Search the news archive:
Swiss National Championships 2009 - Time-Trial
By Andy McGrath
Date: 6/26/2008
Swiss National Championships 2009 - Time-Trial

Cancellara and Thürig continue their dominance of the Swiss time-trial scene, both earning a fifth consecutive national title.

The question on the lips of Swiss cycling fans is no longer “who will win the national time-trial?” Instead, it is “how much will Fabian Cancellara win by?” Switzerland’s current two-wheel star added his fifth consecutive elite national time-trial title to his palmares yesterday afternoon in Messen, beating Rubens Bertogliati (Saunier Duval-Scott) by 1’37”. Volksbank pro Andreas Dietziker rounded off the podium, 2’10” behind.
The best non-professional was Nicolas Fischer, who rode superbly to fourth, just three seconds off the podium.

On the Team CSC website Cancellara, who has just enjoyed taking two stages in his home tour, commented: “"I am so tired, I gave all today. My club is arranging the race and I enjoy going "back to basics" and race this race without any sports directors, mechanics, soigneurs and all that. I think it's good for us pros to try go back and do this now and then to appreciate what we have.” His attentions will now turn to the Tour de France, though he may try and win his first national road-race title: "Now it's all about resting for the Tour. My shape is where I want it to be, but I need a little rest before the Tour start, so I'm not sure yet if I will do the road race Sunday. I will decide Saturday.”

25/06 – Swiss Elite Men’s National Time-Trial Championship, 45.4km
1. Fabian Cancellara (Ittigen/Team CSC) 56m 55s
2. Rubens Bertogliati (Lugano/Saunier Duval-Scott) at 1 minute 37 seconds
3. Andreas Dietziker (Aadorf/Team Volksbank) 2’10”
4. Nicolas Fischer (Genf) 2’13”
5. Joel Frei (Bützberg) 2’20”
6. Thomas Frei (Olten/Astana) 2’25”
7. Andreas Anderegg (Genf) 2’59”
8. Silvère Ackermann (Lajoux/NGC Medical-OTC Industria Porte) 3’00”
9. Simon Zahner (Meilen) 3’05”
10. René Murpf (Rain) 3’25”

In the women’s race, veteran ironman/cycling star Karin Thürig did the same as Cancellara, clinching her fifth national gong in a row. Despite only riding one lap to the men’s two, the recent Grande Boucle Féminine Internationale winner also enjoyed a similar margin of victory as the CSC man had, finishing 1’36” ahead of Sereina Trachsel and 1’53” in front of Cervélo-Lifeforce Pro Cycling Team counterpart Priska Doppmann. For Doppmann and Thürig, next on the menu are the Beijing Olympics. This year's champ will be hoping to improve on her road time-trial bronze from Athens 2004.

Perhaps one to take on Thürig’s crown as the next best thing in Swiss time-trialing is Patricia Wolfer. Fifteen years her junior at just 20 years of age, the Bigla Cycling Team member and former junior world champion on the track finished sixth.

25/06 – Swiss Elite Women’s National Time-Trial Championship, 22.7km
1. Karin Thürig (Retschwil/Cervélo Lifeforce Pro Cycling Team) 30m 49s
2. Sereina Trachsel (Weiach/Bigla Cycling Team) 1’36”
3. Priska Doppmann (Immensee/Cervélo Lifeforce Pro Cycling Team) 1’53”
4. Andrea Thürig (Luzern/Bigla Cycling Team) 2’39”
5. Patricia Schwager (Balterswil/Cervélo Lifeforce Pro Cycling Team) 2’44”
6. Andrea Wolfer (Elgg/Bigla Cycling Team) 3’25”

As for the men’s U23 category, Atlas-Romer’s rider Marcel Wyss continued his progression this year, beating closest challengers Schnyder and Stark by over a minute. Having won the Flèche du Sud in May – he clinched the prologue there too - beating a gaggle of other talented Espoirs, Wyss may be on his way to a professional contract in 2009.

In the junior events, Silvan Dillier and Kristina Tschanz were the winners in the two gender categories; incidentally, 17 year-old Dillier’s time of 30’03” would have placed him second in the U23 category, which certainly bodes well for the future.

25/06 – Swiss U23 Men’s National Time-Trial Championship, 22.7km
1. Marcel Wyss (Zollbrück/Atlas – Romer’s Hausbäckerei) 28m 57s
2. Nicolas Schnyder (Genf/Chambery CF) 1’10”
3. Dominique Stark (Horgenberg) 1’18”

Junior Men’s Winner (22.7km) – Silvan Dillier (Schneisingen) 30’03”
Junior Women’s Winner (12.8km) - Kristina Tschanz (Hagenbuch) 20’59”

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |