Search the news archive:
62nd GP Lugano
By Fabio
Date: 3/2/2008
62nd GP Lugano

The Italian contingent dominated affairs at the Gran Premio di Lugano, whose 62nd edition ran in the southernmost corner of Switzerland this Sunday: Rinaldo Nocentini powered to victory ahead of fellow countrymen Davide Rebellin and Enrico Gasparotto.

Vittoria Nocentini!!        Photo © Fotoreporter Sirotti

The 178.5-km race (two laps of a local circuit) got underway in summer weather, with temperatures up to 27° C (!). Switzerland's Silvère Ackermann and the Ukrainian (but based in an Italian city near the Swiss border) Vladimir Duma, celebrating his 36th birthday, made the first breakaway.

They stayed away together for about one hundred kilometres, then the Swiss just couldn't go on like that any longer, and Duma remained up front all by himself. Well, at least until his compatriot Andriy Grivko - along with Russia's Pavel Brutt, Linus Gerdemann the German, Pierre Rolland from La France and Italy's Gabriele Missaglia - decided to ruin Vladimir's birthday by catching and passing him.

But not even those brave guys were given a license to make it to the finish. Neither Davide Rebellin was, when he tried a solo attack on the last ascent. In fact "Tin-Tin" did make the gap, but was joined by Gasparotto (first), Nocentini, last year's winner Luca Mazzanti and Spain's Carlos Barredo (later) on the final descent to the line. Mister Barredo from Oviedo made his move early in the final straight, and Gasparotto countered; then it was Nocentini who counter-attacked, and this time it was the good one.

Lugano Podium: Davide Rebellin, Rinaldo Nocentini and Enrico Gasparotto.
Photo © Fotoreporter Sirotti

62nd Gran Premio di Lugano
173 km - 4.28.43 - 39.856 km/h
1 Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) Ag2r/La Mondiale 4.28.43
2 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Gerolsteiner 0:01
3 Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Barloworld

4 Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Tinkoff Credit Systems
5 Carlos Barredo (Spa) Quick Step

6 Daniele Pietropolli (Ita) LPR Brakes 0:32
7 Baden Cooke (Aus) Barloworld
8 Michael Albasini (Swi) Liquigas
9 José Alberto Benítez (Spa) Saunier Duval/Scott
10 Linus Gerdemann (Ger) High Road
11 Alessandro Bertolini (Ita) Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni
12 Patrick Calcagni (Swi) Barloworld
13 Francesco Failli (Ita) Acqua Sapone/Caffè Mokambo
14 Leonardo Giordani (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Bossini Docce
15 David Cañada (Spa) Saunier Duval/Scott
16 Luca Pierfelici (Ita) Acqua Sapone/Caffè Mokambo
17 Iker Camaño (Spa) Saunier Duval/Scott
18 Rémi Pauriol (Fra) Crédit Agricole
19 Pierre Rolland (Fra) Crédit Agricole
20 Vladimir Efimkin (Rus) Ag2r/La Mondiale
21 Alexandre Botcharov (Rus) Crédit Agricole
22 Philip Deignan (Irl) Ag2r/La Mondiale
23 Tadej Valjavec (Slo) Ag2r/La Mondiale
24 Andrea Moletta (Ita) Gerolsteiner
25 Daniele Nardello (Ita) Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni
26 Pavel Brutt (Rus) Tinkoff Credit Systems
27 Gabriele Missaglia (Ita) Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni
28 Paolo Bailetti (Ita) LPR Brakes

29 Maurizio Biondo (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia/Bossini Docce 0:43
30 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Quick Step 0:46
31 Yann Huguet (Fra) Cofidis 0:49
32 Morris Possoni (Ita) High Road
33 Stéphane Goubert (Fra) Ag2r/La Mondiale0:53
34 David Moncoutié (Fra) Cofidis

35 Andreas Dietziker (Swi) Team Volksbank 1.18
36 Ivan Santaromita (Swi) Liquigas
37 Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Lampre
38 Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Gerolsteiner
39 Mickaël Buffaz (Fra) Cofidis
40 Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Team Milram
41 Hubert Schwab (Swi) Quick Step

42 Tomasz Marczynski (Pol) Ceramica Flaminia-Bossini Docce 1.43
43 Matej Jurco (Svk) Team Milram
44 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni-Androni Giocattoli 2.50
45 Simon Gerrans (Aus) Crédit Agricole
46 Alexander Efimkin (Rus) Quick Step
47 Dmitriy Fofonov (Kaz) Crédit Agricole
48 Simon Spilak (Slo) Lampre
49 Andrea Noè (Ita) Liquigas
50 Giampaolo Cheula (Ita) Barloworld

GP Lugano - Palmares
1950: Ferdi Kübler (Swi)
1951. Fausto Coppi (Ita)
1952. Fausto Coppi (Ita)
1953. Jacques Anquetil (Fra)
1954. Jacques Anquetil (Fra)
1955. Rolf Graf (Swi)
1956. Fausto Coppi (Ita)
1957. Ercole Baldini (Ita)
1958. Jacques Anquetil (Fra)
1959. Jacques Anquetil (Fra)
1960: Jacques Anquetil (Fra)
1961. Jacques Anquetil (Fra)
1962. Rolf Graf (Swi)
1963. Raymond Poulidor (Fra)
1964. Ferdinand Bracke (Bel)
1965. Jacques Anquetil (Fra)
1966. Vittorio Adorni (Ita)
1967. Felice Gimondi (Ita)
1968. Eddy Merckx (Bel)
1969. Rudi Altig (Ger)
1970: Ole Ritter (Den)
1971. Luis Ocana (Spa)
1972. Felice Gimondi (Ita)
1974. Ole Ritter (Den)
1975. Roy Schuiten (Hol)
1978. Joop Zoetemelk (Hol)
1979. Michel Laurent (Fra)
1981. Jozef Fuchs (Swi)
1982. Marco Vitali (Ita)
1983. Chris Wreghitt (GBR)
1984. Benno Wiss (Swi)
1985. Gottfried Schmutz (Swi)
1986. Mauro Gianetti (Swi)
1987. Thomas Wegmüller (Swi)
1988. Marco Vitali (Ita)
1989. Gilles Delion (Fra)
1990: Marco Vitali (Ita)
1991. Pascal Jaccard (Swi)
1992. Steffen Rein (Ger)
1993. Roberto Caruso (Ita)
1994. Andrea Chiurato (Ita)
1995. Stefano Colagé (Ita)
1996. Amilcare Tronca (Ita)
2001. Luca Paolini (Ita)
2002. Ruslan Ivanov (Mol)
2003. David Moncoutié (Fra)
2004. Frédéric Bessy (Fra)
2005. Rik Verbrugghe (Bel)
2006. Paolo Bettini (Ita)
2007. Luca Mazzanti (Ita)
2008. Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita)

Discuss this race and the sport with other cycling fans from around the world on the Daily Forums and Chat Room.  Sponsor the daily peloton & advertise your product or service to cyclists and cycling fans on - contact us.

Related Articles
GP Ouverture La Marseillaise
Amgen Tour of CA 2008 - Stage 7 Results & Photos
23rd Clásica de Almería

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |