Search the news archive:
69th Giro dell'Appennino
By Fabio
Date: 8/3/2008
69th Giro dell'Appennino
69th Giro dell'Appennino
What a difference one year DOESN'T make. Yep, it's Bertolini again! Chris Froome makes the podium.
Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni-Androni Giocattoli's Alessandro Bertolini got a second straight win in the Giro dell'Appennino one-day "classic" in northern Italy. The past season the man from Trentino soloed to the line to clinch victory, this time he found one rider able to match his power. At least until the final straight, where Bertolini couldn't help but pipping fellow Italian Eddy Ratti.

Bertolini nips Ratti for the repeat victory.  Photo © 2008 Fotoreporter Sirotti

The race kicked off at Novi Ligure (Alessandria province of Piedmont), in the "homeland" of Campionissimi like Fausto Coppi and Costante Girardengo. Nothing worthy of mention occurred until Francesco Masciarelli attacked on the Bocchetta climb. A group of seven chasers formed behind him, while the future race winner was in a second gruppo, trailing the guy by close to 01'30". But Bertolini did very fine on the Bocchetta descent and got across to join the first chase group.

The man himself drove the pursuit on the Castagnola slopes, with the gap being cut down to half a minute. Masciarelli got caught at the foot of the next hilly thing, the Passo dei Giovi, then Ratti and Bertolini made the gap on the final descent into Pontedecimo, a small place near Genoa that hosted today's finishing line. Britain's Christopher Froome (Barloworld) filled in the remaining top three spot at ten seconds. The Colombian Miguel Angel Rubiano Chávez led home the next chase group over a minute behind the winner.

Alessandro celebrates his second win in the race on the podium.
Photo © 2008 Fotoreporter Sirotti

Podium: Eddy Ratti, Alessandro Bertolini and Christian Froome
Photo © 2008 Fotoreporter Sirotti

69th Giro dell'Appennino  UCI 1.1
200 km - 4:45:35
1. BERTOLINI Alessandro SDA 4h45'35" 80
2. RATTI Eddy NEP 48
3. FROOME Chris BAR 10" 40

Alessandro Bertolini and Serramenti PVC manager Gianni "Il Principe" Savio
Photo © 2008 Fotoreporter Sirotti

4. RUBIANO CHAVEZ Miguel Angel CZP 01'03" 36
5. SZMYD Sylwester LAM 01'03" 32
6. PFANNBERGER Christian BAR 01'03" 28
7. GIUNTI Massimo MIE 01'03" 24
8. ANZA Santo SDA 01'03" 20
9. PELANEK Lubos LAM 01'03" 16
10. CARUSO Giampaolo FLM 01'03" 12
11. ZANASCA Luca CZP 01'03" 8
12. FAILLI Francesco ASA 01'56" 5
13. TIZZA Francesco NGC 01'56" 5
14. SESTILI Luigi FLM 01'56" 5
15. PIDGORNYY Ruslan LPR 01'56" 5
16. PIERFELICI Luca ASA 01'56" 5
17. POZZOVIVO Domenico CSF 01'56" 5
18. RUDASKOV Sergey COS 02'55" 5
19. CATALDO Dario LIQ 02'55" 5
20. CANNONE Donato NGC 02'55"

Italian road champion Filippo Simeoni finishes out of the top 20.
Photo © 2008 Fotoreporter Sirotti

  • Discuss this race and the sport with other cycling fans from around the world on the Daily Forums and Chat Room.
  • Sponsor the daily peloton & advertise your product - contact us.
  • Do you have a passion for cycling and a yen to write? Join the Daily Peloton writers co-op.


Related Articles
11th Gran Premio Nobili Rubinetterie Arona & Photos
28th Clásica Ciclista San Sebastián - Comments
33rd Subida a Urkiola (1.1)

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |