Search the news archive:
49th Fitchburg Longsjo Classic Gears Up
By Staff
Date: 6/18/2008
49th Fitchburg Longsjo Classic Gears Up

49th Fitchburg Longsjo Classic Gears Up
Annual Classic 4 day stage race prepares for July 4th weekend races. Preview

Fitchburg, Massachusetts  The Fitchburg Longsjo Classic expects some of the top riders from around the country for its 49th event over the Fourth of July week. As the second oldest pro/am cycling competition in the country, it has developed a strong following and this year is no exception, especially as the only east coast stage race on the USA Cycling National Race Calendar.

“The talent and diversity of the racers is a real tribute to Art Longsjo and the hundreds of volunteers who have helped put this race on for nearly 50 years,” noted the president of Fitchburg Cycling Club, George Gantz, who is the senior vice president of Unitil and one of the race underwriters.

Some of the pro teams coming to Fitchburg include: Bissell Pro Cycling, Kenda / Raleigh Cycling Team, Team Type 1, Team Colavita / Sutter Home, Targetraining and Team Budget Forklifts. In addition, a team from Australia is making the 15-hour plane trip for what has become a staple in the American cycling history books.

Past winners returning include: Jonathan Page, riding with Battley Harley Davidson/Sonoma; Shawn Milne, Team Type 1; and Rite Aid’s Jacob Rytlewski,  Tim Johnson from HealthNet p/by Maxxis (2007 U.S. Cyclocross Champion); Richard England, Tour de Georgia stage winner (Bissell Pro); Jesse Anthony, a local favorite from Beverly, MA, Team Type 1; and Tina Pic, a U.S. Criterium champion and multiple Longsjo stage winner riding for Colavita/Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light.

In addition, eyes will be on Budget Forklifts’ Michaela Anderson, who rides for the Australian team in the women’s 3/4 category. She holds multiple titles in her native Australia: 2006 Track Nationals, 500m time trial sprint; 2006 Road Nationals, Criterium Pairs Time Trial; 2007 Track Nationals, Team Sprint Pursuit and the 2007 Road Nationals Individual Time Trial Pairs Time Trial.

The race is dedicated to the memory of Arthur Longsjo, the first same-year dual (winter and summer) Olympian in the USA. Nearly 800 riders from across the USA and around the globe in eight different categories, including Women’s Pro/1 and Men’s Pro/1 will compete for $51, 500 in prize money.

Race Schedule - July 3 - 6
The racing gets underway Thursday, July 3rd with the Royal Plaza Time Trial, a 6.2-mile race against the clock. Race officials changed the course two years ago, which begins on Rindge Road in Fitchburg, MA. The pros start at 3:30 pm.

On Friday, July 4th, the men’s pro will ride a104-miles in the Wachusett Mountain Road Race, a grueling 11-mile course through Princeton center with a spectacular finish at the 2,000-foot summit of Wachusett Mountain. The pro riders will start shortly after noon at the ski area.

Cyclists shift on Saturday, July 5th, to the Fitchburg State College Circuit Race, a 3.1 mile loop through the hilly streets of Fitchburg, with the pros starting at 2:00 pm.

The race concludes on Sunday, July 6th with the Workers’ Credit Union Criterium. This fast-paced, exciting race runs right past the Longsjo Memorial, with multiple laps around a 0.9-mile loop through historic downtown Fitchburg, with the pros starting at 2:05 pm.

Race Marshalls needed: Volunteer

The major sponsors include: The Ronald M. Ansin Foundation, Unitil, Bovenzi, Inc., Best Western Royal Plaza, Fitchburg State College and Workers’ Credit Union. For more information, please visit

Race Palmares Men
2007 Jacob Rytlewski USA
2006 Shawn Milne USA
2005 Jonathan Page USA
2004 Mark McCormack USA
2003 Viktor Rapinski Belarus
2002 Chris Horner USA
2001 Eric Wohlberg -Canada
2000 Henk Vogels Australia

1999 Bart Bowen USA
1998 Frank McCormack (2) USA
1997 John Peters USA
1996 Tyler Hamilton USA
1995 Mike Engleman USA
1994 Frank McCormack USA
1993 Davis Phinney (2) USA
1992 Lance Armstrong USA
1991 Davis Phinney USA
1990 Tom Post Netherlands

1989 Jeff Slack (2) USA
1988 Graeme Miller New Zealand
1987 Roberto Gaggioli Italy
1986 Patrick Liu USA
1985 Jeff Slack USA
1984 Russ Williams United Kingdom
1983 Louis Garneau Canada
1982 Alan McCormack -  Ireland
1981 Steve Pyle USA
1980 Bruce Donaghy USA

1979 Tom Schuler USA
1978 Wayne Stetina (4) USA
1977 Wayne Stetina (3) USA
1976 Tom Doughty USA
1975 Wayne Stetina USA
1974 Bill Shook USA
1973 Steve Woznick USA
1972 Giuseppi Marinoni (2) Canada
1971 Bobby Phillips USA
1970 Doug Dale USA

1969 Jocelyn Lovell Canada
1968 Robert Simpson USA
1967 Guiseppi Marinoni Canada
1966 Sam Watson Republic of Ireland
1965 Franco Poutenzieri USA
1964 Paul Ziak USA
1963 Rob Parsons USA
1962 Richard Centori USA
1961 Arnie Uhrlass USA
1960 Guy Morin Canada

Race Palmares Women
2007 Genevieve Gauthier Canada
2006 Sarah Ulmer New Zealand
2005 Sue Palmer-Komar Canada
2004 Sue Palmer-Komar Canada
2003 Katie Mactier Australia
1999-2002- Lyne Bessette Canada

1998 Dede Demet USA
1997 Giana Roberge USA
1996 Lyn Nixon Australia
1995 Kathy Watt Australia
1994 Jacqui Nelson New Zealand
1993 Rebecca Twigg USA
1992 Karen Mackin USA
1991 Stephanie Roussos USA
1990 Sue Elias USA

1989 Lucy Tyler USA
1988 Jessica Grieco USA
1987 Beth Mills USA
1986 Barbara Gradley USA
1985 Jeanne Golay USA
1984 Liz Larsen USA
1983 Betsy Davis USA
1982 Pam Deem USA
1981 Carol Varnier USA
1980 Beth Heiden USA

1979 Mary Jane Reoch USA
1978 Sue Novara-Reber USA
1977 Connie Carpenter USA

Discuss this race and the sport with other cycling fans from around the world on the Daily Forums and Chat Room.  Sponsor the daily peloton & advertise your product or service to cyclists and cycling fans on - contact us.

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |