Search the news archive:
Women’s Drentse 8 van Dwingeloo (1.1)
By Bart Hazen
Date: 4/12/2008
Women’s Drentse 8 van Dwingeloo (1.1)

Women’s Drentse 8 van Dwingeloo (1.1)
Ina Yoko Teutenberg fires at the finish for first Continental win.

Last Thursday the women lined-up for the Drentse 8 van Dwingeloo. It’s the first race of three this week in the Dutch province of Drenthe. On Saturday and Sunday are respectively the World Cup and the Novilon Ronde van Drenthe.

The race (124.5 km long in distance) was animated by a break of six riders who attacked after 20 km of racing. In this break among others Vera Koedooder and Suzanne Kuiper. The maximum lead of the six was four minutes but due to the work of High Road the break was caught with 15 km to go.

The race ended up in a bunch sprint and it was Ina-Yoko Teutenberg who rounded off the perfect team work of High Road. Regina Schleicher finished second and Rochelle Gilmore third. Julia Martisova and Martina Corazza rounded off the top 5.  Top American in the race was sixth placed Lauren Franges on the national team.

Team High Road Report
Teutenberg Takes Her First Euro Win for 2008
Coming back from a small bout of sickness, Ina-Yoko Teutenberg held off rival sprinters in today in the Netherlands to win Drentse 8 van Dwingeloo. Teutenberg finished off the work of the High Road Team who had chased hard to reel in a 3’40” break, coming around Nürngerber’s Regina Schleicher to take her first victory in Europe for the season and the 21st season victory for High Road Women.

“We are very happy,” said Team High Road Director Sportif Ronny Lauke. Winning is always something special but it was especially great to see Ina have such a good race after being sick last week.” “We have a very good feeling in the team right now,” he added. “The girls worked really hard and I hope we can have another great race on Saturday,” at the fourth round of the Women’s World Cup.

High Road missed the break that went up the road early in the race. A group of six riders escaped to a significant lead and still had 3’40” with 40km remaining in the race. High Road’s Kate Bates and Alex Rhodes followed a later attack but called it off due to the presence Menkini’s sprinter Rochelle Gilmore.

“The group wasn’t right for us so we decided to pull out of it,” explained Teutenberg, “and we waited for the right time to chase. The girls worked really hard and we caught the group with about 10km to go. I didn’t have to do anything until the finish. I’m really happy I pulled it off after all that work. It’s a great race to win.”

Teutenberg walks to the start area.
Photo © 2008 Bart Hazen

Women’s Drentse 8 van Dwingeloo (1.1) Result (top 50)
1 Ina Teutenberg (Ger) Team High Road Women 3.15.00
2 Regina Schleicher (Ger) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung
3 Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Menikini - Selle Italia
4 Julia Martisova (Rus) Gauss RDZ Ormu
5 Martina Corazza (Ita) Gauss RDZ Ormu
6 Lauren Franges (USA) US National Team
7 Belinda Goss (Aus) Australia
8 Emma Johansson (Swe) AA-Drink Cycling Team
9 Oxana Kozonchuk (Rus) Menikini - Selle Italia
10 Ludivine Henrion (Bel) AA-Drink Cycling Team
11 Lianne Waghto (Ned) Restore Cycling Ladies
12 Suzanne De Goede (Ned) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung
13 Jennifer Hohl (Swi) Bigla Cycling Team
14 Elke Gebhardt (Ger) Germany
15 Bettina Kuhn (Swi) Bigla Cycling Team
16 Oenone Wood (Aus) Team High Road Women
17 Arantzazu Azpiroz (Spa) Bizkaia - Durango
18 Adrie Visser (Ned) Team DSB Bank
19 Kori Kelley Seehafer (USA) Menikini - Selle Italia
20 Daiva Tuslaite (Ltu) S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox 0.07
21 Pascale Jeuland (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope
22 Claudia Witteveen (Ned) Merida 0.09
23 Romy Kasper (Ger) Germany
24 Kelly Druyts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen Thompson Ladies Team
25 Bianca Knoepfle (Ger) Team Flexpoint
26 Rasa Leleivyte (Ltu) S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox
27 Sofie De Vuyst (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen Thompson Ladies Team
28 Erinne Willock (Can) Webcor Builders Cycling Team
29 Elodie Touffet (Fra) Gauss RDZ Ormu
30 Leigh Hobson (Can) Canada
31 Karen Steurs (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen Thompson Ladies Team
32 Adriene Snijder (Ned) Team Flexpoint
33 Elisabeth Braam (Ned) Team Flexpoint
34 Iosune Murillo Elkano (Spa) Bizkaia - Durango
35 Emma Mackie (Aus) Lotto-Belisol Ladiesteam
36 Anne Samplonius (Can) Canada
37 Vicki Whitelaw (Aus) Australia
38 Sara Carrigan (Aus) Lotto-Belisol Ladiesteam
39 Liesbeth Bakker (Ned) Vrienden Van Het Platteland
40 Suzanne Kuiper (Ned) Restore Cycling Ladies
41 Mirjam Hauser-Senn (Swi) Team Specialized Designs For Women
42 Jacobien Kanis (Ned) Team Flexpoint
43 Marieke Van Wanroij (Ned) Team DSB Bank
44 Marit Huisman (Ned) Vrienden Van Het Platteland
45 Olena Sharga (Ukr) Ukraine
46 Veronica Andreasson (Swe) Bigla Cycling Team
47 Verónica Leal Balderas (Mex) Gauss RDZ Ormu
48 Sandra Van Veghel (Ned) Merida
49 Catrine Josefsson (Swe) Bizkaia - Durango
50 Marlen Jöhrend (Ger) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung

Discuss this race and the sport with other cycling fans from around the world on the Daily Forums and Chat Room.  Sponsor the daily peloton & advertise your product or service to cyclists and cycling fans on - contact us.

Related Articles
Women’s World Cup #2 – Trofeo Binda (Cittiglio)
Women's - 2nd Dolmans Heuvelland Classic
Women's Ronde van Vlaanderen - World Cup #3 Updated

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |