vzw
20 Jimmy Tielens

Click on photos for a larger image:

Klaas Vantornout (L) and Bart Wellens (R)
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

21 Mariusz Gil
22 Geert Wellens AVB Cycling Team
23 Kristof Luyten Pro Cycling Team Vzw - Neerpelt
24 Jerry Kallenfels EasyPay
25 Steven De Schoesitter Rudyco Cycling Team
26 Peter Goeman Asfra Racing Team

U23 Men
The U23 category started previous to the Elite men's race. In the beginning Belgian Champion Tom Meeusen had the best start together with Mitchell Huenders.

Click on photos for a larger image:

Tom Meeusen (L) and Quentin Bertholet (R)
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

In the next laps Meeusen went on and only Quentin Bertholet was able to follow. Bertholet even attacked Meeusen on the climb but he was a little reckless. Meeusen came back and immediately left him behind.

Meeusen went on and was able to manage a solid lead on his closest competitors. Behind Meeusen Kenneth van Compernolle and Lukas Kloucek were battling for the second place while Quentin Bertholet felt back to rank 5.

Junior World Champion and first years U23 Arnaud Jouffroy
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

In the final lap nothing spectacular happened anymore and Meeusen took his second win of the season. Earlier he won the cross of Neerpelt. Kenneth van Compernolle finished as second and Lukas Kloucek as third.

Tom Meeusen wins U23 race
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

1 Tom Meeusen Fidea Cycling Team
2 Kenneth Van Compernolle Sunweb Projob
3 Lukas Kloucek Sunweb ProJob

4 Jan Van Dael Sunweb ProJob
5 Quentin Bertholet Fidea Cycling Team
6 Wim Leemans AVB Cycling Team
7 Sven Verboven Palmans-Cras
8 Arnaud Jouffroy
9 Dave De Cleyn Scott USA Cycling Team
10 Kevin Cant AVB Cycling Team

The podium
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

11 Robert Gavenda
12 Twan Van Den Brand
13 Kevin Eeckhout Sunweb ProJob
14 Vincent Baestaens Fidea Cycling Team
15 Mitchell Huenders
16 Zeb Willems AVB - Cycling Team
17 Kristof Zegers WSC Jonge Renners - Booischot
18 Kristof Cop AVB Cycling Team
19 Bart Hermans EasyPay
20 Geert Van Der Horst WTC Woerden
21 Jan Denuwelaere
22 Dany Lacroix
23 Dennis Verhoeven AVB Cycling Team
24 Jeremy Grimal
25 Ruben Veestraeten AVB Cycling Team

Kenneth Van Compernolle
Photo 2008 Bart Hazen

26 Jonathan Bervoets Heylen Meubelcentrale Zlwc St.Truiden
27 Kaj Slenter
28 Dries Dewit Scott USA Cycling Team
29 Dries Pauwels Empella Czech Team
30 Jelle Brackman Granville-Morgan Blue Cycling Team
31 Cristian Izquierdo-Sholtobriukh Heylen Meubelcentrale

Photo gallery

  • Discuss this race and the sport with other cycling fans from around the world on the Daily Forums and Chat Room.
  • Sponsor the daily peloton & advertise your product - contact us.
  • Join the Daily Peloton crew, writers, photographers and techs with a passion for cycling and a yen to write: long hours, demanding work and lots of fun.
Related Articles
Cyclocross: Grote Prijs Neerpelt
GP Neerpelt - Photo Gallery

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |